We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved everything about la fonda including its age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Fonda on the Plaza
Ranked #6 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
N/A
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“loved everything about la fonda including its age”
Reviewed 21 April 2012

3 pals spent 3 nites at la fonda in a deluxe room with 2 double beds and a sleep sofa. we loved it all.. our room the staff the friehndliness the music at bar , resvations til check out.. we had not one complaint..oops bar food was small and disappointing but meals in dining room were GREAT!

Room Tip: only stayed in one room so i cant tell about the others..ours on 4th floor was perfect melissa at r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanrose2374
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,558
    484
    116
    49
    40
See reviews for
382
1,024
95
351
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (589)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

The hotel stands majesicly on the plaza and since it's founding has been the destination hotel in Santa Fe. The lobby is full of history and the spirit of the Southwest. The paintings are worth studing as they tell a story. I like the bar at night when there is country wester music and the locals are kicking uop a two step. This is fun and the drinks are good. The restaurant has been a continual disappointment but the french cafe and crepe restaurant which is accessible from the lobby is good. When I stayed at the hotel the consierges were fabulous and full of good leads. But the front desk was full of rules and less than helpful or welcoming. Just try to get a 1/2 hour extension on check out time or a better room that will hold two friends traveling together who wanted two beds. No... Some rooms are nice but most are small and shabby. The hotel needs upgrading with sensitivity as the painted headboards are sweet. The location is good and there is adequate parking

Room Tip: The bigger rooms are better I once liked a larger room in a sort of tower area looking south
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ECAMERONSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridel, Luxembourg
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed here for a night. Has a great location in the heart of the historic district. Rooms were clean, although a bit small. Comfy beds. Nice pool area with a whirlpool as well as a fitness room. We had a pleasant stay. The only negative point would be the extremely pricey shop inside the hotel to get some coke/water or cigarettes. The rooftop bar at sunset is a must! The staff there was extremely nice and welcoming and their Margaritas really rocked! The french pastries café was great too, we had awesome french croissants (authentic ones as the boss is a frenchman). Would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pierchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Six nights in room 702, The Terrace, with a marvelous staff, wonderful old charming structure, and good food. We have decided on La Fonda as our favorite hotel. Santa Fe is a good spot for a holiday, but staying in La Fonda made it incredibly delightful. Can you tell we thoroughly enjoyed our stay? The building itself, painted and carved and decorated beautifully, is not to be missed - and our area (which is newer, admittedly, than parts of the hotel) was clean and well appointed. Every staff person we encountered greeted us with a smile and welcoming words. Most especially, Maryann Ruiz, our concierge, made us feel like we were visiting in a private home, with a friendly, and knowledgeable, hostess. All the staff in the dining room were very pleasant, as well as efficient. It's a wonderful place - if we return to Santa Fe, it will be heavily influenced by our desire to return to the La Fonda.

Room Tip: Take a look at The Terrace, with its spacious rooms - prices vary considerably throughout the year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OregonWoodduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
socal
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this wonderful property right on the Plaza in Santa Fe. We had a deluxe room which was large with a nice sitting area and bathroom. Although the hotel is historic it has all of the comforts one would expect at a 5 star hotel. The restaurants are also wonderful so be sure to make a reservation if you want to have dinner in the main dining room. The Terrace Cafe has a great southwest buffet for lunch and good entertainment in the evening. The staff provides wonderful service including Brenda at the front desk. Can't wait to return! The only downside was the wifi connection in the rooms can be sporadic because of the thick adobe walls. Be sure to have a drink at the bar on the roof and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,296 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn of the Five Graces
#1 of 60 in Santa Fe
600 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,605 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Fonda on the Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Fonda on the Plaza

Property: La Fonda on the Plaza
Address: 100 E San Francisco St., Santa Fe, NM 87501-2110
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#3 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#4 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#5 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,866 - ₹ 30,620
Hotel Class:4 star — La Fonda on the Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic La Fonda on the Plaza has been described as "the essence of the city's exuberant soul." Each guest room and suite is unique, with hand-carved and hand-painted furnishings, fitted with luxurious pillow-top Sealy Posturepedic Comfort System Dynasty beds and Anichini linens. Amenities include no resort fee, Wi-Fi, fitness center, outdoor pool and hot tub, spa services. Upgrades such as spacious sitting areas, cozy fireplaces, separate living and sleeping areas, and balconies are available throughout the hotel. The Terrace private concierge level offers 15 exclusive, luxury-level rooms and suites built around a rooftop terrace with stunning views of Santa Fe. La Plazuela restaurant is famous for it's award-winning cuisine and 400 hand-painted windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your La Fonda on the Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Fonda On The Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
La Fonda Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing