We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Dr. Seuss Museums are what it is all about!”

Springfield Museums
Ranked #2 of 45 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Springfield Museums, located in the heart of downtown Springfield, Massachusetts, is comprised of four world-class museums covering art, history, and science, plus the Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Reviewed 9 December 2017

The wife and I came here for the Dr. Suess Museums. The rest of the museums we visited were nice in their own ways. Some of them were a bit dated and a bit unorganized, while others had great exhibits. Please keep in mind that these are not great big museums with lots and lots of money. They are small museums in an economically depressed town, and they are trying to do their best with the resources they have. If I am in the area again, I will more than willingly return and spend my money again.

Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hi! Thank you so much for your review! The Amazing World of Dr. Seuss Museum is the latest museum in our complex, so it's definitely an eye catcher and exciting for all visitors. Currently we are looking to update and improve the Springfield Science Museum. Bringing it into the 21st century is a top priority for us. We certainly hope that you do visit again as we are constantly updating and changing exhibits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"history museum"
in 38 reviews
"seuss sculpture garden"
in 27 reviews
"fine arts museum"
in 15 reviews
"antique cars"
in 11 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 22 reviews
"dinosaur exhibit"
in 9 reviews
"rolls royce"
in 8 reviews
"dr seuss"
in 28 reviews
"blake house"
in 8 reviews
"american art"
in 7 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 6 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 4 reviews
"multiple museums"
in 4 reviews
"plaster casts"
in 4 reviews
"small city"
in 7 reviews
"admission price"
in 5 reviews
"all ages"
in 21 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2017

Spending $25 for 5 museums is a great deal when the museums are up to snuff. Not the case with the Springfield Museums. Yes, there was some cool artwork on display and it was fun to see some of the personal effects of Dr. Seuss, but overall the museums left much to be desired. The natural history museum, in particular, was probably one of the most outdated, decrepit and disorganized museums of its kind that I've ever seen. When you visit, keep in mind that much of the information was probably relevant several decades ago, but is now totally inaccurate. Modern science has yet to make its debut there! Also note that the Seuss museum's exhibits are largely geared toward young children. If you're an adult and not into Seuss stuff at all, might just be better off skipping it altogether.

Thank Fortyfivefifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi! Thank you for your review! We hear what you are saying about the Springfield Science Museum and are actually working towards updating and modernizing it. This, of course, it a lengthy and involved process. We hope that you'll return to check it out when we have completed the updates and renovations. As for the Amazing World of Dr. Seuss Museum, we have created a kid-centric space on the lower two floors of the museum, but adults are invited to play and interact, too! The upper floor is more geared towards adults, looking at Theodor Seuss Geisel through artifacts, his artwork beyond picture books, and a recreation of his living room and study.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

This past Sunday I went with my wife, 3 kids (ages 2, 5, and 7) and my parents for a day trip to the Springfield Museums. I have lived about an hour away for 10 years and was unfamiliar with them. I was looking for a fun family activity to get us out of the house and we had such a terrific day! The museums are just off I-91 and there was easy free parking adjacent. The offerings are really nice and diverse- the Dr. Seuss Museum, a natural history museum, two art museums, and a history museum. The museums are large enough to be able to explore and feel substantial, but small enough to not be overwhelming. The staff was friendly and helpful. We planned to cover everything, but only managed to cover two of the museums before we called it a day! It was not crowded at all when we went, which made it great for the kids to be able to see and interact with whatever they wanted. The easy parking made it convenient for us to take a break, have lunch off site, and return for more fun. We definitely plan to return! Please note the Dr. Seuss museum has timed tickets, so you may want to purchase them online in advance. Also, if you're a Bank of America customer, the museums participate in the Museums on Us program where the first weekend of the month, B of A customers can get free admission.

1  Thank Joshdent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi Josh! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time at the Museums. Thank you for also mentioning the Museums on Us program through Bank of America. We hope your family returns soon to experience the other three museums!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

It is always a great day at the Springfield Museums.
I've been taking my son there since he was little, as well as my niece and nephews.
They always enjoy the visit.

1  Thank yes2fit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Hi! Thank you so much for your kind words! We're glad to hear that you always enjoy your visits to the Museums. We can't wait to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

The history of the Springfield area is quite fascinating. I was surprised to find out items I used during my childhood came from Springfield.
This area has several museums that will allow you to visit with the one paid admission. Please inquire at this museum first.

Thank kyee67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Digital Media Admin at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Thanks for the review! Visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Springfield Museums? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing