We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Santa Fe jewel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #5 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A Santa Fe jewel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

What a great experience from check-in to check-out, and everything in between! La Fonda is not new and flashy, but that's part of its charm. It's quirky, authentic, and beautiful - every nook and cranny of the facility has a nugget of novelty and history to enjoy and ponder. The food at the restaurant is excellent, the bar scene fun (great cowboy music and dancing!), well linformed and helpful concierge and front desk staff, and of course, the location is exceptional. There are other more luxurious hotels in Santa Fe, but if you want a real Southwest experience, don't miss La Fonda.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,447
    465
    110
    48
    38
See reviews for
349
956
89
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

This hotel was amazingly comfortable and just what me and my daughters needed for a little weekend get-away!!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful!! The room service was fast and delicious!! And of course we loved the heated swimming pool! I love the hours that the pool opened and closed.. very convient for us!! The beds were so comfty for us.. we didnt want to leave them! We will def. be taking another trip to this hotel! Also I've been recommending it to my friends and family! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delilah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Very much enjoyed the historic feel of this hotel. We had a wonderful room overlooking the church next door. The bells just added to the Santa Fe experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Beautiful property, stunning location, lots of history, good restaurant. If you are going to stay at property book The Terrace Rooms. Honestly wouldn't want to stay in other part of hotel--needs updating badly for the prices they are charging. That said, we were given a room that overlooked the Bacilica and had a patio overlooking a much larger patio. Wonderful unitl the Party started then it was not Awesome to have a party outside your glass doors at 9pm at night then 10pm four on the floor bass pulsating so loud the front desk had hard time hearing me ask for the party to end. Long story short--Mgr on duty offered us new room/quieter across a couple halls in the Terrace we said yes--pushing 11pm -moved over there only to have the bathroom start to flood because of leaking faucet. Past 11pm-wet socks and all offered another room all the way across the entire hotel-we declined packing up again and resigned to wait out the party. We couldn't get to sleep till the early morning hours. Wow--husband flew all night we drove all day to get to Santa Fe and forked out $$$$ to stay in nice accomodations--we were spent along with our hard earned money-bummer. Next night was quiet and we took a nice walking tour from the guide downstairs in the lobby. So we didn't let it spoil our good times we were just really wiped out for a couple days from lack of sleep. Mgr took a $100 off the bill--any other 4Star Hotel would have comped a night like that nightmare in order to spare reading a review like this--but they seemed to be resigned to having people complain about that room and the parties. Time to fix that--that is bad hospitality-period. Beautiful property will keep by eyes on reviews to see if improves.

Room Tip: only the terrace rooms I would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank napajoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
While I was sorry to learn about the unpleasant evening that you endured on the Terrace, I was happy to discover that you and your husband managed to enjoy the rest of your stay at La Fonda on the Plaza. I apologize for the excessive noise that disrupted your relaxing get-a-away, and the added frustration of the leaking faucet in the alternate accommodations that we provided. I understand the value of a hard-earned dollar, and I’m sorry that you feel that you were not adequately compensated for the frustrating circumstances surrounding your stay. We truly appreciate your business and hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Wonderful location on the square, allows walking to most museums,art galleries, stores
and a variety of wonderful restaurants. Rooms are large and attractive and hotel has a good
bar with country western music with dancing, and a large restaurant with fabulous southwest
food. The concierge is most knowledgeable about all areas of interest in the area and is most
helpful in arranging reservations. The hotel is a historic landmark in the development of Santa Fe.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
I’m glad that you enjoyed your stay at La Fonda on the Plaza. Our historic location on the Plaza offers an ideal base to discover the “City Different.” With an award-winning restaurant, rooftop bar, and live entertainment on the property, one need not venture far to experience some of the best Santa Fe has to offer! Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,519 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,900 - ₹ 29,755
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing