We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like I'm a kid again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Virginia
Level Contributor
438 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Like I'm a kid again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

This place is out of the 60's or maybe early 70's. The kids today would call it "retro". Very cool. Very nice. Clean - great location and the price is pleasantly shocking - especially considering it's at the base of the entry to Sequoia Nat'l Park. Gorgeous here - chilling on the front porch along with most of the other guests in this maybe 20 room motel. Don't know what brekkie is like yet - but who cares? Room's are quaint as many of the readers won't believe, just really a cool place. So glad we got a room here. Can't say enough about it - when your front door is a sliding glass door, well, you know you've struck gold. Wife may not leave the motel - just so nice to sit outside here. The desk clerk was very friendly and walked us to our room. And - wireless out here on the porch? Could stay here a day to unwind.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tasmandevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    87
    74
    50
    39
See reviews for
89
127
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collierville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
105 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Great rate and very helpful staff. Ten minutes from the south entrance to Sequoia NP. Old facility, but no problems here. Room D is very spacious for the $69 rate. No prison here. :)

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goldvsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visalia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

I stopped at this hotel about 2 weeks ago, just needing a room for 1 night. I got there about 1:40pm and the front door was locked with a note saying be back in 5 mins. About 12 mins later the woman who opened the door was extremly rude. I asked if they open or not because the door had been locked for a while. Instead of apologizing, she acted like I was in the wrong for wanting to check in before 2pm. All I could think of was, wow, I wonder how many people get treated like this. Needless to say, I didn't stay there on that day.

Room Tip: never got a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eric s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

This was the perfect spot for our family of four. The huge "bridal suite 3" was two levels, two bedrooms a full kitchen, dinning room and living room. It was a bit run-down, but no one comes to Three Rivers to spend time in a hotel room so who cares. The staff was nice. Breakfast wasn't really very good though -- just packets of oatmeal or super sugary Danishes. Considering the location and amenities, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goandgoandgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

On day 4 of our trip to California, we went up to Three Rivers to stay in the Sierra Lodge, where we had booked for two nights so that we could explore the Sequoi Park nearby.

We made all our bookings after reading Tripadvisor. Sierra was not our first choice and we had some misgivings about some of the comments we had read about the place, but we wanted to experience the park and so we booked up.

This is the worst establishment calling itself a hotel I have stayed in anywhere in the world.

The room we had was Room A, which, along with Room B, is accessible via an external set of metal stairs. Room A is a virtually triangular-shaped room. The only extensive window is the glass door itself, which for privacy’s sake, you are obliged to pull the blinds on.

The air conditioning, which you will definitely need to get some sleep, is very noisy , which militates against sleep. This is the only “hotel” in the world in which I have slept where the room is so tight that one side of the bed is up against the wall, causing me to have to slide down the bed to go to the loo in the night –my wife took the side with side access.

The décor was tired and very dowdy. A pair of dusty old shorts had been left under cobwebs on a cupboard, testimony to the absence of thorough cleaning. It was dull and depressing – a windowless cell to escape from rather than a room with a view to enjoy.

Breakfast, in the reception area, was a help yourself – if you can – affair. There was hazelnut coffee, two small Danish, 6 slices of orange and sundry packets of oats to mix up yourself with water. We took the two Danish and some coffee. We then left quite disgusted with the breakfast offering. A Japanese couple came in after us. What did they make of the orange slice breakfast? All the while, a lady sat at reception, never once looking over, unconcerned and self-absorbed with her computer screen.

We were pleased with the park and had found a decent place to eat in the evening and so put up with the prison for one more night. At to the price of the room, contrary to California regulations, the room price was not displayed in the “room”.

As we had booked and paid from the UK, m y wife enquired as to the price and we were shocked to be told that it cost in dollars what we had been charged in pounds. We enquired again of another person as to the price only to receive the same information.

Furthermore, given what we paid elsewhere in the US for very excellent accommodation, we could not believe the charge being made for this wretched excuse for a hotel room, let alone what we had had to pay for it in the UK.

It may well be that other rooms in this hotel are a lot better, they certainly could not be worse.

However, if you are reading this on Tripadvisor, please heed the warning – YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone at all and would condemn Room A.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christa90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Three Rivers hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
6.6 km away
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
26.5 km away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
20.7 km away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
32.4 km away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
29.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
4.3 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Property: Sierra Lodge
Address: 43175 Sierra Dr, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9706
Region: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,846 - ₹ 14,841
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing