We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jim & Louise”
Review of Adele Turner Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adele Turner Inn
Ranked #34 of 96 Newport B&B and Inns
Reviewed 21 December 2011

We could not have asked more more beautiful accommodations and gracious staff. We highly recommend The Adele Turner Inn and will revisit ourselves

Room Tip: We stayed in The Great Gatsby room and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 29 November 2011

We recently stayed at the Inn and were very disappointed. We had the Harbor View room and the view from the deck was the only good part of the stay. The pictures on the website are very outdated. The room was tiny and the walls so think you can hear the person next door snoring. (really, the guy snored all night) The property was sold last year and the new owners are not onsite and it shows. The place is run down looking, the help clearly did not enjoy workin at an Inn. The breakfast was very basic. My poached eggs arrived broken all over the plate and 1/2 cooked. The afternoon tea was basic and you are better off going to the cafe up the street and getting a good cup of coffee or tea and a good piece of pastry. The property manager was not pleasant and was very rude when I wanted to use my gift certificate to pay for the stay. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn4600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights in the Harbor View spa room. The room was a little tight but the private porch and hot tub made up for it. We got married the week before but because we have to but off our honeymoon till summer we wanted to do something right away. It was great to share a bottle of wine on the balcony enjoying the views of Newport. The hot tub was hot and worked fine. They mentioned it was repaired the previous week.

I found the staff to be extremely helpful and the food very good. On Saturday afternoon the free wine tasting made for a nice way to end a busy day. Every morning the food was great and afternoon snacks very good. The staff also helped us see the mansions. They sold us a $20 three mansion ticket. This little money saver did help as seeing it is the price of visiting the Breakers alone.

Parking was a little tight and had to park at the lot a block away. It was not a big deal. The location is great, we walked everywhere. 5 minutes to the water front and short walk to the mansion area. The Adele Turner Inn made for a great weekend and experience in Newport. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcrouton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Just got home from a 2-day stay in the Great Gatsby Suite. It was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast and after this visit, we will definitely be going that route again. We generally stay at 4 and 5 star hotels, and taking into account the overall experience we had, I would have no problem recommending them to any of my family and friends. The room was very warm and inviting. The room was very clean, the bedding was very comfortable, the fireplace and 2-person Jacuzzi were an added plus. The staff was so very friendly and the breakfast was excellent. We've eaten breakfast in some of the finest places in NYC and this was equal to or topped them all. The only downside for me is that I am a light sleeper and the couple in the room above us were up and moving around at midnight and then were up by 6 a.m., which woke me. If only there was a way to soundproof the rooms. lol Thank you for a wonderful weekend! Ohhh another big plus...we were in walking distance to Thames and everything we wanted to do there.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mushmouse8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

My wife and I had the great pleasure of staying at the Adele Turner for three nights. Inns and B&Bs are our choices when we travel and we use Registry Inns where possible. The Great Gatsby Suite was an excellent choice with a sitting room, comfortable bedroom and a double jacuzzi for late afternoon relaxation. The breakfast selections were beyond what you would find at most B&Bs and were wonderfully prepared. The afternoon teas were also very nice. I cant say enough good things about Wendy, the innkeeper, and her staff. We had never been to Newport so we needed lots of advise on how to spend our days and where to eat at night. She hit a home run in every department. We will return to Newport and we would not think of staying anywhere but Adele Turner.. Joe from SC

Room Tip: THE GREAT GATSBY was an excellent choice for us although the AC had to work hard to keep both rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.8 km away
Victorian Ladies Inn
Victorian Ladies Inn
#28 of 96 in Newport
276 reviews
0.9 km away
Admiral Sims' House
Admiral Sims' House
#21 of 96 in Newport
43 reviews
0.5 km away
La Farge Perry House
La Farge Perry House
#10 of 96 in Newport
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Beech Tree Inn and Cottage
1.1 km away
Cliffside Inn
Cliffside Inn
#1 of 96 in Newport
1,113 reviews
0.5 km away
Samuel Durfee House
Samuel Durfee House
#9 of 96 in Newport
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adele Turner Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adele Turner Inn

Address: 93 Pelham St., Newport, RI 02840-3131 (Formerly Admiral Benbow Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Newport
Price Range: ₹ 12,339 - ₹ 16,755 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adele Turner Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adele Turner Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adele Turner Hotel Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing