We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not happy at Long Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed for three nights (Thanksgiving 2011) and the total was over $450.00 with taxes. Not too bad if everything worked and we could sleep without interuptions. We didnt enjoy our stay for the following reasons: The room had a broken whirlpool tub. The walls are thin and I could hear the doors slaming outside of room. The "heated" pool was too cold to swim in and the slide was closed. The televisions were outdated and had poor reception. Finally, we received a crank call at 1:30 in the morning. I suspect it was a gentleman from the front desk because I could hear the other employee in the background. When I mentioned it to the front desk employee the next morning, he said the only way a call could have gotten forwarded is if someone called and knew my last name. No one knew I was staying there. Horrible. What a shame.

Room Tip: Not a room near the exit doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DRosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 110 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2011

Stayed in Newport many times and only noticed this place by jogging by it. It was never listed on any hotel websites except while planning for this trip, There is mysteriously scanty info on the Wyndham website about this property and sister Wyndham Long Wharf. Both are vacation timeshare condos rather than a hotel. No explanation of why the two separate buildings/names either. (Inn on Long Wharf is one bedroom units, Wyndham Long Wharf is 2,3 bedrooms and houses the guest facilities.) Apparently, they sell the units as hotel rooms in the off season.
Inn is directly over Newport Harbor with great view from rooms. Full kitchen w/everything if you wanted to cook. Bathroom above average: big w/ large Jacuzzi tub. The other furnishings were basic hotel room quality. Located within short walk to many restaurants, shopping, but at end of rather dark desolate wharf. (Safe area though.) Again, mysteriously, there is very little signage on the whole place. It's like they don't want anyone to find them. Tiny unobtrusive sign tells people Inn check in is down the street at the other buliding. (I wouldn't have seen it and only knew from reading another post here.) Better lighting and signage would be nice. There is no maid service and there are no guest amenities in the Inn. (A local newspaper was outdie the door in the morning. Nice.) The fitness center in main building is typically small. The equipment is new and high quality but limited. Indoor pool a disappointment. Teeny with minature golf-like waterfall. Meant only for very young kids to splash around in, not meant for actual swimming. Outdoor pool covered for season, but not big either. For a "vacation resort" timeshare place, you'd think those would be really well done amenities.
Worth a stay to be right over the water with great view. Facilty-wise, nothing special. Kind of odd "find-us-if-you-can" vibe. Better pick for families, people who want to cook in-room.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank goingsolo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If you want a room with a view and enjoy newport's sunset from your room!...this is the place to stay in newport...you just have to cross the street to get to the pool (really not a big deal crossing the street!) at wyndham long wharf. Free parking is a plus considering there's a fee for parking all over newport...I felt it was better staying at the inn

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We loved this place - My husband grew up in RI, and took me to newport for my first time 2 years ago in september and i fell in love! We stayed at this hotel and LOVED IT! we were in the building that looks like a warehouse on the pier, accross from the whydham hotel. You have full access to the indoor and outdoor pools and the main hotel. Parking is under the building. All of the views in the rooms are of the water! Its a long room. Walk into the bedroom, through a door into the bathroom, with a huge tub, then continue into the living room and kitchen. I dont cook while away, but it was a nice little kitchen with everything you need to cook a fresh caught lobster meal! Room was clean and had a nice view. It was chilly at night, but we walked over to the hotel to use the pools, both very nice! Little lounge with a fireplace by the pool! Also got us reservations for a lobster dinner at the marriot with buy one get one free!! it was awesome! I have tried to stay there again on our other trips to newport and its been booked up! Great place and would stay again and again! You can walk to all the attractions from here!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angelcutiemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My wife and I just took our 10 month old daughter on her first vacation and stayed at the Inn on Long Wharf. For us, the hotel was exactly what we wanted. The seperate living room and bedroom allowed us to put our daughter to sleep, but yet stay up, eat dinner and relax.

The views were absolutely amazing, looking right out onto the water and having a view of the sunset each night was awesome. With a young child the kitchen allowed us to bring her foot, w/o any problems.

The Inn is across the street from the main hotel, where you check in so that does get a little confusing, but its literally a 2 minute walk so its not a big deal. The pool and other amenities are across the street as well, but if this were a bigger hotel, the travel would be the same from a top floor.

There is no daily housekeeping, so be prepared for that, which again, is not really a big deal. You can always request fresh towels.

We requested a pack and play and high chair, which were supposed to be in our room at check in but were not. But when I called the front desk, w/in 10 minutes they were there.

This is not a 4 or 5 star hotel, but you get what you pay for, and for us, it was a great trip.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lkat75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#6 of 21 in Newport
2,102 reviews
0.2 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
1.1 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#7 of 21 in Newport
415 reviews
0.7 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf

Address: 142 Long Wharf, Newport, RI 02840-2407
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Newport
#4 Green Hotel in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 9,146 - ₹ 28,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Wyndham Inn on Long Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Inn On Long Wharf Hotel Newport
Wyndham On Long Wharf
Wyndham Newport
Newport Wyndham
Wyndham Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing