We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
196
107
47
13
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
196
107
47
13
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews junior suite art deco full kitchen stainless steel appliances downtown buffalo continental breakfast craft beer valet parking rooms are beautiful great bed high ceilings reception desk wedding reception historic building amazing hotel lobby area living room
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Classic hotel with beautiful architecture and design inside and out. The main bar is gorgeous with early 20th century wood work and 20-foot high ceilings. Room was clean and modern with large bathroom. Bed was king-size and comfortable, although a little soft for my taste. Hallways are wide and spacious harkening back to another era.

Service was friendly and efficient.

You could stay at this hotel and never leave if you wanted. The bar is a hoot and reasonably priced. Plus there are games areas adjacent. Not to mention the large attractive restaurant.

If you like looking out your window, get a room facing Washington or Lafayette. The rooms on the back gaze onto a dull parking lot and cold-looking 60s/70s buildings. But hopefully, you just go downstairs to party or get out and enjoy Buffalo. There are nice neighbourhoods and things to see and do.

Room Tip: Room on Washington or Lafayette, if you want a better streetscape to gaze at.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PopeBiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina P, Front Office Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. We are so glad you enjoyed yourself while you were here and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

The vast lobby, huge corridors and Art Deco architecture felt like stepping into Ghost Busters set. Its a vast place and with such architectural interest. It could do with some updating in the decor as it looks too sparse but it was a marvellous experience. We had a supper in the rather noisy sports bar which was more than adequate and fast , pleasant service and good food. Then to the Amazing 2 bedroom apartment on the 3rd Floor. Gorgeous and very well equipped. Huge lounge/kitchenette, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms- utter luxury. Wonderful beds with good linen and dream-sleep pillows. I loved it so much ! It's bigger than the little cottage I rented in Niagara on the Lake. Leanne on the front Desk was so helpful and friendly as are all the staff ! Well done to Management. Such a good price too- I was amazed. We left our car there 4 days to head to a Snow Blizzard on a ghastly,old Amtrak rail experience...that's another story. I would love to return in better weather and to explore Buffalo with it's wonderful buildings. A great location as we were close the Exchange Street rail station.

Room Tip: Higher up with no traffic noise
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LadyPamelaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina P, Front Office Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff was of great help to you. Hope to see you again soon maybe in the warmer months so you can explore downtown Buffalo.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Our third time there, and first non-suite room - Standard King. Still, warm & cozy, with plenty of architectural interest (steps up to bathroom, floor-to-ceiling windows with antique iron ballustrades, "fireplace" heater, walk-in shower/tub combo). Love this historic property. The common areas and ballrooms, as well as the Lafayette Brewery next door, are drop-dead gorgeous and have been renovated with a deep respect for their history (even the original faucets in the public restrooms were saved, with modern faucets added on the opposite side of the sink). With a few simple improvements (add decor to the ante-lobby area between glass doors - it's not at all welcoming; add more hooks in the bathroom for robes, toiletry cases, etc.) it would be a flawless experience.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Trademark Hotels
Thank Ariana13xy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina P, Front Office Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. We use all feedback to help improve our property and to better serve our guests. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Very quaint hotel, the junior suite was great! Cute room, perfect accomodations for myself and two friends to stay the night to watch the junior worlds tournament. Would stay in the suite again!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Trademark Hotels
Thank freast92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina P, Front Office Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

I stayed at the Lafayette whilst in town on business. An architectural gem re-purposed in fine fashion in the individual rooms with a nice nod to history in the public rooms on the ground floor. Above all, the staff was very friendly (as is everyone in Buffalo !) , efficient and personal. And the price was very cost-effective...I'll be back again !

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Trademark Hotels
Thank mikelK7004UY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristina P, Front Office Manager at Hotel at the Lafayette a Trademark Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate it. Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews