We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Mimslyn Inn
Nearby Hotels
US$ 92
US$ 80
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Laurance(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$ 215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Budget Inn(Luray)
US$ 88
US$ 77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Woodruff House Bed & Breakfast(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$ 164
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Inn of the Shenandoah(Luray)(Great Value!)
US$ 150
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Skyland(Shenandoah National Park)
US$ 181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$ 53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,047)
Filter reviews
1,047 results
Traveller rating
616
289
91
34
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
616
289
91
34
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspeakeasy restaurantfront porchhistoric hotelthird floorblue ridge suitepool and hot tublobby barspeak easysouthern charmmy husband and iskyline drivethe cottagesshenandoah valleyrocking chairsone night stayking bedsitting area
Filter
Updating list...
718 - 723 of 1,047 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I have travelled for well over 10 years for business and have stayed in many high dollar hotels, and the experience we have reserved has been better, the rooms are wonderful, the service is top notch. I can honestly say this is one of my favorite places I have stayed and we most definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bludane23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thank you so much for the kind words – we are thrilled to hear that you consider The Mimslyn Inn one of your favorite places! The staff will happy to hear that you feel their service is top notch. The history and charm of The Mimslyn creates a special feeling that many of our guests enjoy.



We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We recently dined at The Mimslyn Inn. The patio dining venue overlooks the beautiful Shenandoah Valley which provided a breathtaking vista in which to enjoy a good meal accompanied by a fine wine. The service was marked by Southern graciousness and the pace was restful. It is hard to imagine that the traffic of Washington, DC was merely 90 minutes away. This is the perfect getaway for those seeking a respite from the noise and traffic of Northern Virginia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller0617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. We are so happy that you enjoyed your meal in The Speakeasy – it is very popular with our guests and locals alike! This year we introduced patio dining on our front porch overlooking the beautiful mountains.

In addition to our formal dining experience in Circa '31, we also have wine dinners on Friday and Saturday nights – which have been a big hit this year! I encourage our guests to visit one of the many local wineries, purchase the wine from the winery and then bring the wine back to the Inn and lets us serve you on the front porch or pair the wine with our dinner menu. Our staff is eager to please.

I hope to see you again, soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We stayed here on a groupon coupon for 4 nights. We stayed in a standard room on the second floor. The bed was comfortable and the decorations were acceptable for what the room usually charges per night ($170). The bathroom was small with a pedestal sink with no counter space. The sink itself was not draining and we were disappointed that it wasn't noticed by the housekeeping staff during our 4 night stay (not sure how they clean the sink because had they run the water they would have seen the problem). We also experienced our keys being shut off each evening we returned. It wasn't until the last night that the receptionist told me that we had been given wrong cards. I guess there is a card for multiple night stays and ones for one night stays. :) She apologized for the 3 nights of inconveniences of going up to our room only to have to go back down to the main desk to have the cards re-keyed. On our last night we were tired and wanted to order room service. We tried for over 10 minutes around 7pm to call room service and the front desk but only got the answering machine for both numbers. So we gave up and went down only to find the receptionist behind the front desk... We didn't stop just went out to eat. We usually stay at Marriott's and this hotel doesn't even come close. For our future trips to this area we will certainly avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mddawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

My mother used to say that the house was "clean except for the edges," meaning that things were clean, but if you looked in the corners you saw that it wasn't spotless. This characterizes my only complaint about the otherwise lovely and charming Mimslyn Inn.

We spent Labor Day weekend at the Mimsyln Inn, and while the hotel was nearly full, it still felt serene and orderly. The Inn feature several areas where you can tuck away with a book or drink--from the front porch, to hammocks on the back hill to the third floor sun room and deck--and relax in peace and quiet.

Our room, a skyline suite, was lovely and well-appointed. But while the furnishings and layout were comfortable, the room wasn't quite where it should have been housekeeping and maintenance-wise. One of the two sinks in the bathroom was broken--the hot water tap didn't work (in fact, the water had been turned off underneath suggesting that the hotel knew it was an issue, but just hadn't fixed it). The area under the raised bath vanity looked as it if hadn't been swept or mopped in quite a while and there were a few dead bugs on the tile throughout the room. The curtains in the bedroom were stained with a dead bug that had clearly been squashed and left behind a good while back. Bed linens were clean, but not crisp, and felt a bit worn.

The housekeeping issues were not egregious, but left me wishing that the Inn would put just a big more effort into keeping up the rooms. Regardless, we enjoyed our stay, I would return, and I recommend the Mimslyn Inn to those looking for a relaxing weekend in the Luray area.

Room Tip: The Inn offers a 10% discount if you present your AAA card at check-in.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jimsims, General Manager at The Mimslyn Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2012

Dear beachgril722,

Thank you for your recent review and your honest feedback. Upon reading your review, the housekeeping and maintenance departments were immediately directed to correct the specific items that you mentioned. In addition, our staff is completing an inspection of all our rooms in order to make sure all of our edges are clean – as your mother would say. The Mimslyn Inn staff is committed to earning the number one spot for the cleanest hotel in the Trip Advisor rankings. With your help we will be able to achieve our goal.

I am happy the rest of your visit was enjoyable and you discovered some of our great relaxation spots around the inn – such as the rockers on the front porch and the sun porch on the third floor. The hammock area that you mentioned is new this year and has turned out to be a big hit with our guests!

Again, we truly appreciate your honest and detailed feedback as this helps us to improve the experience for our future guests. We are very pleased to hear that even though there were a few opportunities for improvement, that overall you enjoyed your stay, would return, and would recommend the Mimslyn Inn to those looking for a relaxing weekend in the Luray area

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our family of four visited Luray Caverns and the surrounding area and were very pleased with our stay at The Mimslyn Inn in Luray. The Skyline suite was spacious and the service in the restaurants was excellent...Lunch on the porch, a casual dinner in the Speakeasy Lounge and a wonderful Brunch on Sunday morning in Circa. The outdoor pool was refreshing as well. Thanks to everyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uvalaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews