We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely visit”
Review of Cleveland House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cleveland House
Ranked #46 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Sandy Hook, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a lovely visit”
Reviewed 17 June 2012

This was the first time we visited Newport, and the inn we stayed at was lovely. The innkeeper was charming as was his entire staff, Although the room we stayed in was small, there was plenty of space for all our belongings (this has not always been the case). The Cleveland House is centrally located so restaurants and shops are an easy walk. The breakfasts were exceptional and could be individually ordered . My husband and I look forward to coming back in the fall.
Thank you again for your hospitality.
Mary A.

Room Tip: If a bathtub is important, make sure you request one. For a two night stay that is not particularly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    46
    14
    11
    16
See reviews for
14
88
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great little bed and breakfast, walking distance from America's cup way. The staff was very friendly, especially the manager, he helped us find great parking for the Chowder festival, and they serve a delicious home cooked breakfast. Great for a couples weekend getaway!! My wife and I will definatley be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in September 2011. We found this on B&B website after reading some seemingly good reviews. It turned out to be a great disappointment comparing to other B&B that we have stayed before arriving Newport. The room was much smaller than the impression given on its website and the furnitures/fittings were very old. The bathroom was so small that one can hardly move around. The airconditioner mounting was so bad that it vibrates throughout the night.The breakfast on one morning was badly prepared, and the manager was so snobbish! This is one of the few really poor lodging for the price ($120) paid, will never stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, MA
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2012

My wife and I stayed in Newport on Saturday, April 21st. We arrived at the visitors center there looking for accomodations and we pleasantly surprised to find that the Cleveland House had rooms available. Rick, the owner showed us a King room that was priced higher than was quoted on the phone, but said he would give it to us at the same price as a Queen room. It was beautiful. There was a jacuzzi and this room was located in a quiet section of the Inn. The breakfast was hearty and the location was a block away from the downtown area. The parking was free and closeby. Would stay there again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pmonachina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glastonbury, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2012

We had an excellent stay in Newport, RI at the Cleveland House Hotel on Clarke Street.
The owner of the Inn greeted us personally and let us pick our room! We are a family of five so sharing a room is pretty tight, but too expensive otherwise. The owner gave us a FREE room for our kids!
In the morning we enjoyed a homemade breakfast that was wonderful!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 84Laurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.0 km away
The Clarkeston
The Clarkeston
#40 of 95 in Newport
86 reviews
0.0 km away
Melville House
Melville House
#64 of 95 in Newport
47 reviews
0.4 km away
Inn on Bellevue
Inn on Bellevue
#13 of 95 in Newport
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Admiral Farragut Inn
Admiral Farragut Inn
#75 of 95 in Newport
60 reviews
0.5 km away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#77 of 95 in Newport
57 reviews
0.2 km away
Yankee Peddler Inn
Yankee Peddler Inn
#26 of 95 in Newport
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cleveland House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cleveland House

Property: Cleveland House
Address: 27 Clarke St, Newport, RI 02840-3023
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,790 - ₹ 31,570
Hotel Class:2 star — Cleveland House 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Cleveland House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cleveland House Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing