We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost a biosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Fonda on the Plaza

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Ophir, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Almost a biosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is a very well-run and well-located hotel. However, it does have a bit of a Las Vegas ambiance (albeit a pretty elegant one) in that it is literally never necessary to leave the property. You can dine in any of a number of facilities (the Plazuela wonderful), shop for most necessities, explore galleries etc. without ever going outside. The rooms on the upper floors are quieter.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Icehose1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
It’s so true! You can experience the best of Santa Fe without ever leaving our doors! La Fonda on the Plaza is home to authentic New Mexican cuisine at our restaurant, LaPlazuela; galleries, boutiques, and some of the best rooftop sunsets and margaritas in town. I’m glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the many facets of our hotel. Thank you for your business, and I look forward to welcoming you back to the “La Fonda Biosphere!”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,417
    457
    109
    47
    38
See reviews for
342
939
89
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring md
Level Contributor
211 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

The location is great-- just steps away from the old plaza. Our room was very nice with a king bed, TV, coffee maker, refrigerator, Internet access, and a separate sitting area with sofa and desk. Loved the Southwest motif and view from the large window overlooking shops near the plaza. My only complaint about the room was the uneven floor which tripped me up several times. The staff was friendly and efficient. The ground floor of the hotel included a restaurant, bar/dining area, a pastry shop, and several gift shops. There was a nice pool and spa area. A parking garage is connected to the property and there was a $12 per day charge. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yodab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

I drove down to Santa Fe from Denver with my Mom for a job interview at the Health Department, but we also decided to make a mini vacation out of the trip. Based on research and previous reviews, we chose La Fonda as our hotel. The staff was so welcoming and accomodating. We had an older couple next door that kept coughing and coughing, so we finally asked if we could switch our room (something we've never done!) at 10:30 pm since I had my interview the following morning. Dennis made it so easy and gave us an incredible - and quiet! - room on the terrace along with complementary breakfast. This is a perfect example of excellent customer service!

The hotel itself is beautiful and charming - I love all the attention to detail with the painted glass, walls, etc. We also had dinner & breakfast at La Plazuela - every meal was fantastic! And of course, as the name suggests, the location could not be any more ideal. The plaza is across the street, and limitless shops, cafes, restaurants, and historical sights are absolutely within walking distance. We will not hesitate to stay at La Fonda the next time we find ourselves in Santa Fe!

Room Tip: The Terrace rooms are incredible - very quiet, spacious, and luxurious! You'll even have your ow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KatharineAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LaFondaManager, General Manager at La Fonda on the Plaza, responded to this review, 4 May 2012
I’m so happy that your mini vacation to Santa Fe landed you and your mother at La Fonda on the Plaza! I was sorry, however, to learn that you had to change accommodations so late in the evening, but glad that the swap was completed efficiently, and that Dennis provided quiet and comfortable accommodations on the Terrace. I hope that your interview was a success, and that we will be seeing more of you and your family here at La Fonda. Best of luck!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N/A
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

3 pals spent 3 nites at la fonda in a deluxe room with 2 double beds and a sleep sofa. we loved it all.. our room the staff the friehndliness the music at bar , resvations til check out.. we had not one complaint..oops bar food was small and disappointing but meals in dining room were GREAT!

Room Tip: only stayed in one room so i cant tell about the others..ours on 4th floor was perfect melissa at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susanrose2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel stands majesicly on the plaza and since it's founding has been the destination hotel in Santa Fe. The lobby is full of history and the spirit of the Southwest. The paintings are worth studing as they tell a story. I like the bar at night when there is country wester music and the locals are kicking uop a two step. This is fun and the drinks are good. The restaurant has been a continual disappointment but the french cafe and crepe restaurant which is accessible from the lobby is good. When I stayed at the hotel the consierges were fabulous and full of good leads. But the front desk was full of rules and less than helpful or welcoming. Just try to get a 1/2 hour extension on check out time or a better room that will hold two friends traveling together who wanted two beds. No... Some rooms are nice but most are small and shabby. The hotel needs upgrading with sensitivity as the painted headboards are sweet. The location is good and there is adequate parking

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are better I once liked a larger room in a sort of tower area looking south
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,077 reviews
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
Hotel Santa Fe
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,701 - ₹ 29,331
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing