We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Spectacular mountainside getaway.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Once Upon a Mountain

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luray
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Once Upon a Mountain
Ranked #2 of 14 Luray B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Spectacular mountainside getaway.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Beautiful large rooms and commOn spaces. Christa the owner was delightful and helpful. Gorgeous breakfast. Balcony hammock and hot tub to ensure relaxation. Really felt totally removed and in wilderness, but in very comfortable setting! There is a drive up gravel roads but perfectly navigable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leshehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    15
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
247
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2012

If you find yourself in or near the D.C. area and need to get away from the heat, concrete and car horns. This is the place. Classy, quiet and at the top of a mountain with spectacular views. Two summers ago my husband and I were on our way from Michigan to North Carolina when we stumbled upon this place and decided we had to go back. This B&B is beautiful, the hostess was charming and the attention to detail was superb. We were expecting a simple over-night, extended it to two, enjoyed breakfast in bed and a hot-tub under the stars. Last summer we did it again and I'm writing this because our annual pilgrimage is about to commence. What a nice change from the flat lands of Michigan and the heat of the Eastern Sea-Board in July.

Room Tip: The Princess suite is the place to sleep with it's large, private jacuzzi bath and semi-private...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

Just back from a wonderful weekend at 'Once Upon a Mountain'. This B&B is a gem in the Shenandoah Mountains. The first thing Christa did was offer me a glass of wine to enjoy in the hot tub. What a view! Doesn't get any better than this!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorton, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012

We absolutely loved our stay at Once Upon a Mountain! The home was absolutely lovely, welcoming and very clean. The innkeeper, Christa, was everything in a hostess you would want! We stayed in the "Sleeping Beauty" room. It was perfect. The bedding was wonderful, the towels were so luxurious, and the decor was so homey! We were only able to stay one night - but we used the hot tub 3 times - it was perfect! You can't find a better view in Luray than Once Upon a Mountain. We wanted some place close to hike in Shenandoah and this B&B was perfect. Christa made excellent recommendations for dinner. We hope to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb8167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Two friends and myself spent a weekend here and had the most wonderful time.
the rooms are lovely, the breakfasts delicious,and Christa, the owner made us feel ,
very much at home.
We highly reccomend this B&B and have already made reservations to come here with our husbands
What a beautiful place on the mountain top

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ottoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
7.8 km away
The Mimslyn Inn
The Mimslyn Inn
#1 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
8.5 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.0 km away
BEST WESTERN Intown Luray
7.5 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#4 of 9 in Luray
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
4.4 km away
Skyland
Skyland
#1 of 1 in Shenandoah National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Once Upon a Mountain? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Once Upon a Mountain

Property: Once Upon a Mountain
Address: 974 Cross Mountain Road, Luray, VA 22835
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Luray
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and experience the magic, serenity, and peace of one of Shenandoah Valley's most unique and stylish log house bed and breakfast accommodations. Once Upon a Mountain is luxury without pretension; service without intrusion; and a location offering amenities amidst solitude. Come and enjoy the fairytale magic! Wir sprechen auch deutsch. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing