We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night, and great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western - On The Avenue
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Buffalo
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“One night, and great experience”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We stayed one night at the Best Western on the Avenue, April 13, 2012. We were in town for a concert..... the hotel was reasonably located to the downtown area near the Arena.

We couldve easily walked to the show at the Arena, but chose to take a taxi for time reasons. The front desk was very good to get us a taxi ASAP.

The hotel in general is in good repair. The rooms were really nicely appointed, and were very quiet, although it appeared the hotel was quite full. We've stayed in some hotels where you hear everything going on outside room, whereas this hotel had great soundproofing (at least it appeared to us to be).

The complimentary breakfast in the morning was quite good as well. Lots of choices etc., If i'd make one suggestion, it would be to improve the strength of the coffee, but otherwise it was all good.

We discovered as we were to leave, that our HWY was shutdown for construction. Dawn, one the hotels employees took the time to jot down an alternative route back to Niagara Falls, NY.

All in all, a good choice if you're visiting that area of BUffalo.

Room Tip: IF you like stronger coffee, there is a Starbucks just down the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoefromStCatharines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    119
    51
    16
    25
See reviews for
115
80
18
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vermont
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

We stayed here in December and have been meaning to write about it ever since. The staff was so kind to us, the rooms immaculate, and we awoke Christmas morning to a lovely complimentary breakfast in the hotel. Throughout our comings and goings, the front desk people served us well. We will definitely be back ! Such a good deal for the price.

Room Tip: so quiet on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This hotel was awful! We booked it last minute when most of the other hotels in the area were sold out. I would recommend avoiding it and staying in another area if this is the only downtown hotel with availability.

From the outside the hotel appears to be relatively modern but the lobby, hallways, breakfast area and the rooms are very outdated and dirty. Room 204 in particular should be avoided; it is located directly outside the elevator and ice machine. The walls are paper thin and you can hear every conversation in the hallway clearly. You can also hear the automated voice in the elevator say “second floor’ every single time the door opens. Additionally, the entire room was grimy, had mismatched furniture, dirty carpet and a filthy armchair.

The ‘continental breakfast’ was truly awful. The dimly lit banquet room was dirty and breakfast mostly consisted of cereal, old fruit and pop tarts.

The parking arrangement is also strange. There are a very limited number of spots directly outside the hotel requiring us to walk to a neighbouring parking lot. Not ideal when carrying luggage in the snow.

This is one of the dirtiest hotels I have ever stayed in. Again, I recommend avoiding it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vay_KayK8e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
74 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I agonized over whether this should be a 3 star or 4 star but in the end went with a three for a few specific reasons. First, the service, I found the people working there to be very nice. The maids were very nice when i asked if they could come back a little later, the front desk checking was fast and courteous and overall, everyone I came into contact with was friendly.

The hotel itself was a bit dated as were the rooms. You can hear quite a bit in between rooms and in the hallway and the decor is in desperate need of a facelift including the wallpaper in the bathroom. Not to mention the old school telephone next to the toilet and the outdate curtains and lamps. The view, what view, there is no view other than the parking lot if you have a room facing north. I found the bed to be surprisingly comfortable, given the old rooms, the beds were not hard as rocks and the sheets and comforter were clean and comfortable so that was nice.

Location, the locale was great, right near numerous landmarks, near a Walgreens if you need anything, near plenty of food joins, and lots a few good bars.

Price, the price was good, around $100 to be in the city fairly close to everything.

All in all it was a good experience, no major disasters, the people were nice, the price was good, the location was good, the only downside were the rooms. They were a bit outdated, in need of a facelift but the beds made up for it in my opinion. Nothing fancy but to be downtown and just need a place to crash, this one will do the trick.

Room Tip: I would say the rooms on the elevator side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vwbug77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

We're visitors for Toronto who come down two or three times a year to Buffalo to dine, shop and visit some of the great architecture in the city, or one of the excellent museums (The Albright Knox Gallery, The Darwin-Martin Frank Lloyd-Wright House to name a couple). Sometimes we come down to enjoy less highbrow fare - A Taste of Buffalo, The Allentown Art Festival or the chicken wing-ding! Buffalo has its challenges but there's a lot of great things in the city, if you look beyond the rustbelt cliches.

We've tried out a couple of other downtown hotels but Best Western Inn on the Avenue is now our firm favourite. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. The rooms clean and roomy (you can ask for a bar fridge too), a very nice complimentary breakfast with an array of choice (including a pancake maker) and there's even a parrot called Simba in the lobby! What more could you ask for?

The hotel is a stone's throw away from funky Allentown with great restaurants, a great second hand bookshop (called Rustbelt), Fat Bob's incredibly good barbecue joint and the world-famous Anchor Bar.

If you're looking for Michelin that this is not for you. The hotel is a little old. The hallways are not heated/air conditioned. The heating/airconditioning in the rooms is a bit rattly and not everything is 100% gleaming perfect all the time. But the staff will rectify any problem immediately and cheerfully and the place has loads of character and good vibes. Now that we've discovered it we would never think of staying anywhere else. We've also pointed friends to it and all have come back with glowing reviews.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lee C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Buffalo hotels
0.9 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Buffalo Downtown
0.9 km away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Buffalo Downtown
1.7 km away
Adam's Mark Buffalo
Adam's Mark Buffalo
#10 of 24 in Buffalo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Buffalo
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Downtown Buffalo
1.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Buffalo Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western - On The Avenue? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western - On The Avenue

Property: Best Western - On The Avenue
Address: 510 Delaware Ave, Buffalo, NY 14202-1304
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Buffalo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Buffalo
#9 Romantic Hotel in Buffalo
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,785 - ₹ 13,565
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western - On The Avenue 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western - On The Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Inn - On The Avenue Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Hotel Buffalo
Best Western Buffalo
Buffalo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing