We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so comfy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mill Street Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mill Street Inn
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Newport
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“so comfy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

\Great place to stay . Fantastic bed and room and the separate lounge room was a bonus thpough probably unnecessary . Bathroom and shwer good . Breakfast adequate . very acceptable and reasonably priced . Location spot on also . Definite recommendation

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JvB0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    162
    68
    31
    17
See reviews for
89
314
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsfield, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mill Street Inn on St. Patrick’s Day and loved it. Our room was a suite in the back of the hotel on the first floor.

The living room area had a wall mounted flat-screen TV, a couch with a pull out bed if needed, a chair or two, a couple of tables, and a mini-bar fridge.

The bedroom had a dresser and an amazingly comfortable king-sized bed. Off of the bedroom was the bathroom which had the best shower I’ve ever seen in a hotel. It had two showerheads, one was an overhead rain shower type, and the second was a hand held sprayer. The pressure was adjustable for each shower head individually. To top off the shower, the complimentary shampoo, conditioner, and body wash were from Aveda, which is some pretty high-end stuff.

Our room was very quiet which surprised me since St. Patrick’s Day tends to bring out a rowdier crowd than usual for Newport. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we were provided with an off-street parking space which was nice.

The hotel is just a block from Thames Street and America’s Cup Ave, where most of the restaurants and shops are. It’s also only about a 5-10 minute walk to Bellevue Ave where all of the mansions are.

The only complaint we had was that the carpets in our room were a bit worn and had a couple of small stains which kept it from having that 5-star feeling. My wife mentioned this to the staff and they informed us that they were in the process of replacing the carpeting in all of the rooms. Sure enough a couple of weeks later they posted pictures of all the rooms on Facebook showing off their new carpeting and other upgrades.

We’ll definitely be staying here again on future visits!

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor don't have much of a view, so go for the second floor if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_P_1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

I will preface this with we went off-season and got a great deal on a package; 2 nights, plus $60 dinner gift card, plus 2 mansion tickets, plus their complimentary breakfast each morning and parking for one car, for approx $150 per night.
The best thing this hotel has going for it is the location. On a quiet street right in the heart of Newport, walkable to the harbor and mansions (we're from NYC so the 20 min mansion walk was fine with us, but out-of-towners might want to drive)
A great alternative to all of the musty, frilly B&Bs and Hotel Viking (where we've stayed in the past). Our room was sparsely furnished with modern furniture, very clean. The bed was super comfy...room was at the back of the hotel and was very quiet.
The comp breakfast was great for us, bc there really aren't many breakfasty type places in Newport...and it saved us the hassle of having to waste time going somewhere and ordering, etc. Breakfast was self-serve, cereals, fruit, granola, yogurts, bread/toasters, coffee, tea. The best thing about it, was they served it until 11am (i think) so unlike most B&B's we didn't have to wake up at the crack of dawn to eat!!
Their parking lot was pretty small..only about 8 VERY tight spaces indoor garage (was glad we brought our car, not SVU) and a handful of spots in a crazy configuration outside the hotel. So in high-season parking could be an issue. It's definitely something to ask them about when booking. Perhaps they have another lot somewhere that we didn't see.
My only (slight) criticisms: 1) lack of storage space in the rooms. Closet was small and the dresser had the 4 tiniest drawers I've ever seen...could barley fit my sicks and t-shirts.
2) the fan in the bathroom (which was right next to the bed) was insanely loud...hard to get up in middle of the night w/o waking my hubby.
Overall it was great value for what we paid...in a great location..and WAY better than staying in a cramped old B&B!! I would stay there again if the price was right.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 215...in back of hotel. Very quiet. The king size bed dominated the bedroom, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sully314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

My husband and I liked the Mill Street in a lot. We loved the contemporary, loft feel of the room we stayed in. Having a harbor view from our balcony was wonderful, and the gas fireplace was a plus as well. The inn has a continental breakfast that is EXCELLENT if you like cereals/granola/yogurt etc. Nothing fancy, but lots of healthy options and the OJ was great! Also, Mill Street Inn is close to all the shopping and restaurants in Newport. We were able to walk everywhere, it was great! It was easy to get back to your room to get out of the crowds (we were there over Saint Patrick's Day so it was a little wild downtown) and then go back out later. Very convenient. All in all we had a great time and would stay at this Inn again!

Room Tip: Ask for one with a Harbor view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraHaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldwick
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed at Mill street in for a two night stay mid Febuary. We could have been more pleased. We loved the way the inn has been preserved in its original form. The brick walls and original exposed beens were just awesome. The room was comfortable and having the living room in the junior suite gave us somewhere to relax before heading out before dinner after a long day of walking. The Mill Street is convenient to the waterfront stores and restaurants and only a short drive to the mansions and Ocean Drive. The "winter package" was a great value. The continental breakfast was fantastic, rather then the usual donuts, pastries, etc, the breakfast had all healthy choice items, from organic oatmeal to fresh fruit to yogurt. It was a refreshing change! The staff could have been more helpful everyone from the desk clerk ( I forgot her name) that made us a reservation at the Mooring and said we were her personal friends to the to the young people that made sure the breakfast was stocked and resupplied with goodies. Can't wait to return when the weather is a bit more cooperative.

Room Tip: Choose the Junior suite if possible, having the living room is a nice touch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel Viking
Hotel Viking
#4 of 21 in Newport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,890 reviews
0.3 km away
Newport Harbor Hotel & Marina
0.6 km away
Newport Marriott
Newport Marriott
#3 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Vanderbilt Grace
The Vanderbilt Grace
#5 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
0.4 km away
The Attwater
The Attwater
#6 of 21 in Newport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
1.2 km away
The Chanler at Cliff Walk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mill Street Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mill Street Inn

Property: Mill Street Inn
Address: 75 Mill St., Newport, RI 02840
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Newport
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Newport
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newport
Price range (per night): ₹ 10,734 - ₹ 43,003
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mill Street Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newport, Rhode Island’s Mill Street Inn is a former 19th century mill that is on the National Register of Historic Places and is a member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World. It provides spacious, all suite boutique contemporary accommodations, just a block from the harbor in the exclusive Historic Hill district. Daily complimentary continental breakfast served on the rooftop patio with spectacular views, weather permitting and complimentary afternoon tea, wireless internet and parking subject to availability. Townhouse Suites offer two level accommodations with a private balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Mill Street Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mill Street Hotel Newport
Mill Street Newport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing