We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfortable Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Ranked #4 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable Inn”
Reviewed 27 October 2011

This one of the most welcoming and comfortable inns we have found as we travel with our sweet beagle up and down the East Coast. Indeed, dogs are not merely tolerated but are treated as the special guests they are. Many of our fellow guests had dogs with them, but you will encounter no doggie-odors or any other issues whatever in this regard. Breakfasts are made-to-order and are selected from a menu. The "famous french toast" is moist and tasty, and the egg dishes are clean and not greasy at all. Bacon is crisp.
Our room was luxurious and large , but it was apparently created some time ago as the countertops were cultured marble and the fixtures show age and worn finishes. That said, the amenities are five-star and the room is totally clean.
The inn-keepers are knowledgeable and helpful . They kind of fade away after the morning meal. They can be reached by telephone at all times if needed. This is a bed and breakfast, and not a full service hotel with concierge service. The level of service is just right for a bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglesenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    60
    18
    4
    2
See reviews for
51
293
11
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Johnstown, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

My husband and I absolutely LOVED the Beech Tree Inn. I would never even consider staying anywhere else in New Port. Our room was beautiful, bed and furniture was very new and clean. The service was above excellent, couldn't have been better. The breakfasts are amazing! The location is perfect. There wasn't anything I disliked about the Beech Tree. We were also allowed to bring our dogs who are a part of the family so that was a huge plus!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the cottage and it was perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LisaaaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

The Beech Tree Inn was absolutely wonderful. The owners and staff were more than helpful and friendly. The rooms were very nice and clean and the bathrooms were much more updated than other inns that I have been to recently. The breakfasts were wonderful and you even had a choice of what you wanted (which is unusual for bed and breakfasts). My only issue was the location. It was a little bit further from town and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking into town. But, the price was right for Newport and I am sure a location closer to town would be much more expensive. I would definitely recommend this inn!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KarpediemTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed a couple of nights at the Beech Tree Inn in August, it was very pleasant because of the place (very clean and cozy), the great breakfast (French toast with cinnamon is awesome!) and the friendliness of the Inn keeper.
The Inn is located a 15/20 minutes walk from the center of Newport, so you may prefer go by car, but remember there is no free parking in Newport. Nevertheless, we enjoyed staying a bit off the center, it was very peaceful at night.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alessandra_G73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

The owners are former military and solicit TDY/TAD business. The room was clean and very quiet. Jim understands the military starts at an early hour and makes breakfast to accommodate. It is an easy drive to the Navy base and the Inn has off-street parking.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kabulbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,015 reviews
1.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#9 of 21 in Newport
574 reviews
1.3 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
1.6 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Tree Inn and Cottage? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Tree Inn and Cottage

Property: Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Address: 34 Rhode Island Ave, Newport, RI 02840-2609
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 14,165 - ₹ 28,009
Hotel Class:3 star — Beech Tree Inn and Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beech Tree Inn & Cottage offers bright rooms with Private Bath, Flat screen cable TV, Air-conditioning, Free Wi-Fi, Free parking, and a Big Breakfast, hot-off-the-grill. Walk to town center. Located in quiet historic neighborhood. Family & pet friendly by arrangement. AAA 3-diamond rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Beech Tree Inn and Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beech Tree Inn And Cottage Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing