We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Idea What the Fuss is All About”
Review of The Alley on Main

The Alley on Main
Ranked #4 of 460 Restaurants in Murfreesboro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 May 2021

This place is always busy with long lines of patrons waiting outside. We finally went on a weekday at 4:30 pm to beat the dinner crowd. There were 4 groups in front of us as no one was manning the hostess station. After 15 minutes someone came over. Wait time was not long for a table. Had no idea the waiting started after you sat down. They were fully staffed but it seemed very chaotic and didn't flow smoothly. There was a lot of standing around and chit chatting . Time that could have been better spent. It was as if no one was in charge. We waited 10 minutes before anyone came to our table, another wait to order the calamari appetizer, completely tasteless. When it came time to order we were given a list of things they were out of. My husband ordered the fried chicken, big mistake as Puckett's is across the street and has the best fried chicken! He had to peel off the outside as it was greasy and had no flavor. We waited half an hour for drinks and had our water refilled once. All in all we were there a grueling hour and 45 minutes and left hungry. So, like I said, have no idea what the fuss is about and will not go back.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SanDiegoMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 376 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2021 via mobile

My husband and I both had a fabulous dinner here seated at the bar, which was so much fun watching the bartenders in motion and a portion of the kitchen. We both had the shrimp appetizers which were fabulous and crispy, then a good salad with blue cheese dressing, then the really fabulous fried catfish. We ended our meal with the bourbon ice cream special, and it was fabulous! The Manhattan was perfectly prepared, and the wine prices are excellent.
This restaurant is right downtown, with tons of free parking nearby. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: May 2021
2  Thank Grice-Fearing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2021 via mobile

Enjoyed a delightful lunch with friend. Fish special was very good. I would not order the Birthday cake again. Nothing special.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank cluginbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2021

From the time we walked in to the time we left we were waited on promptly with so much gratitude just for choosing to eat there!! We will definitely be back and highly recommend them to everyone we know! The food was amazing and the service was above and beyond! You will not be disappointed! My sirloin was beautiful, my husband loved his catfish and my daughter had the chicken salad sandwich.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank amandae590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2021

This restaurant was always pack pre covid, so now a seat is coveted. We have always been able to get a seat pretty quick, and they are always nice when we come in.
The menu is one where you struggle what to order because everything sounds so good I would classify it as Americana with a tasty twist. You can order blue cheese bacon butter as an extra on a steak! Or avocado salsa as a appetizer

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank viajarwithmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Alley on Main also viewed

 
Murfreesboro, TN
 

Been to The Alley on Main? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.