We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty, expensive and run down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
Ranked #12 of 64 Hotels in Flagstaff
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“dirty, expensive and run down”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

we arrived pretty late after driving 7 hrs from new mexico with our 3 yr old son. we booked a king suite online and it was quite expensive for what we got.
however, since it was new years eve many hotels in the area were booked pretty solid so it's understandable that hotels raise rates for this one night. i thought this only happened in places like NY or LA but i guess people in Flagstaff have to party in hotel rooms as well.

once we got into the room it was not a king suite and the room was overpowered by the smell of cheap deodorizer. it was so strong and bad that all my clothes still reek from the scent. the rooms was dingy and the carpet felt slimy to the bare foot.

i called to front desk to ask about our suite and they said there were no suites left and there's always a margin of error when booking online. really? the guy at the front desk was nice but offered nothing in return for this error. so we accepted the situation and unpacked for the night.

once we settled in we found a prescription pill on the floor. so much for vacuuming. i wiped down the bathroom floor with a towel and water so my child could have a bath and it was filthy. there was hair everywhere and it wasn't ours. once it was time to go to bed and we open the covers to find a headband. so much for changing the sheets in between customers.

the next day i complained nicely to the front desk and she took several dollars off of our bill but it's just not enough. i know hotels don't change the blankets but dirty sheets are unacceptable. she said she would have the manager call us and still no phone call. it cost us almost $100 to stay at this flea bag hotel. i advise you to save your money and sleep in your car. at least you know that dirty hair you'll find on your car seat is your own!

Room Tip: Looks like the hotels near the university seemed to be newer and probably less run down.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sak90027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    244
    116
    53
    24
See reviews for
343
211
41
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint George, Utah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 December 2011

when we got to the hotel and into our rooms wow surprised how small they were rented a king suite and 2 queens the beds were so spongy and the noise from the train tracks were horrible i am a dedicated hampton inn customer this was the worse the rooms had a stale odor not only that the next day it snowed and they didnt even clean the sidewalks or the parking lot no ice so you had to be extremely careful my husband slept maybe 4 hours total in the two days whatever you do dont stay here it is not worth it disappointed faithful hampton customer

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The hotel appears to be in an older building. It is well maintained and clean. I like the fact that the windows can be opened a few inches for fresh air. Staff is friendly and efficient. There was an issue regarding the bathtub but it was resolved. The price makes this Hampton Inn a great find for the budget-minded traveler. The breakfast area is clean and all the items were replenished. I liked the cookies at check-in, too. When I checked out this morning, there was snow, but staff provided me with a scraper and also told me I could have a late check-out if needed (it wasn't), If one hasn't "google-mapped" this place before showing up - and it is dark - it's a bit hard to find. Just turn south on 89 from I-40 at Exit 201, and take the first right at the first light. You'll then turn left at the "Hampton Inn" sign. It is right next to the "Days Inn."

Room Tip: Not sure -- the second floor - due to the design of the building - actually has some rooms that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindsayw739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SGilliom, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write this nice review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed here for the night after visiting the Grand Canyon. We were tired but know Hamptons live up to thier standards. The check in was fast and easy. We requested a higher floor but there was none available. The rooms were older but simply updated. The beds were comfortable and clean. We couldn't enjoy the breakfast in the morning as there were many people and they ony have about 7 tables for guests to sit at. If you aren't there first thing, you don't get a seat. We checked out and found another place for breakfast. Not quite up to other Hamptons I have stayed at but like i said, Good enough for the night.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorta2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

After being on the road all day and driving through a torrential rainstorm I was happy to see a Hampton Inn listed on the first exit on the way into Flagstaff on the east side. I was too tired to consider other hotels so ended up paying the $150 rate that was quoted. The young man on the front desk was very pleasant during the check in process. Upon entering the room there was a very distinct odor. I couldn't discern whether it was mold or stale smoke. We had a suite so I appreciated the separate sitting room and two televisions but the couch in the sitting room was not very comfortable. The carpet also look a little dated. On the plus side the mattresses were comfortable but the pillows not so much. The bathroom was clean and spacious. Breakfast in the morning was the typical Hampton layout which was more than sufficient. While not a bad experience I did not feel it was a good value. If I returned to Flagstaff I would most likely look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sba001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
1.9 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
3.9 km away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
7.6 km away
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
Comfort Inn Flagstaff
#6 of 64 in Flagstaff
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
7.4 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
7.3 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff
Address: 3501 E Lockett Rd, Flagstaff, AZ 86004-4044 (Formerly Hampton Inn Flagstaff)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Flagstaff
#13 Business Hotel in Flagstaff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Flagstaff
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,981 - ₹ 18,221
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Country Inn & Suites Flagstaff! Easy access to the I-40 and the historic Route 66, and just a short drive to local attractions like the Northern Arizona University (NAU), Downtown Flagstaff, or the Arizona Snowbowl makes us a favorite among guests visiting the Flagstaff area. We offer modern and spacious rooms with free WiFi, an indoor heated pool and spa area, and a complimentary hot breakfast with both healthy and scrumptious food choices. In addition to these amenities, we also offer the friendliest service in town, welcoming each and every guest with a warm smile and making sure that they will feel right at home. That is what the Country Inn & Suites Flagstaff is all about, being your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Flagstaff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Flagstaff East Hotel Flagstaff
Flagstaff Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing