We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, historic adventure!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newport
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose Island Lighthouse
Reviewed 26 June 2016

Skilled ferryman and guide, Chris graciously greets you and brings you to this unbelievable gem! Inside the lighthouse, you can stay a night or for a week.

While you will need your own provisions, there is a kitchen and bathroom available, as well as grills and minimal linens.

Or you can take a short trip to Newport or other destinations nearby.

A completely relaxing getaway, with spectacular views in every direction.

I would definitely recommend a visit to this lovely well kept secret!

Room Tip: If you can get it, try the innkeepers apartment! Has a shower, kitchen and bathroom inside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank newfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2016

Stayed in the Keepers Quarters 2 nights and it was one of the most fantastic experiences ever. Peaceful, relaxing are two of the words to describe the island. Next time we will go later in the year to be able to explore more when the birds are no longer nesting. Definitely need another stay! Highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2016
3  Thank Schwenksville220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

What a beautiful place! The lighthouse is a lot of fun to explore. Definitely planning a trip back soon to spend more time there. I really enjoyed being able to climb up to the catwalk and see the view. It was lovely.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank Robyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2015 via mobile

My father and I went to the Rose Island lighthouse in October 2014 to stay overnight and wow! What a neat place to visit!! There are more sea shells on this island than anywhere I've visited in all my life. We chose to sleep initially in the foghorn room, but unknown to either of us, there are a lot of steep steps to navigate. Not a good idea for a 75 year old man. So arrangements were kindly made for my father to stay on the first floor of the lighthouse. We appreciated that:>). The sunrise and sunset were AMAZING on this island! This place is so serene to just sit back and listen to the waves crashing against the shore. The views of the bridge are fantastic in the day and at night, with lights sparkling on the water. One thing I want to mention to those light sleepers like me, on one of the bouys they have a bell that makes noise for every wave. Just be prepared for that:>). The rooms to these buildings are really neat, with a lot of history. There are some old remnants of the past to check out as well. Trust me, this is a definite MUST for anyone passing through Newport to visit/stay overnight.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
6  Thank Tigerman777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2015 via mobile

Spending the night at the Rose Island Lighthouse was a blast! It was like going back in time. It was on my sister's bucket list but it was a perfect experience for all three of us.
So relaxing and would do it again given the opportunity. You get your bang for your buck.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank joprice1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
2.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
1.3 km away
Gurney's Newport Resort & Marina
2.1 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#4 of 21 in Newport
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
2.9 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#7 of 21 in Newport
2,064 reviews
2.6 km away
Forty 1⁰ North
Forty 1⁰ North
#3 of 21 in Newport
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Island Lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Island Lighthouse

Address: Rose Island, Newport, RI
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 7,167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stay at a 19-century lighthouse on Rose Island - be willing to rough it and pitch in with the chores. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Island Lighthouse Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing