We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Historic and Inexpensive...stayed in the Anthony Hopkins Suite” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Monte Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Monte Vista
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Lees Summit, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Historic and Inexpensive...stayed in the Anthony Hopkins Suite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2012

My husband and I stayed here, and we got a king suite (the Babbitt Room on the 3rd floor). The room was very spacious...especially for being an "old/historic" hotel. We liked it so much that when we came back through Flagstaff, we stayed another night...this time in a queen suite, which happened to be the ANTHONY HOPKINS SUITE (on the 4th floor). Really cool. This room was much smaller than the king suite, but it was just fine for two people. The shower was a bit squishy, but other than that, we loved it here and plan on staying again whenever we return to Flagstaff. If you are in the military, there is a 10% discount as well!! Lots of movie history and ghost stories about this hotel...I recommend reading up on the hotel's history before you stay! :) Hotel does have television and free Wifi, and is located conveniently in the old historic part of downtown.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheeto85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    146
    85
    50
    81
See reviews for
58
176
30
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
481 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Monte Vista for three enjoyable nights in September 2011 as part of our 2000 mile road trip visiting places of interest within the states of Nevada, Utah, New Mexico and Arizona.
This hotel is full of movie history due to the 1940's and 1950's when over a hundred movies were filmed in and around Northern Arizona and the Monte Vista became the hotel of choice for the travelling Hollywood film stars. Each bedroom is named after a movie star, confirmed by way of a door plaque, a film poster or a signed photograph and famous guests include Bob Hope, Bing Crosby, Gary Cooper, Debbie Reynolds, Jane Russell, John Wayne, Clark Gable, Spencer Tracey, and Humphrey Bogart. Popular music stars have also stayed, including Jon Bon Jovi and the late Freddie Mercury of Queen. If it’s famous guests weren’t impressive enough, this 1927 Hotel also has a few permanent ghosts, reported being seen and or heard in various rooms within the hotel. For details of guests and ghosts, a visit to the impressive hotel website is a must.
The Monte Vista has charming character, is stylishly decorated with close attention to its historic detail; it is well maintained throughout and conveniently located in the centre of the town with parking at the rear. Breakfast is not included but is available, together with ice for the room, from the integral ground floor coffee bar restaurant.
We stayed in room 210, named the Zane Grey Suite after the Wild West novels author, a fabulous first floor double aspect room overlooking the corner of Aspen and San Francisco streets. It is reportedly one of the many haunted rooms where three knocks are often heard on the door from the ghost of a bellboy. Apparently John Wayne experienced this during his stay. We too heard the knocks but unlike Mr Wayne who apparently opened the door, we ignored them as plumbing noises, as we hadn’t read the story about the bellboy ghost at the door!
The hotel was perfect for all our accommodation requirements. We enjoyed our stay and have absolutely no hesitation in recommending the Hotel Monte Vista to everyone visiting Flagstaff.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaverton, Oregon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

We might not have even stopped in Flagstaff except that we were giving 3 young men a ride to town from Walnut Canyon National Monument. We saw the the Monte Vista's tall old neon sign on top their 4 story building, and though it was earlier in the day than we had planned to stop, it looked like an opportunity too good to miss. The Monte Vista is a busy place and they only had the one room available. Some of their rooms have no bath, and you get to "use the shared one down the hall." How quaint is that? They have a long list of celebrities who have stayed there since it was built in 1927. Parking is included is this very busy downtown scene. Clean, attractively decorated rooms that are nothing like your modern motel chains. (No frig, no microwave, no in-room coffee. But there is a fine little cafe downstairs.) The receptionist was very helpful with planning our extra-long evening.

The downside: people leaving the bar downstairs were very noisy. It took me a while to remember that I always travel with ear plugs for these occasions.

Room Tip: If you are fortunate enough to have a choice of rooms, ask to see their list of celebrity guests. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suemap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Three women travelling to Grande Canyon from Phoenix stopped overnight in Flagstaff. We wanted to be able to walk to all of the charming little restaurants, bars and shops in the uptown area so chose the historic Monte Vista Hotel as a first stop. The front desk staff & operator of the hotel were very accommodating to our needs (getting 3 women to agree on which is the perfect room). They encouraged us to go and look at the different rooms and choose for ourselves. Then they gave us some super discounts to sweeten the stay. The rooms are clean, spacious with old world charm and the beds were great. The bathrooms are small but have been updated with new showers, sumptuous towels and nice toiletries. The expresso/bar on the main level was nice to meet other travellers in the evening and morning. The downtown area was so great with so many different boutiques/bars etc. Loved getting away from the hotel chains and big box stores!

Room Tip: The corner suite with king bed and pull out couch was great but we chose another room on 4th floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olym2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level Contributor
204 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Ok, read the reviews and was amazed how picky people could be. This is an old, historic hotel that has kept as much old fashioned charm as possible while cleaning up and modernizing a bit. It is not a luxury hotel unless you look into one of the more expensive rooms.
I stayed in the Humphrey Bogart Room with a private bath and queen bed. It was one step up from the cheapest rooms. Rooms are small as they were in the olden days. The bathroom does not seem to be heated, but the shower gels and shampoos were excellent. The towels were fine.
I do not think the room has ac and the floor board heat takes a while to get going.
I opted not to ake my dog as the only room left for a pet was over the bar. Next time, I would take the dog as there are many dogs walked around downtown.
Parking was not a problem and I do not understand why anyone would have trouble. The SMALL hotel lot is for guests only from 6-6 with violators booted even if they are in the bar.
Lobby is charming, the bar is dark and nice, no smells in any rooms, coffee shop and martini bar open at 7:00a.m.
You can walk a 2 block area and hit every college bar, little eatery, shops, etc. that you need to.
I called about an early check in since I was originally arriving on the train. they were honest and said they would try. They did, and I was in my room by 7:30a.m.
the elevator is old time small, but a beautiful wood paneled elevator that runs quickly and smoothly. Old chandeliers adorn the narrow halls.
The room was a bit dusty and the blinds a bit old, but the carpet was free of spots and the room nicely adorned.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Flagstaff hotels
2.5 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Flagstaff
0.2 km away
Weatherford Hotel
Weatherford Hotel
#34 of 63 in Flagstaff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
0.8 km away
Drury Inn & Suites Flagstaff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Highland Country Inn
Highland Country Inn
#18 of 63 in Flagstaff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
1.3 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Flagstaff
1.4 km away
Econo Lodge Flagstaff University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monte Vista? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monte Vista

Property: Hotel Monte Vista
Address: 100 N. San Francisco St., Flagstaff, AZ 86001
Region: United States > Arizona > Flagstaff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 63 Hotels in Flagstaff
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,937 - ₹ 9,008
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Monte Vista 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Monte Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monte Vista Hotel
Monte Vista Flagstaff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing