We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Newport Onshore
Nearby Hotels
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$ 314
US$ 280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$ 332
US$ 322
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Viking(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$ 363
US$ 299
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mill Street Inn(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$ 452
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 531
US$ 497
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$ 407
US$ 373
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Clarkeston(Newport)(Great Value!)
US$ 236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 194
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cliffside Inn(Newport)
US$ 480
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Chanler at Cliff Walk(Newport)
US$ 735
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
40
71
23
9
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
40
71
23
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom unitfull kitchenindoor poolwasher dryerthames streetgreat locationrci exchangetimeshare pointsan updatetimeshare weekthree bedroompots and panstime shareparking spottop floorfront desk staffcomforts of home
Filter
Updating list...
121 - 126 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We went to Newport, RI for a girl's weekend away. The staff was wonderful. They made sure we had everything we needed and went above and beyond what we expected. We had a three bedroom condo and there were 8 adults-plenty of room. We hope to return next year!

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elvevator service closet. It made some noise during the night whenthe elevator wasn't even running.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Newport on Shore is in a great location on Thames St. in Newport. Within walking distance to most everything. Brick Market Place, Bowens Warf, shopping, and great places to dine. The staff was excellent and friendly. The condo units were a good size, 2 baths, full kitchen and washer and dryer. Very clean and well stocked. The only negative is the the place needs to be updated. The furniture is worn and the TVs need to be replaced. Dining room chairs were wobbly. Really minor since I don't spend a lot of time in my room on vacation but there is room for improvement. There are 2 small decks that offer great views and a fireplace for chilly nights. Would stay here again. Would also give this location an excellent rating once it was updated. Also has indoor and outdoor pools but didn't use the pool. Very heavy chlorine smell.

Room Tip: Northwind units have great harbor views
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank coolporter19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

I would have given this timeshare rental 5 stars had it not been for the condition of the furniture and room. We had a 2/2 and yes, it was clean when we arrived. But the chairs in the living area were stained, stained, and stained some more. We covered them with spare sheets before we sat on them. Should have been replaced long ago. That pretty much sums up the entire unit right down to the single dishcloth that needed replacing a year ago. The beds were comfortable but needed replacing. I kept rolling to the middle due to the sag in the mattress.

The bottom line is that everything needs updating/replacing and the unit reminded me of my younger days when I could only afford a $40.00 a night room.

Newport Onshore is a Wyndham property and we expected more. The carpet had a large stain and the walls needed painting. This property is right down town and within walking distance of a hundred restaurants and two hundred shops. Right on the harbor and we had a great view. Close to the mansions and everything you need is within one mile.

The staff were professional and there was amble security. We loved the free wifi and paper every morning while having coffee on the patio over looking the harbor and adjoining marina.

If you stay here be prepared for disappointment in the condition of the rooms. Otherwise, a great place to stay in Newport. If at all possible fly into Providence Airport. It is a short 27 miles to Newport vs. Boston Airport which is about 73 miles.

We flew into Boston Logan because the rental car was a $120.00 dollars cheaper and the airfare about the same. However, the traffic in and around Boston is a nighmare. Took us two hours 15 minutes getting back to the airport from Newport and that was between 5 am and 7:15 am. Our GPS said it would take 1 hour 20 minutes. I hate to think of what it would have been like after 8 am, on a Friday or Saturday. It was bumper to bumper once you get within 15 miles of the airport among some very aggressive drivers who would rather crash than let you merge. Took 35 minutes in line to get through security. Our adult children flew out of Providence and it was an easy drive to drop them off and they said a breeze through security.

They discourage more than one car for parking at Newport Onshore but if necessary will try to find room for two even if that means parking behind one another. Parking is free at Newport onshore and we generally left the car there and walked. Keep in mind parking anywhere downtown is a chore. Many one way streets with limited parking and almost NO free parking.

Take in the Cliff Walk if you are healthy enough for a 3.2 mile walk one way. If you have two couples drop one at the end of the cliff walk on Ocean Drive. Then you drive down to the beach starting point and start your cliff walk. You will meet along the way as it is narrow path and hard to miss one another and give them the keys so they can drive back and pick you up. Otherwise you have to count on the bus or trolley. The trolley is so slow I walked faster and the bus is like once every hour. We wound up walking the 3 miles back to our car. Also do the Mansion tours. Most have free parking and it well worth and less expensive joining the Newport preservation society and getting the yearly pass to all of them rather than paying for one at a time. We also drove to Falmouth about 75 miles,(woods hole) and took the Ferry across to Martha's Vineyard. ($16.00 round trip per person) Check out Oaks Bluff, Edgartown, and Vineyard Haven. Leave the car at the ferry terminal parking area ($10.00 per day) because it is expensive to ferry it across and there is no parking available most of the time anyway. The ferry service will bus you down to the dock and Ferry free. The bus service once on the island is great and a day pass is only $7.00 per person. Seniors $3.50 per person. You can catch a Ferry from Newport to the Vineyard but it is expensive. We arrived early and spent a long enjoyable day there. Last Ferry back was at 9:30 PM but it varies based on the month you visit.

NEWPORT WAS A GREAT TRIP AND ONE NOT TO MISS

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the building along side the marina and bay. There are several buildings in a u shaped complex. That stand alone building at the far west end houses four floors with good or great views of the harbor. If nothing is available ask for a unit that "fronts" the harbor.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank marci477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Have been coming here every Sept. for over 12 years. The weekend is shared with family and friends and the rest of the week is for the two or us. Location is fantastic -close to many restaurants, bars and stores. 2 bedroom condo with full kitchen, washer/dryer and 2 decks. Sleeps 6 with sofa bed. Unit is clean but dated -stains on the living room chairs and sofa. An update on the furniture would qualify this resort for an excellent rating. Love watching the activity in the harbor from the decks. Staff is very accomodating. Complex has an indoor/outdoor pool and a small gym.

Room Tip: Resort is shaped in a U. Try to stay in rooms on left or right wings closest to the water for a better view. The end units are usually larger in size.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iristraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Only 1 slight neg and that is that property needs a little updating. Super clean, staff very nice, property is in the middle of town and on the water! We had a great unit - 4th floor overlooking the harbor in the front and back. Brought breakfast foods with us so we ate out on balcony every morning watching the yachts go in and out. Tough life. Just having 2 full bathrooms, 2 balconies, washer/dryer and full kitchen is a plus. Walked to the restaurants, bars, stores, historical sites, etc. Parking space comes with stay and is covered and on 1st floor of the building (free parking) the hotels in area chg 25 to 28 a day. Took car to go to the mansions - best bet is to buy Preservation membership if a couple or family. You get 5 back on spot if you bring car registration in. With membership you go in to mansions as much as you want and get the tours free including behind the scenes at the Elms. The best thing we did was the Birds Eye helicopter tour - the owner Jeff and his wife were sooo nice and the ride was truly great. I am not good with heights. Jeff got me over fear and I was sad when tour was over. M. M in Phila, PA

Room Tip: Try to get in a unit by the water. We were in the last unit of the horseshoe so front and back faced the harbor.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank molly m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews