We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sarah Kendall House
Ranked #6 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2011

just what the doctor (or therapist) prdered. We needed a night away and went back to the Sarah Kendall House. Had a nice stay the last time and really enjoyed it, this was even better. Perhaps we were so deprived from alone time either way it was just what we needed, thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seanandjennyban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 263 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2011

My husband and I decided to take a last minute quick trip to Newport and stumbled across he Sarah Kendall House while looking for a place to stay. Boy were we pleased. While walking over town, we saw other highly rated bed and breakfasts, and were SO HAPPY we decided to stay at the Sarah Kendall House. Everything was absolutely perfect. The location was so perfect! Within walking distance to the downtown area, but nestled in a quiet neighborhood surrounded by other historic homes. The impecably clean house is gorgeously decorated inside and out, with a huge wrap-around porch over-looking the harbor, and beautiful gardens surrounding the house. The breakfast spread every morning was so huge, one didn't know what to eat first! Bryan was a wealth of knowledge about the area, and made himself available to answer our questions all weekend long. My husband especailly enjoyed the brandy and cookies that were left out for all of the guests to enjoy, while I particularly enjoyed the fresh apples left out. Bottom line... when we return to Newport, we will FOR SURE be staying at Sarah Kendall House again. We LOVED it!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuzanecka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Delicious breakfast . Wonderful

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fittysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

Brian and Fran are long time industry professionals who take the comfort of their guests very seriously. I have stayed in many bed and breakfasts in various parts of the world and staying at the Sarah Kendall House was a most pleasurable experience. The property offers manicured gardens, a comfortable porch, thoughtful common areas, and a stellar location with great views. The hosts provide fantastic homemade breakfast and useful advice, in addition to certain amenities often overlooked in a poor economy.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmangione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2011

We booked in for one night via the tourist information centre in Newport, there was some sort of mix up with the price which we got slightly cheaper than it should have been, however the price we were quoted was honored but we were put in a small room with a separate bathroom next door which luckily worked out ok as we were the only guests on that floor, it has to be said the bed was not very comfortable but that is the only complaint. The house is really lovely and very clean and Bryan the owner was a very genial host.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cobbydaletraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
1.1 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,126 reviews
0.7 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
2.1 km away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
1.1 km away
Hydrangea House Inn
Hydrangea House Inn
#5 of 96 in Newport
499 reviews
1 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarah Kendall House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarah Kendall House

Address: 47 Washington St, Newport, RI 02840-8526
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 10,695 - ₹ 10,953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sarah Kendall House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful bed and breakfast in historical neighborhood. Homes are colonial and Victorian some dating back to 1700. Very quiet area but a short walk to the center of town. On the harbor( see the Newport bridge beautifully lite at night) beautiful front porch with antique wicker furniture to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sarah Kendall House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarah Kendall House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing