We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best family vacation”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Island Lighthouse
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

My wife booked this for a family vacation as a surprise! My and I with our two young adult children spent a week in the light keeper's apartment. We all loved this very special experience. I could write pages about what a great trip, but I will just say this-Just Do It. Go to their web page, read about it and be prepared to book well in advance. Everyone involved makes this a special vacation adventure!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Albabyluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2017 via mobile

Very disappointed. We booked the two rooms downstairs , "the museum rooms" and that is just what it was. But it was dusty and dirty.

Don't go here if you want peace and quiet and the upstairs apartment is occupied, (there were four adults upstairs) because the floors and walls are very thin and you hear everything. Added to that the caretaker, Captain, decided that it would be a good time to cut the lawn!
After three hours we actually had the Captain of the boat take us back to Newport. We did not stay overnight.

Don't go here if you plan to walk around the island between
6/1 -8/15 because there is no place to go, because of the nesting seagulls. If it is bad weather you are stuck inside. And the downstairs was not wonderful. Only good point was that there were no public tours going on, because of bad weather, which would have put us outside, or dancing around strangers going through the rooms we rented.
Would recommend this location only if you could book the apartment upstairs. Though we did not see it I can only imagine it was nicer then the rooms on the first floor.
And you need strong arms to pump the water into the tank in order to flush the toilet or get water out of the pump in the kitchen/bathroom.
The pictures on the internet are not accurate to what is a actually here. Beware.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GlobeBiker141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

My College roommates and I choose the Rose Island lighthouse as this year's annual adventure. We booked the entire keepers cottage because it has three separate bedrooms, 2 baths,a full kitchen, and a living room area. In addition, it has ready access to the stairways up to the light tower.
The highlights of our stay included finding seaglass and lovely shells while walking the beach, observing nesting birds; watching sailboats, tankers, container ships, fishing boats and even a cruise ship pass us. The bay is 150 feet deep so it can handle most maritime vessels.
We sat out on the Adirondacks chairs in the morning sipping coffee and saw seagulls catching and eating fish. We sat out again in the evening watching the sunset while cooking steaks and sipping wine. The Keepers Cottage is surrounded by windows and we admired the Newport Bridge all lit up at night. We climbed the lighthouse tower several times to take pictures and to admire the 360° view of Narragansett Bay.
On the second day of our adventure, it poured the entire day. It was a soaking rain that left us with little to do but stay inside. We had brought plenty of firewood so we kept the wood-burning stove in the living area going all day long. The ambience of the warmth and smell from the fire, along with the rain pouring on the roof and windows provided a perfect, comfortable, relaxing atmosphere in which to catch up with each other. We cooked crab cakes for lunch and chicken Provence for dinner. The cottage is full of a myriad of games, playing cards, and drawing/coloring materials. There is even a Victrola with records in a vintage room in the cottage. But we spent the day reading books, resting, and reminiscing about our friendship of 50 years.
On the morning of our departure, we changed out the Lighthouse flag for a new one.
I gave this adventure 5 stars because of the wonderful experience of staying in this unique and lovely historic landmark. The views from the lighthouse grounds are glorious! The beds are some of the most comfortable any of us have ever slept in! Chris, our guide who is also Lighthouse caretaker, could not have been more accommodating or more helpful during our stay.
However the accommodations themselves do not reach a 5 star level. The cottage was renovated in 1984 and, although cozy and relatively clean, it is well worn. The kitchen stove and refrigerator are adequate and functioning but fairly old. Accommodations such as this rely on the neatness of the people coming before you. So, depending on your personal preference, you may decide to straighten a particular area.
The Rose lighthouse foundation depends on volunteers l and readily except any offers to help with the estate and grounds.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank peggytudryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2017

To celebrate my husband's 70th. birthday I booked an overnight stay at the Rose Island lighthouse. Had no idea what to expect, but it was a great adventure. There are options for different rooms, each one brings a different experience,the keepers apartment ( our choice) is self contained with full kitchen. All the others have less amenities. I would recommend staying here, but time of year makes a big difference, on the rates and the of course the overnight temperatures in New England.

Stayed: April 2017
2  Thank jt2looie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017

If you want nothing to do and absolute quiet then go to this island. It's beautiful. It's more for mature generation and not too young people. The lighthouse is beautiful and the island full of history.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jpcis3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.1 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,064 reviews
2.6 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Island Lighthouse

Address: Rose Island, Newport, RI
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 7,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at a 19-century lighthouse on Rose Island - be willing to rough it and pitch in with the chores. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Island Lighthouse Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing