We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Staff, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Staff, good location”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Chose this hotel for it's location, airport shuttle and other favorable reviews. Did not have to wait long at airport for shuttle to arrive, but pay attention- there are two Doubletrees in Buffalo and they each have their own shuttle. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They went out of their way to make sure we had a pleasant stay- and warm chocolate chip cookies don't hurt either. The airport shuttle cost $18 per room, but there was free shuttle service around town. We used it to go out to dinner and it was very convenient.

Room Tip: Only complaint about room was that it smelled of smoke. Staff offered to move us or put an ionizer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Sandy P;
We most certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments regarding the DoubleTree Club by Hilton. I pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to utilize our shuttle services. We hope you will have the opportunity to visit again soon. Please stop by at any time for one of our famous DoubleTree cookies!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

860 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    509
    233
    72
    28
    18
See reviews for
254
158
79
273
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Can't really ding this hotel for something it can't change but the area around the hotel is not the best even taking into consideration it is across the street from a hospital. We came in late and noticed it wasn't situated as most Doubletrees are in different towns. That being said, the lobby is small but clean, rooms were very clean and had a larger fridge and microwave that what is found in many hotel room properties. Not many amenities to speak of and the coffee shop downstairs is expensive. Try the Tim Hortons in the cafeteria of the hospital across the street. Hotel staff was friendly and attempted to meet needs with a smiling demeanor. Rooms were very quiet also for a good nights rest.

Parking was neither free nor expedient. I do recognize the requirement for valet parking given (here we go again, the area) but it is worth noting that for a small hotel, be sure to call ahead at least 15 to 20 minutes ahead even during slow periods for your car to be brought around. Once you have your car however, you are close to downtown and the many offerings of Buffalo in the summer.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageJoe55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2012 via mobile

We were bumped from our plane and put up at the Doubletree, Buffalo. The room is really spacious with an additional living room plus a wonderful eating area with a small kitchenette. The fridge is huge.
Comfortable, clean and well decorated room.

After travelling all summer I realize kindness and warmth from the hotel staff make the difference. This hotel really shines, the staff is wonderful. Randy, the desk supervisor checked us in and made us feel welcome and was terrific.

Restaurant downstairs turned out to be top notch.
Lemon dill salmon prepared by chef Greg was amazing!
A great choice for a hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Summergo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubletreeBuffalo, Assistant General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Summergo, we appreciate you sharing your comments regarding your most recent stay with us. The team at The DoubleTree Club by Hilton strives daily to meet and exceed our guest’s expectation. I will share you recognition of both Randy and Greg with them. I hope you and your family had a safe trip back home and weren’t “bumped” again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights so that we could meet Canadian friends who were visiting Buffalo and also drive to Niagara Falls. The reception staff were both friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable but we thought that it was more for business people rather than tourists. We appreciate a refrigerator in the room. We had no problems with the valet parking. Our car was obviously in a nearby car park. There were many good restaurants nearby and it was easy to drive into downtown Buffalo. We had a snack at the inhouse cafe but didn't eat breakfast there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HolidayOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esarkis, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your stay. We really appreciate the feedback. What a great weekend for Niagara Falls. Sounds like you had a nice time. Thank also for staying with us. Elaine Sarkis, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

We booked a room through hotwire on the hot rates. We booked a room for 4 people. The other couple we were staying with arrived first, and sent us a message telling us that we were given a 1 king-bed room. I thought that they were joking. We called her, and she told us that the hotel staff said that the hotel was full, and they only had that room to offer us. They told her that they would give us some blankets and extra pillows for the other 2 people, because they were also out of cots and roll-aways. I was very surprised. We called the hotel and they confirmed what my friend said. We called hotwire, and after an hour and a half the only thing they could offer us was a 2 star hotel kind of far away, and we paid for a 3 star hotel. So, we decided to stick it out. At this point we were not happy with hotwire or the hotel.
We got there, and the staff was helpful with finding a place to eat. However, to get to the hotel you do have to pass through the ghetto or the hood or however you want to call it. It is also in the hospital area. So, it does seem kind of an unsafe area. But the rooms were very very nice. They had refrigerators and microwaves in them. Which was nice, because our friends were traveling with an infant. However, it got to be around 11:30 pm and we still hadn't received our extra blankets and pillows. When they came, they brought the blanket that is used as decoration on the beds. Very small. And they only brought 2. It couldn't cover the men that were sleeping on the floor, and they either had the choice of sleeping on it, or covering themselves partially with it. So we called, and they brought up a twin matress cover, just one. So, we took as many covers off of the bed as we could, and tried to make it comfortable for the men. The first night, we were not impressed at all by the service.
Then, the second day, things got much better. They told us we could have a 2 double bed room, and that it would be ready by 1 pm. We told them that we were going to the Falls and didn't know when we would be back, and they told us that it wouldn't be a problem. We could change when we got back. We got back at like 8:30 pm. There weren't any problems. They sent up someone to bring us carts and help us move our stuff. And the second room was very nice. The next morning when we went to check out there weren't any carts to load our stuff on, but they told us to wait in our room and they would bring them up to us when they were ready. Check out was easy. They let us leave our stuff there in locked storage.
The real kicker. We asked for a taxi at the front desk to go to Starbucks. They said, we have a free shuttle that can take you. So the guy took us to Starbucks, waited for us, and brought us back. What service. Then, even though we had checked out, the free shuttle took us to the bus station later on in the day to catch our bus. Also, the beds are very comfortable. I guess, just don't go there with a room booked on hotwire during busy season.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esarkis, General Manager at DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown, responded to this review, 20 July 2012
I am so sorry to hear of the issues you had on your first day at the hotel. I promise you that I will be following up on each one with the appropriate personnel. I appreciate your additional comments and am very happy that things turned around and you were treated as you should have been from the very start. It was very nice of you.

Thank you also for bringing these matters to my attention; your feedback does give us an opportunity to make improvemens that are needed. Again, I promise to look into everything starting today.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
1.7 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
1.5 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
1.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#11 of 24 in Buffalo
1,793 reviews
2.8 km away
Buffalo Marriott HARBORCENTER
0.9 km away
Best Western - On The Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Address: 125 High St, Buffalo, NY 14203-1153
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Buffalo
#2 Family Hotel in Buffalo
#3 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,537 - ₹ 13,671
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Buffalo Downtown, is located on the Buffalo Niagara Medical Campus. A 100% non-smoking hotel; the DoubleTree offers all of the comforts of home! Complimentary WiFi and in room safes are complimentary and in all of our tranquil rooms. Experience the all new "HD residential experience" on our brand new flat screen televisions. The DoubleTree is just minutes from everything truly unique to Buffalo; Canalside, HarborCenter, First Niagara Center, Ralph Wilson Stadium, Coca Cola Field and Shea's Theatre just to name a few. Niagara Falls is a short 25 minute drive from Buffalo! Come stay with us, you will not be disappointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Buffalo Downtown
Doubletree Downtown Hotel
Doubletree Buffalo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing