We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki

Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki
Ranked #55 of 335 Restaurants in Flagstaff
Price range: US$ 16 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sakura offers one of the most unique dining experiences in Flagstaff. Part of the DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff, Sakura is a popular destination with locals and visitors alike. Sakura has been voted one of the "Best Restaurants of the Southwest" by Food and Wine Magazine. Sakura has received the title of best Japanese restaurant for ten years from the Arizona Daily Sun. Sakura, which means Cherry Blossom, offers two traditional Japanese dining styles. At Flagstaffs original Sushi Bar, you can sit and watch the highly trained chefs produce incredible works of "edible art."
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
“Excellent, Excellent, Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We went to lunch and then again for dinner. Our chef, Rubin, was such a fantastic showman that when we went to dinner with friends in the evening, we requested him again. Food was great, it was an A+++ experience!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Paul and Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
So pleased you enjoyed your lunch... and dinner with us! Rubin is definitely a fan favorite, and your experience shows you exactly why. He loves to impress! Thank you for choosing and for recommending Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki Flagstaff. We appreciate your comments and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    53
    20
    10
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Teppanyaki”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

My favorite is the grilled shrimp. Ton of food and a great show!

Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Yum... we love that grilled shrimp too! So glad you enjoyed the whole teppanyaki experience at Sakura!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Singe Your Eyebrows off Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2012

With salt and pepper shakers flying and a flaming onion volcano you will enjoy the food and the entertainment at Sakura. My kids love it and beg to go there. My husband and I sat at the bar and ate sushi late one night, it was great too.

Helpful?
Thank lexileo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 20 January 2012
We are pleased to be a family favorite in Flagstaff! Thanks for the kind recommendation and we look forward to seeing you and the family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

The chef was incredible. The food was so good, andit was amazing to watch his expert preparation of our meal, despite some very rude and demeaning guests at our table. He was gracious and made sure my husband's 50th was better than I could have hoped. We were recommended by the front desk of the hotel where we were staying. The staff here treated us like royalty making wine and menu recommendations that we would not have considered otherwise. Even calling down for reservations was a delightful experience. To make it even better, the birthday dinner was FREE (up to $25.00 with purchase of another meal). I have experienced this type of meal before, but this group elevated it to a much higher level. I believe our chef said he had been there 30 years or so... Indescribably delicious!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Guest Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 28 November 2011
Thank you so much for your rave review! We'll pass along your kind feedback to our entire service team and chefs. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

This is my favorite place to eat. Food can be a little pricey, but it's worth it for a nice night out. The show the chefs put on while cooking are so much fun! Tables seat eight and if you have a party less then that you share a table with other people. At first it seemed uncomfortable being seated at a table with multiple people, but now I have come to enjoy meeting the interesting people I would have never met.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gypsiespirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
granite_hotelmgr, Public Relations Manager at Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki, responded to this review, 14 October 2011
On behalf of the management and team at Sakura - thank you for taking the time to post your review. We love being your favorite place to eat in Flagstaff! We do offer specials often so be sure to call and ask. Thanks again and we'll see you again soon at the teppan tables.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki also viewed

 

Been to Sakura Sushi & Teppanyaki? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing