We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, restful place!”
Review of The Mimslyn Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Mimslyn Inn
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Certificate of Excellence
Spartanburg, South Carolina
1 review
“A wonderful, restful place!”
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We decided to stay at the Mimslyn Inn based on other reviews we read on TripAdvisor. We were not disappointed. The Inn was beautiful, the staff was wonderful, and we can't wait to go back. If you visit, consider doing the wine tasting at the lobby bar. The wine was delicious and the bartender, Crystal, was knowledgeable and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

963 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    569
    265
    80
    32
    17
See reviews for
183
573
26
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I have travelled for well over 10 years for business and have stayed in many high dollar hotels, and the experience we have reserved has been better, the rooms are wonderful, the service is top notch. I can honestly say this is one of my favorite places I have stayed and we most definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bludane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you so much for the kind words – we are thrilled to hear that you consider The Mimslyn Inn one of your favorite places! The staff will happy to hear that you feel their service is top notch. The history and charm of The Mimslyn creates a special feeling that many of our guests enjoy.



We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We recently dined at The Mimslyn Inn. The patio dining venue overlooks the beautiful Shenandoah Valley which provided a breathtaking vista in which to enjoy a good meal accompanied by a fine wine. The service was marked by Southern graciousness and the pace was restful. It is hard to imagine that the traffic of Washington, DC was merely 90 minutes away. This is the perfect getaway for those seeking a respite from the noise and traffic of Northern Virginia.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happytraveller0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. We are so happy that you enjoyed your meal in The Speakeasy – it is very popular with our guests and locals alike! This year we introduced patio dining on our front porch overlooking the beautiful mountains.

In addition to our formal dining experience in Circa '31, we also have wine dinners on Friday and Saturday nights – which have been a big hit this year! I encourage our guests to visit one of the many local wineries, purchase the wine from the winery and then bring the wine back to the Inn and lets us serve you on the front porch or pair the wine with our dinner menu. Our staff is eager to please.

I hope to see you again, soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed here on a groupon coupon for 4 nights. We stayed in a standard room on the second floor. The bed was comfortable and the decorations were acceptable for what the room usually charges per night ($170). The bathroom was small with a pedestal sink with no counter space. The sink itself was not draining and we were disappointed that it wasn't noticed by the housekeeping staff during our 4 night stay (not sure how they clean the sink because had they run the water they would have seen the problem). We also experienced our keys being shut off each evening we returned. It wasn't until the last night that the receptionist told me that we had been given wrong cards. I guess there is a card for multiple night stays and ones for one night stays. :) She apologized for the 3 nights of inconveniences of going up to our room only to have to go back down to the main desk to have the cards re-keyed. On our last night we were tired and wanted to order room service. We tried for over 10 minutes around 7pm to call room service and the front desk but only got the answering machine for both numbers. So we gave up and went down only to find the receptionist behind the front desk... We didn't stop just went out to eat. We usually stay at Marriott's and this hotel doesn't even come close. For our future trips to this area we will certainly avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mddawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My mother used to say that the house was "clean except for the edges," meaning that things were clean, but if you looked in the corners you saw that it wasn't spotless. This characterizes my only complaint about the otherwise lovely and charming Mimslyn Inn.

We spent Labor Day weekend at the Mimsyln Inn, and while the hotel was nearly full, it still felt serene and orderly. The Inn feature several areas where you can tuck away with a book or drink--from the front porch, to hammocks on the back hill to the third floor sun room and deck--and relax in peace and quiet.

Our room, a skyline suite, was lovely and well-appointed. But while the furnishings and layout were comfortable, the room wasn't quite where it should have been housekeeping and maintenance-wise. One of the two sinks in the bathroom was broken--the hot water tap didn't work (in fact, the water had been turned off underneath suggesting that the hotel knew it was an issue, but just hadn't fixed it). The area under the raised bath vanity looked as it if hadn't been swept or mopped in quite a while and there were a few dead bugs on the tile throughout the room. The curtains in the bedroom were stained with a dead bug that had clearly been squashed and left behind a good while back. Bed linens were clean, but not crisp, and felt a bit worn.

The housekeeping issues were not egregious, but left me wishing that the Inn would put just a big more effort into keeping up the rooms. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay, I would return, and I recommend the Mimslyn Inn to those looking for a relaxing weekend in the Luray area.

Room Tip: The Inn offers a 10% discount if you present your AAA card at check-in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear beachgril722,

Thank you for your recent review and your honest feedback. Upon reading your review, the housekeeping and maintenance departments were immediately directed to correct the specific items that you mentioned. In addition, our staff is completing an inspection of all our rooms in order to make sure all of our edges are clean – as your mother would say. The Mimslyn Inn staff is committed to earning the number one spot for the cleanest hotel in the Trip Advisor rankings. With your help we will be able to achieve our goal.

I am happy the rest of your visit was enjoyable and you discovered some of our great relaxation spots around the inn – such as the rockers on the front porch and the sun porch on the third floor. The hammock area that you mentioned is new this year and has turned out to be a big hit with our guests!

Again, we truly appreciate your honest and detailed feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for our future guests. We are very pleased to hear that even though there were a few opportunities for improvement, that overall you enjoyed your stay, would return, and would recommend the Mimslyn Inn to those looking for a relaxing weekend in the Luray area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luray
0.2 km away
Hotel Laurance
Hotel Laurance
#3 of 9 in Luray
40 reviews
2.2 km away
The Cardinal Inn
The Cardinal Inn
#5 of 9 in Luray
131 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Intown Luray
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Days Inn Luray Shenandoah
23.3 km away
Hampton Inn & Suites Woodstock
23.4 km away
Holiday Inn Express Woodstock / Shenandoah Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mimslyn Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mimslyn Inn

Property: The Mimslyn Inn
Address: 401 W Main St, Luray, VA 22835-1024
Region: United States > Virginia > Luray
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Luray
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,527 - ₹ 19,767
Hotel Class:3 star — The Mimslyn Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This refined Georgian Revival inn is only 3 minutes to the Luray Caverns, gardens and museum, and 10.6 miles from the Thornton Gap Entrance of Shenandoah National Park. Each of the 45 rooms has been individually decorated with relaxing color schemes, beautiful fabrics, rich patterns, classic furnishings and modern amenities. Pillow-top bedding provides exceptional comfort. Large windows with natural light illuminate most rooms, allowing the vivid landscape of the outdoors to be seen. In addition to a fine-dining restaurant, Circa '31 and meeting facilities, the inn has a fitness center, a spa and an art deco-inspired cocktail bar known as The Speakeasy. There are also gardens, a gift shop and an art gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Mimslyn Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Hotel Luray
Mimslyn Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing