We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The quiet retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Conifer House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flagstaff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Conifer House Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Flagstaff B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The quiet retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

I cant really fault this place. Its quiet and the room (Ponderosa) we had was superb. Lauren was very accomodating and we came in late and provided some nibbles for supper. Conifer House is a fair distance from the main street of flagstaff so either have your own car or be prepared for a long walk.
Lauren cooks breakfast each day and its served between 8.30 and 9. At first I thought this to be quite restrictive however it a very good idea as all the guests then eat together and you can swap yarns with your fellow travellers. The breakfast food is a little different and at the same time yummy.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHseGrammyx8, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thanks for posting such a nice review. We really appreciate it! Hope the rest of your vacation in the States went smoothly and that you had a safe journey home. We were glad to have you with us at Conifer House! Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    12
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
120
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

What a great way to remember spending my 50th birthday. The B&B was really helpful even before we arrived by emailing very precise directions. We were upgraded to the Ponderosa room which was beautifully furnished. A lovely luxurious large bathroom with really good quality fittings and comfy bathrobes. The B&B is set in a beautiful quiet location but is also really handy for Grand Canyon, Meteor Crater and the Lowell Observatory. Delicious breakfast which will set you up for the day. They have a guest room where you can help yourself to ice, cold soft drinks and also wine in the afternoons. Every day there were surprise nibbles in your room. You feel more like a member of the family than a guest. Many thanks for my lovely birthday gift.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank horseface62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
203 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

This B & B was easy to find, thanks to our host's directions. We stayed in the Nantucket Room which was designed to make you feel like you're in Cape Cod - all fresh blues and whites. The room is spacious and the bathroom is huge, with a separate shower, soaker jacuzzi tub and pedestal sink. The breakfasts are delicious! They're brought to your room, picnic-style, during the weekdays and served in the common area on the weekends. We enjoyed yogurt parfaits, fresh fruit, french toast, lemon pancakes, and turkey bacon. Everything is sourced locally and is organic. Each day a surprise goody was left in our room - chocolates, homemade trail mix and cookies. We stayed for four nights, and it snowed a foot one day so we just watched DVDs in our room. There's a huge selection of DVDs to choose from, and books to borrow. Free wifi is available - they'll give you the password. We used this B&B as our base for day trips to the Grand Canyon, Sedona, Williams, Winslow, the Petrified Forest, the Painted Desert and Jerome. The beds are super comfortable, towels are fluffy, and every little detail is thought of. It was quiet and comfortable - a perfect home away from home. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Nantucket Room has a private entrance with parking right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed in the beautiful, spacious, comfortable Ponderosa room. We loved the gas fireplace on a thermostat, kept the room at the perfect temperature. The office had a nice selection of snacks, cold drinks, wine and movies. It was a special treat having such a delicious breakfast delivered to our room. Instead of restaurant menus and things to do being in the common areas Lauren has all of this information for you in the room.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Breakfast was fabulous, but the hot water enough to fill the tub up was not.
The hot water tank did not produce enought hot water to fill up our tub for our Romantic weekend anniversary get away. We paid more for a "in-room jacuzzi tub" and never got enough hot water to enjoy a HOT Jacuzzi tub.

Good luck! We stayed in the Ponderosa Room, the bed was too hard too. We did not feel we got our monies worth and will not be back. Breakfast was served to early and only for a 30 min. window of time. I felt rushed and really needed the rest, but did not get it there.

Oh and the other thing about the Ponderosa room is there is a light that stays on all night in the front yard and shined right in the room and in my eyes...if you like to sleep in pitch dark then thats not the room for you...

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clarityheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CHseGrammyx8, Owner at Conifer House Inn, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
We are very sorry that this guest appeared to have had a not so pleasant experience at our bed and breakfast. We would like to address some of the issues that this guest pointed out: #1 Hot Water for the Jacuzzi tub - we do have our hot water heater (50 gallon/ quick recovery heater just for that room) at the maximum temperature that we dare put it so as not to scald someone at the sink tap -- unfortunately, this is a whirlpool tub, not a "hot tub" so there is no continuous heater and the water will cool down eventually. We do provide instructions for how to have the best experience with water temperature in the tub which works out well for most. Sorry that your experience wasn't what you anticipated. #2 Bed firmness - Our king beds are all Sealy Posturpedic mattresses and suit the majority of people, but we have noticed that some guests are desiring a more soft mattress and we have just ordered some "down alternative" featherbeds to install on top of some of our beds and will see if that fills the bill -- thanks for your input as well as another guest who reviewed a couple of months ago. FYI: Our Bungalow room with a queen bed does have a "memory foam mattress" which is much softer. #3 Breakfast times - We have been open for 11+ years and after offering breakfast from 7:30 until 9:30 the first year we were open, we found that the period between 8:30 and 9:00 a.m. was the time slot that most of our guests chose to come. We do offer an earlier breakfast if requested and we usually serve breakfast to people as late as 9:30 a.m. before we put things away. We are sorry that this guest felt rushed. Finally, thank you for pointing out the fact about the landscape light that stays on until about midnight -- it may just be misaligned because of snow, animals tramping around or something else. We will certainly make a point of making sure it is not shining into the room. We hope that this guest will try us again so that we can give them the best experience possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
5.1 km away
Little America Hotel Flagstaff
7.6 km away
Sonesta ES Suites Flagstaff
3.3 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Flagstaff
3.6 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
7.4 km away
Ski Lift Lodge
Ski Lift Lodge
#24 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conifer House Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conifer House Inn

Property: Conifer House Inn
Address: 1701 W Stevanna Way, Flagstaff, AZ 86001-1157
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Flagstaff
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,788 - ₹ 12,369
Hotel Class:3 star — Conifer House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conifer House Inn has 4 unique guest rooms which open onto a central courtyard. Each room has a sophisticated decorating scheme with luxurious amenities, linens and furnishings. En-suite bathroom has separate shower and whirlpool tub. A fireplace and views of the surrounding natural beauty allow guests to unwind and relax from their busy lives. Conifer House Inn is ideally located to access downtown Flagstaff, local trails and outdoor activities, and the Grand Canyon via Hwy 180. Please visit our website. We hope you'll become a guest at Conifer House Inn, and promise you'll want to come back! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing