We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Overall impression.

The number of museums that make up the system give Springfield ,Mass. a system that many much... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Linda T
,
Wilbraham
This is a nice venture out!

The Springfield museums are an interesting group of museums. The Walter Vincent Smith museum has a... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jon F
Read all 432 reviews
  
Reviews (432)
Filter reviews
427 results
Traveller rating
260
121
41
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
260
121
41
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews history museum museum of fine arts seuss sculpture garden rolls royce antique cars something for everyone dinosaur exhibit dr seuss blake house american art small cafe multiple museums special exhibit all ages admission price day trip amazing world
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 427 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The number of museums that make up the system give Springfield ,Mass. a system that many much larger cities would envy.

Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Linda! Wow, that is high praise indeed! We are so happy to hear that our museums made that impression on you and we hope you are able to visit again soon. We have two new exhibitions from November 13, 2018 - May 26, 2019: "Isabel Bishop's Working Women: Defying Convention" and "Taking Care of Business: A Century of Women and Work in Springfield". Both exhibitions include loaned pieces as well as objects from our permanent collections. We hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Springfield museums are an interesting group of museums. The Walter Vincent Smith museum has a great collection of early Chinese cloisonne that probably is the best in the US. The museum of local history is a must see as well because of its presentations on the Indian Motor Cycle.

Thank Jon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jon! Thank you so much for your kind words! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit. Also, thank you for the compliment about our Chinese cloisonne collection. We are not sure about it being the best in the US, but that is high praise! The Indian Motocycle collection is also quite impressive and almost all of the cycles came from Charles and Esta Manthos, who were avid collectors and ran their own museum before donating the collection to us. We hope you are able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved the museum. Now with the Dr Seuss exhibit they have dived into politics so history is debatable. History should be left alone.

Thank FRED B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi Fred! Thank you for sharing your opinions with us. We're so glad to hear that you overall had a great experience. We feel as though you have definitely brought forth great philosophical questions about history and its place in present day debates. We will be considering your thoughts as we move forward.

Thanks again and we hope you are able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This is a complex that I had never heard of, but has a range of interests that almost everyone can enjoy. For $25 per person ( $16 for seniors) there are separate museums for Dr. Suess, Natural History, Fine Arts ( Renoir, Etc), Autos and Motorcycles, and Historic Develooment of Springfield. We have a short attention span but this place changed in content so drastically from Place to place that we never lost interest. The docents/guides/counselors were very well informed and not at all short or brief with questions. Free parking and a well balanced map make a solid ‘Must See’ if you have from 2-5 hours to spend leisurely in Springfield Massachusetts!

Thank Steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Steve! Thank you so much for you kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your time at the Springfield Museums. As you mentioned, our five museums do cover a range of interests: art, history, science, and Dr. Seuss. It is exciting to hear that due to the diverse nature of each museum, we were able to keep you engaged well past your usual "short attention span". We hope you are able to visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

You have to pay for entry to all five museums even if you only want to visit one or two of them. We had time on our hands so were able to wander around all five museums one morning. The Art & the Science Museums were vaguely interesting, the Museum of Springfield History was better, but we were really only here for the Amazing World of Dr Seuss which was fine but nothing special.

1  Thank Swedishtomcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Hi! We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your visit to the Wood Museum of Springfield History and also had a chance to check out our other museums. Would you be able to elaborate more on how we can make your next visit more enjoyable? We are always trying to improve the visitor experience and would love more specific feedback!

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We enjoyed the museums as there is a single admission ticket which includes the Dr. Seuss museum. You can visit all museums in an afternoon.

1  Thank seebear1502018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi! We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you so much for coming! In regards to other great activities in the area, we offer a combined ticket with the Basketball Hall of Fame, which is also in Springfield, and a combined ticket with the Norman Rockwell Museum in Stockbridge, MA and the Eric Carle Museum of Picture Book Art in Amherst, MA. Either ticket is good for one year to visit each museum once.

With the five museums at our location in Springfield, you can take them all in in an afternoon and they are within easy walking distance from each other.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Springfield has a long history of transportation & manufacturing-the transportation being automobiles & motorcycles & the manufacturing of automobiles & firearms. The exhibits are displayed on two levels with an elevator.

As a visitor enters they are greeted with a small aviation gallery. Two 1930's hang from the ceiling-a Gee Bee racer & a unknown aircraft. Along one staircase & wall are several aviation posters from the 1930's.

After the aviation gallery is the beginning of the Early Transportation in Springfield. On the walls are the following: The Advent Of The Railroad, Connecticut River Steamboatr Era, Public Transportation In The Valley-1933, The Trolley Age-1910-1940, & Rolls Royce, Inc. Nine vehicles are exhibited:
1893 Springfield Duryea.
1899 Knox.
1901 Crestmobile.
1903 Stevens-Duryea Stan Hope.
1910 Atlas.
1919 Militor.
1925 Rolls Royce Phantom
1925 Rolls Royce Silver Ghost.
1928 Pierce Arrow Brougham.
All vehicle-except Pierce Arrow-were produce in Springfield or the state of Massachusetts. Rolls Royce vehicles are made from 1920-1929, with a total of 2,944 produced. Also is small Springfield police & fire department exhibit.

The upper floor is the SIS Hall that displays a private collection of at least 26 Indian motorcycles from 1906-1951, with a small number of non-Indians. Also two bicycle exhibit-Setting the Wheel in Motion-The Bicycle Era & From Bicycle Racers to Motorcycle Makers. All motorcycles are well exhibited, good distance for a photo shoot, excellent lighting for photography.

A short distance away is the Smith & Wesson & Springfield arms-pistols, muskets, rifles, shotguns & carbines. A very clear restroom is located on this flor.

The museum is one of five. The other four are grouped together across Edwards Street. Not many visitors during my 3 &1/2 hour visit. Possibly people ae unware of the museum's existence. The motorcycles, firearms, automobile & small aviation gallery made a good afternoon of Springfield history.

Parking is across Edwards Street were four different colored flags fly. I suggest arriving before 9:30 for a parking space. BY 11:00 the lot will be full.

Hours: Tuesday-Saturday. 10:00-5:00.
Sunday 11:-5:00.
Monday Closed.

Admission Adults $18.00
Seniors -60 + $12.00.
College student with ID $9.50.
Ages 3-17 &9.50.
Admissions is located in the Science Museum.

Any possible visitor with an interest in early automobiles, Indian motorcycles & firearms-that date back to 1760's-this museum will not disappoint.

A visit is highly recommended.

Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jack! Wow, what a very thorough review of the Wood Museum of Springfield History! Thank you! It is clear that you very much enjoyed your visit and we hope you are able to come again soon. A few points of clarification for our visitors:

SIS Hall is the large hall downstairs where the two airplanes are hanging from the ceiling.

We have three parking lots, all free. Two are on Edwards Street and one is across from the Central Library on State Street. You are correct in saying that on really busy days the lot right by the Welcome Center can fill up!

Our current admission prices are as follows:
Adults: $25
Seniors (60+): $16.50
College Students: $16.50
Youth 3–17: $13
Children Under 3: Free

The prices increased in June 2017.

If you enjoy visiting the Museums and would like to come back multiple times, we highly recommend getting a membership which allows free entry for a whole year plus a whole host of other benefits.

Once again Jack, thank you so much for your very thorough review. We are certain future visitors will find it very helpful!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had no idea this museum was actually 4 museums ! We intended only to see the Dr Seuss one, but ended up walking through all of them, as each had something fun for the kids !

Thank Harte_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hello Harte Family! Thank you so much for visiting and we are glad to hear you had a lovely time! As you mention, we are multiple museums in one location. There are five that are part of our campus: the Amazing World of Dr. Seuss Museum, the Springfield Science Museum, the D'Amour Museum of Fine Arts, the George Walter Vincent Smith Art Museum, and the Wood Museum of Springfield History. One admission price gains you access to all five and there are activities for all ages in each museum. We hope your family is able to visit again soon and discover something new!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I confess: I found the website confusing as to why it could cost $25 to visit The Amazing World of Dr. Seuss Museum in Springfield, MA. As it was described in the newspaper, it wasn't a huge museum--so how could it cost $25?
When I arrived and parked in the free parking lot (always a plus with me) and crossed the street to the main entrance, I still didn't get it. Then the lady explained that the cost gives access to five museums, covering art, history, science, and...well, Dr. Seuss. I was able to take in three of them: Seuss' splendiferous setting along with the Science Museum and the Museum of Fine Arts.
There's something for everyone here, right? In fact, if you're seriously considering a long-term relationship, take your love interest here to see what s/he finds most interesting: there's your compatibility test. But seriously: five museums in one convenient location? It's like New York City, but for one price!
I enjoyed it enough to already be planning my next adventure there; I just didn't have enough time to explore to my satisfaction. Sure, the Dr. Seuss exhibits can be quickly navigated; however, if you're with children, a visit there could conceivably last long enough for you to enter your retirement home upon exiting.
Make sure you take the time to relax in the Dr. Seuss Sculpture Garden--don't miss Yertle the Turtle!

Thank Brianimated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Brian! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Museums! And, thank you for pointing out that we are five museums on one campus (with one price) along with the Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden. We're so glad to learn that you are planning a return trip and we hope you are able to take in the Wood Museum of Springfield History and the George Walter Vincent Smith Art Museum on that trip. As you may have already learned, there is something new to discover every time you visit the Museums. If you thinking one more trip isn't enough, we would highly recommend getting a membership that includes free entry for a year as well as a host of other benefits.

Once again, it's always exciting to hear that someone has enjoyed the Amazing World of Dr. Seuss Museum, the Springfield Science Museum, and the D'Amour Museum of Fine Arts. We can't wait to see you again!

(And yes, there's free parking in our three lots!)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Great museum! Such a wide variety of things to see that everyone is happy! We made a special trip here on the way to Boston. So glad we did!

Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Administrative and Digital Media Associate at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Hi Jennifer! Thanks for making the special stop! We do pride ourselves on being able to offer something for everyone with our wide variety of options: art, history, science, and Dr. Seuss! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed yourselves at the Museums and we hope you are able to visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews