We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Newport

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Motel 6 Newport
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
133 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not bad...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

While it does look a little shady around the building the inside is just fine. I wouldn't say the room was overly clean when we got there, but it suited our needs. Each of the 3 nights we were there, we had an AMAZING cleaning lady, who not only cleaned the room, but straighted up all our crap! And we had a lot of crap, 4 people in one hotel room equals a lot of stuff and she meticulously put our things in nice neat piles. It is located next to a shopping center that has a Shop & Save along with a variety of other stores which was very convenient. We were within a 5 - 10 minute drive to the mansions and shopping areas of Newport. I would recommend this motel to anyone looking for a relatively cheap place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

164 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    36
    56
    23
    43
See reviews for
36
67
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We wanted a cheap alternative to paying $400 a night in Newport....we got it. The rooms reeked of mildew (at least I hope it was mildew). The carpets felt damp. There were many drunk people....screaming , yelling, slamming doors. A fist fight broke out in front of our room and the police came and cleared out 3 rooms. No sleep...and very uncomfortable beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelwithfriends105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newport hotels

NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This is a great value for your money. Its conviently located next to a shopping center that includes a walmart and many other stores. 5 min drive to downtown Newport.
Its about $60/nt for a double bed room with wifi. So whats the difference between
Motel 6 and other hotels in Newport? There is No Fridge, No Microwave, No closet, No Iron, No safe, No Hair dryer, No shampoo, No conditioner, No breakfast, no fancy lobby, no swimming pool, and no fitness center. What it does have is a clean room with 2 Queens size bed, a 20" TV w/ remote, and a nice bathroom with granite vanity. Water pressure for the shower is great. Check in time is 3 pm and check out time is 11 am.
All the rooms have doors that are inside the building so you feel very safe compare to other motels that have doors that is outside of the building. You can use the money you save to buy what ever you need next door at Walmart or have a great dinner!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cabby850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
144 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We stayed here last year for one night, and this year we stayed here for 2 nights, one week apart, in different rooms. We routinely stay here for one night after driving up from where we live and before we check in to our regular place. I remember last year being pleasantly surprised - stunned - that we were able to find a pet friendly property that was reasonably priced for an August night in Newport. So on that, things haven't changed and I'm still very happy that we were able to find a room for us and our 200-lb. Saint Bernard for $75 a night (actually more like $60 plus RI state taxes) on a Thursday night in August in Newport. (On Friday night the prices changed to $99, which would probably be more like $115 with taxes.) That's the good news. More good news is as follows: We were able to book online and that was very efficient and convenient, there were no snafus when we went to check in even when we checked in later than expected. We got the floor and the kind of rooms we requested. (We'd asked for a first floor room because the dog is afraid of stairs.) At check in the staff was very nice, the first time we were able to have our pick of rooms, literally. And the second time when I asked about having items we needed a fridge for (we had a cooler but feared that the blueberries would get moldy) they offered the fridge in the break room because the in room ones had all been claimed. The motel is in an L shape and there is lots of parking near the entrances, which are key-card entry only, nice to have the security although I never felt we needed it (even though the hotel is in a commercial and busy area of town, we have a convertible and left the top down overnight, everything was untouched and fine). Keep in mind it has interior corridors - those with pets may want to make a note. The location is nice for a temporary place, because even thought Coddington Highway is busy and I wouldn't want to live on it full time, the Motel 6 sits right next to a strip mall with a Stop and Shop, a Ninety-Nine restaurant, Old Navy, TJ Maxx, Wal-Mart and assorted other shops and a gas station, and is also in walking distance to Dunkin' Donuts and the diner on the rotary. After a long drive it's nice to be able to take a walk and go somewhere without getting into the car again! There is plenty of grass if your dog's not picky. There's coffee in the lobby, and when the ice machine broke they brought in a cooler full of ice, which was nice. And speaking of ice, the A/C worked really, really well. The housekeeping staff was diligent.

Some things that need improvement... the first time, we stayed on the end in the smaller side of the L shape. We stayed in a wheelchair-accessible room because at the time that was the only way to ensure we got a first floor room. The room itself was fine, but it smelled funny - like mildew, kind of. Or maybe it's the cleaner. There is the same, faint, smell in the front lobby and in the other room we stayed in, but here it was most evident. The second time, we stayed toward the end, but not on the end, of the long side of the L. This year and last year we were here, and on the side that faces Coddington Hwy. If the noise bothers you from the road then don't be on this side if you can help it. In this second time, we had a couple of other, minor, issues. One was noise - and not from the street. The people on one side of us, across the hall from us, etc., were having a party or a fight or something and it was pretty loud - woke up my husband early in the am. The other issue we had was that one of the beds (we had 2 full size beds - it says queens but I think they're doubles) I think was broken. The interior of the bed just sunk waaaaay down. It didn't feel like the other beds we'd stayed in. The first room we stayed in had internet access, the second it wasn't even an option. I was disappointed in this - if you want internet they charge you $2.99 a day. It's not much - it's not like those other high end places that charge $20 a day - but I really felt like it should be included just like cable. And only some of the rooms have the ability to have internet, which I also thought was odd. In my mind it should be universal. The other thing to keep in mind is the toiletries - as in, Motel 6 doesn't generally provide anything more than soap and the towels are rather small. I'm not complaining - it's a Motel 6 and I don't have expectations of anything more - but just something to keep in mind. I can't blame the hotel for Coddington Hwy. being busy either, it is what it is. By the way, I never even saw the porn shop that the other reviewers mentioned.

I wish I could better remember how I felt last year. In some respects I feel like I wasn't as impressed this time, but maybe last year I was so smitten by the fact that I had a place... and this year I was less forgiving. It was definitely the cheapest option anywhere on Aquidneck Island, and by a long shot, even the other budget motels were at least $20 a night more expensive. I wasn't thrilled with my experiences here this year, although there was nothing specifically bad to note, but at the same time I do intend on bringing the dog back up and staying here next year.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank philsdottir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2011

We decided to do a last minute trip to Newport with our 2 babies, and since we were only going for 1 night, we didn't want to spend hundreds of dollars for a place to stay. I went on a mission to find the least expensive place to stay that was still pretty close to town, and Motel 6 it was.
I thought the location was great- only a few minutes drive into town, and all the attractions we came to see. There was a Dunkin Donuts right down the road, which was good for a quick breakfast, and a shopping center right next door with Walmart, Old Navy, TJ Maxx etc. I did see the porn shop that others mentioned, but honestly I wouldn't have even noticed it had it not been mentioned here in the reviews- it's not directly across the street and it's not like there are a bunch of flashing lights and crude things in the window. So don't even be concerned about that.
There was an issue with our reservation when we arrived- I had called a few days before to change our reservation date (we bumped the trip up a week) and for some reason they moved it to some random date in August. So luckily it wasn't an issue since they were pretty empty.
The room was as expected- no frills, with the yucky bedspreads that you immediately toss to the floor because you know they aren't washed often. The bathroom was updated with a nice shower, and the water pressure was great. The bathroom floor was a little dirty though- There was some noticeable dust and hair in the corner of the bathroom by the tub. The carpet in the room had also not been vacuumed well- there were some wrappers and other things underneath the bed when we were checking to make sure we had grabbed everything before checking out. There was a nice desk area with a chair, which was great for my toddler to sit and color. There was also a luggage stand in the room, which was helpful. We were also very happy about the A/C in the room- it worked really well and kept the room super cold for us, which we love- I find that in most hotels, even 4 and 5 star ones, we can never quite get the room to our preferred level of comfort. The beds were very hard though- my husband and I both complained about our backs the next morning.
So all in all, this hotel is fine for a 1 or 2 night stay if you just need a place to shower and sleep. If we go to Newport again in the summer, we'll probably stay within walking distance of town- finding parking was impossible over the weekend!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newport
0.6 km away
Mainstay Hotel & Conference Center
3.0 km away
Travelodge Middletown Newport Area
2.4 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Middletown - Newport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Bay Willows Inn
Bay Willows Inn
#12 of 18 in Middletown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
3.4 km away
Newport Ambassador Inn & Suites
2.8 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Newport? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Newport

Property: Motel 6 Newport
Address: 249 Connell Hwy, Newport, RI 02840-1057
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,194 - ₹ 10,626
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Newport 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Motel 6 Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Newport Hotel Newport
Motel Six Newport
Newport Motel Six
Newport Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing