We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Romantic weekend getaway”
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
Lovely log cabin in the woods near the river
Full-size hot tub
Living room with leather furniture and gas fire
Living room with sofa bed
Brand new fully equipped kitchen
Solid rustic dining room furniture
King size master bed
Master bath vanity
Master bath jacuzzi tub
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
2nd BR with queen and twin beds
Satellite HDTV/DVDs in all rooms
2nd bathroom
2nd bathroom
Stone firepit with unlimited wood provided free
Full free laundry facilities provided
Two canoes and accessories provided
The beautiful Shenandoah River
Lovely grassy riverbank
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Luray, Virginia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah A
1 review
“Romantic weekend getaway”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Overall great place. Great for a weekend for couples or even a family with a couple of kids. Liked all the extras this place had. Had a couple of minor things that didn't work perfectly but the owners said they'd get right on it. The owners were great to work with, got back to us quickly, and returned the security deposit fast. Very short walk to the river which is beautiful as well

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
Sara, thanks for coming out to Bear Timbers, and we're really happy you and your family had a great stay! We will make sure to update the things you mentioned. We're making a sign for that tub stopper so that it's clearer how it works in the future. Hope to see you guys again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bryanledr...
Stafford, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect little get away”
Reviewed 7 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We rented the cabin for the weekend and it was perfect. It had all the amenities we needed and we enjoyed the walks down to the river as well as the proximity to Luray Caverns and Skyline Drive. There are neighbors right next door, but we did not see or hear from them the whole time. The hot tub was a bonus after a long day of walking around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub and gas burning heater in the living room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Bryan, thanks for taking the time leave a review! It really helps our business and we appreciate knowing that you had a great time. Love to have you back any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Mr.”
Reviewed 27 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Phenomenal! This was the perfect getaway! If you don't mind doing things on your own, this place has everything you need. The caverns are 15 minutes away, skyline drive is 20 minutes away. Bottom line, if you are looking for a place to visit away from it all, this is the place. I would go back this weekend if I could.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Oct 2016
Thanks for kind words! Please do come back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
482Steve
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor management with a complete lack over oversight by the owner.”
Reviewed 23 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Bear Timbers for the second weekend in October for one reason, the hot tub on the deck. Realizing the weather at this time of year could be cold and wet we thought we could relax on the deck in the hot tub after hiking or biking.

Pre-arrival communication was good and the GPS in our car took us right to the door. Lock box was where we had been told it would be and the code was correct to get in. Once inside our initial thought was we had made the correct choice. The kitchen was clean and had everything one would require. Some prior reviews had stated that it looked as if it could use a deep cleaning and it appeared as if this had been done.

Our problems started Friday night, it was cool and raining so we went out and turned on the hot tub. The water temp was 76 even though the instruction for your stay say that it is always set at 95. We tried to get in and use it but it never got above 86. There was an error message on the tubs display panel stating that the filters needed to be cleaned and there was a problem with the low flow water system. Being cold from this my wife decided to use the jacuzzi tub in the master bath. Upon filling and turning on the jets we were appalled by the scum that came out! It was truly disgusting. That's when we decided to look closer at the cleaning of the bathrooms. We found urine running down the front of both toilets and the amount of dust, hair and dirt on the top of the shower wall surround looked as if it had never been touched.

It was to late Friday evening to call the management company so we waited until Saturday morning. Our call was answered immediately and we were told that by flipping the breaker for the hot tub the heating problem would correct itself. We tried this and left to tour the area. When we returned that afternoon the tub was still not hot so we called again. The property manager came out quite quickly and after looking at the tub stated there was nothing she could do. She also offered to clean the tub in the master bath, but we declined. What was most troublesome about her visit is she told us that the cleaners had been having problems with the hot tub too, yet nothing was done about it prior to our arrival. She stated she would contact the service person and see if he could come out Sunday.

An electrician did come Sunday morning and tried to troubleshoot the problem, with no success. He found that the motor that circulates the hot water had burned out and needed to be replaced. Of course the motor needed to be ordered and we were out of luck. Frustrated to say the least.

We rent several homes a year throughout the country and in doing so always try to deal with the owner not a property manager. We have found that the owners are much more responsive to problems like the one we had at Bear Timbers. This owner apparently has several of these rentals throughout the area so my advice is renter beware!

Our only communication after the rental was the canned response asking us to write a review so here it is. Had you bothered to contact us and offer us some kind of compensation we would have appreciated it but you chose not to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Oct 2016
This review is the result of a guest who got irritated by the SOLE problem of a hot tub motor going out and it colored her perspective of everything else. This is her lashing out at great cabin/ownership/communication because of a single accident. She was perfectly happy until that happened, everything else was great. As soon as the hot tub motor went out, we responded IMMEDIATELY. Our housekeeper was onsite in minutes. We had a master electrician there on a SUNDAY to diagnose the problem so that it could be fixed during their stay. Try getting that from anyone else. At any rate, a part had to e ordered so they were out of luck. There is nothing we can do in situations like this - nothing whatsoever - except wait for the part to come in. What's funny is that the person immediately after this lady left GLOWING reviews talking about the very same hot tub and things this lady complained about. It's understandable that the hot tub was irritating, but there's no reason to lash out half a dozen other things that are flatly false. "Scum"? Please. And no, for the record, we do not compensate guests so that they'll leave better reviews. Our cabins and history speaks for itself. We don't need to buy off people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aimee J
1 review
“A lovely spot for nature lovers who appreciate peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 21 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

My boyfriend (who actually proposed while vacationing here) and I rented this cabin for our anniversary. While it was in a neighborhood, it was a very quiet neighborhood, so it still had that country quiet feel to it. This is perfect for those of you who love to be outdoors and don't mind the short, scenic walk through the woods to the river for fishing and canoeing, or surprise evening critters (deer, etc.) in your yard. The management staff did a great job keeping us informed of an issue with the hot tub that got fixed right before we were to start our weekend there and the woman who maintains the house came out to look at the fireplace right away for us. (It just needed new batteries) She was very nice and helpful. Great place to get away from city life and it's conveniently located very close to the Shenandoah National Park and Luray Caverns. We would definitely rent from this company again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 185
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing