We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected find”

Springfield Museums
Ranked #2 of 41 things to do in Springfield
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The Springfield Museums, located in the heart of downtown Springfield, Massachusetts, is comprised of four world-class museums covering art, history, and science, plus the Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 9 September 2017

We intended only to visit the Dr. Seuss museum, but since we had a few hours to spare decided to visit the art museum. We were in for a surprise. Beautiful museum with great architecture. Interesting exhibits, especially for children. Definitely did not expect to find sure treasures in a small town.
We also visited the history museum to see the Indian Motorcycle exhibit. We also learnt a lot about Springfield's rich industrial history in automotive and aviation.

Date of experience: July 2017
1  Thank BertonU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Digital Media Admin at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi BertonU-- Thank you for the great review. We are often hearing that people who came for Seuss were pleasantly surprised by how much we had to offer and this makes us so happy. We hope you will be back soon to do some further exploring!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"history museum"
in 39 reviews
"museum of fine arts"
in 18 reviews
"seuss sculpture garden"
in 29 reviews
"rolls royce"
in 10 reviews
"antique cars"
in 11 reviews
"something for everyone"
in 23 reviews
"dinosaur exhibit"
in 9 reviews
"dr seuss"
in 30 reviews
"blake house"
in 8 reviews
"american art"
in 7 reviews
"cafe on site"
in 6 reviews
"small cafe"
in 5 reviews
"multiple museums"
in 5 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 6 reviews
"small city"
in 8 reviews
"admission price"
in 6 reviews
"all ages"
in 21 reviews
Filter

73 - 77 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

We LOVE the Springfields Museams. We have done birthday parties, the mom & me class for pre-schoolers, and many special events, The Museams are great for kids and adults of all ages, they always have great standard and special exhibits. The Blake House Cafe is great for lunch, and hate staff is always very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Twoadultsplus3kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Digital Media Admin at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi twoadultsplus3kids--

Thank you for the wonderful review and your continued support of our Museums. We hope the Museums continue to be a part of your family memories.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Fantastic day trip, many different exhibits including Dr Suess. Small cafe offers tasty treats at a fair price for lunch.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank irisc443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Digital Media Admin at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi irisc443-- Thank you for the wonderful review. We hope you will be back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

A great way to learn about history. Fun and interesting facts. Great place for young and old. Hands on and fun.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Lex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Digital Media Admin at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi Lex H-- Glad to hear you had a good time! Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Have visited several times over the years. They have something for all ages and interests. Several to choose from, or do all museums in a full day.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank The-Flying-Circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SpringfieldMuseums, Digital Media Admin at Springfield Museums, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Hi The-Flying-Circus--
Thank you for your continued support of our Museums. We hope you continue to visit and make memories here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Springfield Museums? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing