We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique dining experience”

La Forge Casino Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Forge Casino Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #41 of 258 Restaurants in Newport
Price range: US$ 10 - US$ 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Check out our NEW MENU! Open daily for Breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Situated on the courts of the International Tennis Hall of Fame, La Forge Casino Restaurant boasts a bespoke, locally curated menu featuring fresh seafood and local New England style dishes. Whether you're looking for a casual lunch or an evening dining experienc, La Forge has you covered.
Reviewed 2 July 2018

I had the pleasure of having lunch here with my mother and my daughter. I would highly recommend it. They have indoor seating and outdoor seating around a grass tennis court. The food was wonderful. Our waiter was average but we observed other servers doing a fantastic job. The menu has a large variety to accommodate various tastes and preferences. We had the Cobb salad, seafood fritters, fish and chips and the fish tacos. Would highly recommend all. The price is moderate to high.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank cindy68848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at La Forge Casino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Hi Cindy,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for taking the time to review us. We are certainly glad that you enjoyed all of your food but sorry to hear about the service. Was there anything specific that you can recall in regards to him being average:? If you would like you can also email me a response if you prefer - kkoury@laforgenewport.com - Thank you for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2018

This small restaurant is cute and cozy. They have a full service bar and decent food. The service was excellent, especially after the manager saw that our party of five was not being taken care of properly on a slow afternoon. The lobster roll is not good---bland. If you want a really good lobster roll get it in Boston or Cape Cod. The soup and salads were decent. What I really loved about this place were the super cool, vintage balloon chairs that are back by the restroom! Maybe just stop in for a drink or dessert and get a photo taken in the chairs?

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inmemoryofpetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at La Forge Casino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you for the reviews and your input, we do appreciate the good and not so good and will certainly take a look at the lobster roll. Hopefully you will get the opportunity to stop by again and you're right, the chairs are always a big hit! Thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

Entrees and sandwiches are prepared deliciously. Cocktails are generous and well done. Portuguese cod is worth going for. Eat in the bar area and view the period photos!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CathyF64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at La Forge Casino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Cathy, thank you very much for stopping by and for taking the time to write a review. Hopefully we see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2018

This is in a great location, looking out onto Bellevue Ave with the grass courts from the Tennis Hall of Fame at the back.

Service was really good from the young waiter and we had a lovely cheese burger and frys.

Top notch

Recommended

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MurphCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at La Forge Casino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Thank you very for stopping by and the warm review it is greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We went to La Forge for dinner on an recommendation from our hotel (The Attwater). On a very wet night we wanted a quick walk to somewhere near the hotel and this was 5 minutes. It was warm and welcoming. Our server was great, we had a bottle of red wine, ordered appetiser first which we shared, and then had a break before ordering the entree, no problem. Food was far better than we had expected and a lovely cosy feel to the place. We enjoyed it so much that we cancelled a more expensive waterfront restaurant another evening and returned here. The new manager Ken introduced himself and showed us how the restaurant opened up to the tennis court, very interesting! A good neighbourhood restaurant, not pretentious, with good food and friendly service. If you don’t finish your wine, take it home with you.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank frequentraveller_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken K, General Manager at La Forge Casino Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Hello There,

Thank you very much for stopping by both times and I certainly remember our conversation. It was a pleasure to meet you and I certainly enjoyed chatting with you, it was an informative conversation about the differences in the dining experience and I did pass on your compliments about our the food to the kitchen staff. Hopefully we will see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Forge Casino Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to La Forge Casino Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing