We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively dining place”

22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille
Reserve with OpenTable
22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 257 Restaurants in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 31 - US$ 50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: America
Description: Located amidst bustling Bowen’s Wharf in the heart of downtown Newport, 22 Bowen’s Wine Bar & Grille is a world-class steakhouse serving USDA Prime beef, New England's finest seafood, and is complemented by an award-winning wine list. We look forward to having you experience one of Newport’s best.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great wharfside location for a lively dining experience - quiet it is not.
This is a popular restaurant so booking is essential. The menu is varied with a good wine & beer list. We went down the starters & desserts route and even then the crab cakes & seared shrimp were both large enough portions to make the excellent desserts a bit of a struggle.
Service was fast, friendly & efficient

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuePB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear SuePB,
Thank you for the kind review and I am glad you enjoyed your viist with us. I'm glad you enjoyed. Hope you can come back and try us again.
Gratefully,
Jim Brosseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

168 - 172 of 1,516 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2017 via mobile

We came to enjoy Newport with another couple who had never been. We only had 24 hours and were really looking forward to our dinner reservation. The food was good and the portions were big. We were set in the deck area which we didn’t love, as it felt nicer inside. The acoustics were terrible and we even had to move tables because the people behind us were so loud. When we moved, we got a new server named Danielle. She was NOT good; she never told us the specials, never gave us bread, and passive aggressively gave us our dessert menus without saying a word or asking if we wanted anything else. When we did complain we were told it was her last day and a lot of people complained about her. It just sucks that she affected our dinner experience with our friends while on vacation. If others complained she shouldn’t have been there any longer.

1  Thank Liana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Liana,
Thank you for the feedback. I apologize that your server did not add to your dining experience. That's not the way we do things here at 22 Bowen's and I'm sorry that you and your guests received anything less than the best in service. I have talked to my team about the situation and we are committed to making sure this does not happen again. I hope you can come back in the future and get a better taste of the quality service that we have built our reputation upon. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Gratefully,
Jim Brosseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile

Delicious and versatile offering both family friendly casual as well as special occasion dining! The location is convenient along the wharf side docks. The staff is very friendly and the service was great. The food is amazing!
We stumbled upon it a couple years ago and didn't have reservations, and was able to walk right in. They were great with our dayfhters severe tree nut allergy and took great care to make accommodations for us.
We loved it so much that we came back again two years later to celebrate my husbands big 50th birthday. I made a reservation this time and on the phone they took care to ask about special occasion and any special requests. We had a great table upstairs with a view and again, the service and food was great. They brought dessert and made sure we were comfortable with our allergy concerns!
Please eat here!!

Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Gail,
What a kind review! Thank you for the nice words and for recommending us. More importantly, thank you for coming back and celebrating your husband's 50th with us. We are honored and glad to hear everything was as you remembered. Hope you can come back again.
Gratefully,
Jim Brousseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Great location on the waterfront. Fish and chips were very good, salmon excuisite and the little ones pasta was perfect. Very dissapointed though that there wasn't more fish dishes on the menu. We were on the sea!! What we did have was just great though. $83 without tip for lunch was expensive by my Spanish norms but comparing to what else is available it's a must visit.

Thank davetherug69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear David,
Thank you for visiting us and I am glad you enjoyed. We appreciate the feedback on the menu too - we are always looking to see what our guests are wanting more of. We hope you can come back and join us again.
Gratefully,
Jim Brosseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Great menu, pretty standard upper level Steakhouse style with seafood dishes included. One thing to watch out for, sides are VERY large, enough for four so if there are just two of you, either take the menu options that include sides on the plate. VERY substantial wine list though in honesty, overpriced in some areas (Far Niente 2013 at $290/bottle for example).
Service, exceptional - Standard silver service experience, our waitress, Sharon was really great.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AndrewC3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim B, General Manager at 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2017

Dear Andrew,
Thank you for the nice review and I am glad you enjoyed it at 22 Bowen's. We appreciate the kind words about Sharon too - our staff works hard to make our guests happy.
Gratefully,
Jim Brosseau
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to 22 Bowen's Wine Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing