We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun on the Fourth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adele Turner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Adele Turner Inn
Ranked #26 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fun on the Fourth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

We were very lucky to have secured a reservation in this lovely inn 2 days before the 4th of July. We stayed in the Beatrice Turner room. The king bed was so comfortable. Thank goodnes for the A/C. Breakfast was homey and filling and afternoon iced tea (a must), scones and hors d'ourves, yummy. The staff was awesome and so friendly and helpful. Great walking location to the harbor and shops. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in Beatrice Turner. It has a comfy King bed and A/C is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2travel1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    66
    23
    13
    13
See reviews for
14
157
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was our first visit to Newport and the Inn was wonderful. We were greeted by a staff member and shown around the whole Inn. Our questions were answered and we immediately felt at home. The room was beautiful with a large queen bed and all the amenities we could ask for. We enjoyed iced tea and snacks after a 2 day drive from Indiana. Breakfast was amazing. I recommend the Crab Cakes Benedict with a crab cake eggs and Remoule sauce for breakfast. There was always fresh fruit and a selection of pastries too. Coffee and hot tea were available 24 hrs.

Cheryl the owner was friendly and sold us vouchers for touring the historic mansions and for a sunset sail. This was a considerable savings for us.

The Inn is located on a quiet street just 2 blocks from downtown Newport. Since the streets are narrow and parking is at a premium it was nice to be able to walk downtown for dinner and to see the sites. It is necessary to drive to the Mansions, but the Inn gave us detailed instructions on how to get to them.

The Adele Turner Inn is in an old neighborhood and it was fun to walk through the streets and see houses built in the 17th, 18th and 19th century. Would recommend the Inn to anyone seeking a quiet place to stay that is close to all that is going on in Newport.

Room Tip: Liked being up stairs. It was away from the dining room and front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Mills, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

We stayed three nights at the Adele Tuner Inn. The inn is within walking distance of the waterfront, mansions, Newport Art Museum, and Tennis Hall of Fame. They have discount vouchers for various tours and attractions. The parking is tight but we never had a problem getting a space. There is an additional lot just up the street. We enjoyed sitting outside of the inn and reading. Breakfast were very good, and include 3 hot choices, fresh fruit, juice, cereal, and baked goods. There is an afternoon tea (in the summer apparently iced tea), which also has fruit and finger sandwiches. The staff and owner are very nice and helpful. We stayed in the Music Festivals Room, which was larger than I expected, as was the bathroom. The reason I am giving it 4 stars rather than 5 is that the room could use some updating. Of course, if they do update it the rate will likely go up accordingly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimina23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2012

This is a beautiful B&B withing walking distance of downtown shops, reataurants and attractions. We stayed in the Americas Cup room on the first floor, front of the Inn. It had a nautical theme with lovely antique furnishings and modern touches added. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable and although we were in the front it is a quiet area.
Breakfast was excellent with selections available from a menu. It was grad weekend when we were there so we could not get a seat in the breakfast room but we were offered a seat on the porch. It was a beautiful day and we thoroughly enjoyed the food and the ambience.
The only minor negative is the parking. Their is a small parking area at the Inn but it is a tight squeeze especially if other cars are not parked at the right angle. There was one space available but due to the tight space we did not stay there. We registered and were then told we could have a permit for the Legion which was just up the road. We took advantage of this and the parking lot was big and in a safe area so we had no concerns parking there. If there are alot of cars on sight when you arrive unload your bags and get the legion permit, it is well worth it.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed the America's Cup Room. If you have any mobility isues this room is on the fir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blueys Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
262 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2012

This was our last night of our five week road trip before flying home to Australia. We were sorry we had not allowed more time for Newport and Adele Turner Inn but it was a last minute inclusion. Cheryl and her husband Harry also run Victorian Ladies Inn, they acquired Adele Turner in 2010 are gradually updating this inn after many years of neglect. It is a beautiful building built in 1855 as a hotel for sea captains on the first gas-lit street in America (still gas-lit today) and on the National Register. The common areas are just lovely, we felt like we were having breakfast in a hotel in Florence. The dining area is very elegant and the breakfast was unmatched in our month long trip. The staff are warm and friendly and Cheryl is the quintessential host. She is extremely attentive, her mission is to make sure you enjoy your stay and see the best of Newport. She is a true ambassador for her city. An English style High Tea is served in the afternoon and fresh flowers delivered weekly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marj H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.2 km away
Almondy Inn
Almondy Inn
#14 of 96 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.7 km away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#22 of 96 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.4 km away
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
Admiral Fitzroy Inn
#6 of 96 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ivy Lodge
Ivy Lodge
#11 of 96 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
0.2 km away
The Wynstone
The Wynstone
#65 of 96 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#5 of 96 in Newport
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adele Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adele Turner Inn

Property: Adele Turner Inn
Address: 93 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840-3131 (Formerly Admiral Benbow Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 11,837 - ₹ 20,731
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adele Turner Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Adele Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adele Turner Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing