We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Newport Inn”
Review of Adele Turner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adele Turner Inn
Ranked #32 of 95 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2012

I sometime expect B&B/Inns to be outdated, small, and a weird odor. The Adele Turner Inn was a beautiful old home that was clean and had quite a few amenities that made us feel right at home.
Included in the price of the room is breakfast (the egg and crab with red bell pepper aioli was amazing) and afternoon tea (with fresh snacks). Carlton welcomed us when we arrived and was extremely helpful and pleasant. It's a great location to downtown Newport and I would definitely stay here again. I stayed at the Viking Hotel the year before (which is supposed to be super nice), it was just as nice (less personal though) but a lot more expensive and further from downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superfig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for Adele Turner Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 142 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2012

This was our first time in Newport and if we visit again, we'll stay at the Adele Turner Inn again! The staff was courteous, friendly and helpful -- we were greeted by Paris who showed us around the Inn and provided information and directions around the area as well as discount tickets to the mansions. Our room and bathroom, which were both quite large, were inviting and clean. We were in the Music Festivals room with appropriate decor of posters and a few instruments, and the chandelier of French horns was a perfect touch! Breakfast was delicious and afternoon tea much appreciated after the cliff walk and a mansion tour. This Inn is two blocks off the main downtown street, which is to say that it's in a nice quiet area but still close enough to walk to the waterfront, restaurants and shops. All considered, a great place to stay in Newport.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dottie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Yes, it is an 'old establishment and some crtiques would say.........)
We stayed with friends for one night.
We were 'meeted and greeted' very curtously despite being a little early to check in and obviously a busy busy time with check-outs for staff.

This is a beautiful old Mansion that reflects the grandeur of olden days. We LOVED it.
The whole experience of afternoon tea and the breakfast?
To die for, and we are in 2012 remember with Fast Foods all round!
This was Fresh friut and an 'ordered cooked breakfast' to follow.

Rooms? Special. We had the Library Room. 11/10
Character 10/10,
Amenities 10/10,
Cleanlieness 10/10.

'Just Being There' 12/10!!......

We had a wonderful stay.

Thank you so much.
At times i wish we were 'seriously rich' so that we coudl rteturn to stay with you again!

.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippa64Oamaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were very lucky to have secured a reservation in this lovely inn 2 days before the 4th of July. We stayed in the Beatrice Turner room. The king bed was so comfortable. Thank goodnes for the A/C. Breakfast was homey and filling and afternoon iced tea (a must), scones and hors d'ourves, yummy. The staff was awesome and so friendly and helpful. Great walking location to the harbor and shops. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Beatrice Turner. It has a comfy King bed and A/C is a must.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love2travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our first visit to Newport and the Inn was wonderful. We were greeted by a staff member and shown around the whole Inn. Our questions were answered and we immediately felt at home. The room was beautiful with a large queen bed and all the amenities we could ask for. We enjoyed iced tea and snacks after a 2 day drive from Indiana. Breakfast was amazing. I recommend the Crab Cakes Benedict with a crab cake eggs and Remoule sauce for breakfast. There was always fresh fruit and a selection of pastries too. Coffee and hot tea were available 24 hrs.

Cheryl the owner was friendly and sold us vouchers for touring the historic mansions and for a sunset sail. This was a considerable savings for us.

The Inn is located on a quiet street just 2 blocks from downtown Newport. Since the streets are narrow and parking is at a premium it was nice to be able to walk downtown for dinner and to see the sites. It is necessary to drive to the Mansions, but the Inn gave us detailed instructions on how to get to them.

The Adele Turner Inn is in an old neighborhood and it was fun to walk through the streets and see houses built in the 17th, 18th and 19th century. Would recommend the Inn to anyone seeking a quiet place to stay that is close to all that is going on in Newport.

Room Tip: Liked being up stairs. It was away from the dining room and front door.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.1 km away
Mill Street Inn
Mill Street Inn
#8 of 21 in Newport
577 reviews
0.0 km away
Newport Blues Inn
Newport Blues Inn
#27 of 95 in Newport
169 reviews
0.0 km away
Historic Hill Inn
Historic Hill Inn
#35 of 95 in Newport
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#5 of 95 in Newport
445 reviews
0.3 km away
Pilgrim House Inn
Pilgrim House Inn
#23 of 95 in Newport
112 reviews
1.2 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adele Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adele Turner Inn

Address: 93 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840-3131 (Formerly Admiral Benbow Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 95 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 13,675 - ₹ 19,609 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adele Turner Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Adele Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adele Turner Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing