We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pelham Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelham Court Hotel
Ranked #25 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Clane, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2011

Wow, this place was amazing, large 1 bedroom apartment, own kitchen, beautiful bathroom. It was a home from home, so quiet but 20 yards from the liveliest street in Newport.

Downside was it is difficult to find parking, even with the parking permit given. Breakfast was serve yourself on the hall table outside your door.

Wouldn't stay anywhere else while in Newport.

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Comfortjunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    21
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
33
67
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sperry0325
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I loved this place. The one-bedroom suites are gorgeous and really nicely decorated. The location is close to everything, we parked and then walked to every shop and restaurant on Thames. Great parking underneath the carport. We didn't have an ironing board in our room but it wasn't a big deal. I would DEFINITELY stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sperry0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2011

We loved this hotel. It's more of an apartment and we had one bedroom, kitchen and lounge as well as a two basin bathroom. It was beautifully decorated and had loads of character with beams and an open fireplace (gas). It is just off Thames Street and has free parking for one car. The desk is only manned at certain hours so if you are looking for full service, this isn't it, but for us it was fine. Breakfast of cakes, pastries, cereals and tea/coffee is laid out in the lobby for you to take back to the room. When you compare what we paid for this room to other hotels in the area, it was fantastic value.

If you're doing the Cliff Walk, when it says "don't walk at dusk," DON'T. We set off before dusk but the signs don't tell you that it takes much longer than you think to walk three miles as you have to walk on large stones like a break-water and there is a tunnel, so you need a torch. We were very lucky to reach the end before nightfall and I would not have liked to be hopping over boulders in the dark - beware!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loriol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I recently stayed at the Pelham Court Hotel and could not be happier with my stay. From the moment I arrived the staff couldn't have been friendlier and the location more perfect! We are from Millbrook, New York and drove our car down, we parked our car and there is stayed all weekend long (the parking in free too!), we were able to walk to EVERYTHING!

When we arrived back from exploring the town with our children our room was freshly serviced and we were able to shower and relax before we went out for the night. The children were happy with the hotel too! They could play in the beautiful courtyard that the hotel surrounds, while my husband and I shared a bottle of wine at one of the little tables in the courtyard, by candlelight! The staff thinks of everything, they light tea-light candles at dusk on all the table in the court yard. If you need anything or want suggestions all of the staff are local and able to give you the real "insiders" opinions and suggestions.

We will most certainly be back!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HVSODERS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2011

This place is in the perfect spot. One hundred yards off a lovely, lively pier and as close as you can get to shops, restaurants etc. It has great parking and a very pleasant courtyard to sit in and relax. Our room was great. Sitting area with sofa bed for the children. Fabulous kitchen,fully equipped. Light and airy, beautifully furnished bedroom and bathroom. Breakfast was bagels, muffins, fruit etc. which you ate in the comfort of your own suite.

BUT, I was very disappointed with the housekeeping. On opening the sofa bed at 11pm on our first night, we discovered dirty (and I mean dirty) sheets and blanket. The office was shut. We all had a very uncomfortable night with 2 sheets and a cover between us. I informed reception the following morning and did get an apology but would have preferred a good nights sleep.

The next day we left our room at 10am and returned at 5pm to find the room had not been serviced. We had walked 7 miles in 90 degree heat and all four of us needed a shower. I asked reception for clean towels. I was very surprised to be told that none were available because they were still in the washing machine!? (This might explain why we only ever got three between the four of us anyway.)

I am always willing to `make allowances` but I do think this was unacceptable. There is no excuse for dirty bed linen and towels should be available in abundance.

Pelham Court is in the best location and is well laid out and furnished .Unfortunately, I think it will only be good while it is new. Someone needs to take charge and show a little care for their guests.

We loved Newport and will definitely return but not to the Pelham Court.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LizFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.0 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#13 of 95 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.3 km away
Harborside Inn
Harborside Inn
#19 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Burbankrose
Burbankrose
#34 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.2 km away
America's Cup Inn
America's Cup Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.4 km away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham Court Hotel

Property: Pelham Court Hotel
Address: 14 Pelham St, Newport, RI 02840-3019
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,481 - ₹ 32,830
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pelham Court Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxurious All-Suite Accommodations in the Heart of Downtown Newport, RI. All suites feature plush bedding and towels,large screen high definition digital cable TVs, fully equipped stainless steel kitchens with granite counter tops, living rooms with gas fireplaces and sleeper sofas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pelham Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing