We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Avoid Until the Construction Is Completed” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Ranked #19 of 61 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Avoid Until the Construction Is Completed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Ugh. We recently stayed at the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza, selecting it in part based on good reviews and its location. The experience would have been fine, had it not been for the massive construction project going on at the hotel when we arrived. There was no indication on the web site that construction was ongoing, or that it would mean several amenities -- including the year-round pool, hot tub and outdoor fire place would be unavailable -- much less that there would be enough dust outside our room to set off the fire alarm. It took several calls to the front desk to get the hotel to simply seal off the construction doors less than 10 feet from our assigned hotel room, despite the obvious hazard. Frankly, I'm not even sure why they would have booked guests into rooms so close to the construction area. The hotel did finally allow us to move to an identical room further from the dust cloud, but needless to say it was not the visit we expected.

Room Tip: Ask to be placed as far from the construction dust as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank washingtondcgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    449
    199
    83
    47
See reviews for
272
564
94
282
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2012

Room was relatively big in size to spread around all the ski clothes and bags, Big TV in the room. Lobby is very good with a fireplace that was always running. Reception staff are very helpful. Hotel is very close to all attractions in city and close to plaza. Morning breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parnassus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, SC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

This hotel is within walking distance of most of the historic areas in Santa Fe and also many restaurants. We had good breakfasts every morning while we were there and enjoyed sitting in front of the fireplace relaxing with the mulled cider which was available in the late afternoons

Room Tip: We were on the lower level with direct access to the pool, even tho it was not open when we were the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bribie Island, Australia
Level Contributor
291 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We've stayed here a few times - over the past 10 years. Well positioned and quite safe. Easy for driving and walking about the town A block or so from the markets. Close to top restaurants. BUT - watch which room they try to give you. Top Floor is best - basement - lower floor - is not. So book and get a room upstairs. The difference is remarkable.

We had one - upstairs - with a lovely view down the main area - but we had to "fight" with the desk to get it. Plenty of rooms available - they just couldn't be bothered changing us. All the usual excuses - but when we sat in the foyer - with bags - and said we'd wait, a room in a great spot materialised immediately. Why do you have to get angry to get what you pay for ?

We are very good members of the Hilton's "Club" and still had to argue. As I said - plenty of rooms were available. The chap we were dealing with just decided he'd chosen our room and that was that. WELL - it wasn't !!!

We found a few on the front desk a bit "crabby", While some were perfect. It always amazes me that some people in this industry don't understand they owe their job to tourists/visitors - and in getting them back !

Still - the Hotel is lovely - good pool and restaurant (excellent staff) - try to get brekkie thrown in. An easy walk to the shops and for the early morning walker - like me. BUT - remember the altitude. Take water - stay hydrated - and take it easy to start. A gr8 little hotel bar - but you need to look for it.

The locals sell trinkets etc and my phone holder (leather) is still a prized possesion of mine. A gr8 restaurant just behind the Hotel - Mexican. 2 minute walk. Lovely guitar player and food.

Also close to other places worth a look.

All in all a good spot to stay and Santa Fe's a lovely spot to visit.

Room Tip: Book your room - upstairs - before arriving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank MichaelandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

We travel all year, we travel all over, we almost exclusively use Hilton properties and for the most part, that usually guarantees us pretty decent digs. This is not the case with the Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza.
The only thing this hotel has going for it is the location. The check-in was 3 hours because they were full the night before, once there one night I can see why. All the maids seemed to congregate in the room next to mine for a little party of sorts the next day for two hours.
Everyone likes a nice roaring fire place in the lobby when they walk in? But not when it vents directly into your room! My room had so much smoke that night when I came in from dinner I had to open the balcony door to get it to draw it out. It was 25*, so my room never got above 60 with the door cracked, which was ok, because at 11pm an extremely rude and very English challenged security guard beat on my door, after quizzing him as to what he needed I opened the door, he explained he saw that my balcony door was open (yes he was looking in balcony windows) and he needed to come in and check and see if I was smoking (well just lmao). I explained the door was open because of the pinion fire wood smoke and he could have called, he then demanded to come in. I closed the door and said I would call the police if he came back. I then called the front desk and told them the story and that they needed to place a do not disturb sign on my door (which was not in my room), she said she couldn't, she was the only one there, I told her to get mr rent a cop to....it took over 2 days to get a do not disturb sign. My overcoat, my flight jacket and all hanging clothes including unworn ones had to be dry cleaned when I got home, they smelled like I had been to a bond fine and even after 2 days of hanging in the garage, they still stunk.
The hotel bar, except for the bar tender was just as bad. Luckily it wasn't busy. Went for a before dinner cocktail and was greeted with a screaming crying baby IN THE BAR, not only that, they had the baby, actually bouncing the raw baby diaper on the bar itself and the woman had the audacity to lean over to another patron and ask them to quiet down while watching a game and voiced his opinion on a call. Then another family comes in with strollers and decides they need a chair I had waiting on my colleauge. I had to tell the bartender they were making a scene because I would not give up the chair.
What all this writing is about is but one thing. The complete lack of any type of management in the property whatsoever. Whoever is there clearly does not give a flip about their patrons. And the employees are left to do whatever they want to.
I would stay across the street next time. Really, it was that bad.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the lobby as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jetjouster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#5 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,964 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,965 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#11 of 61 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza

Property: Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Address: 100 Sandoval St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#15 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#17 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,507 - ₹ 17,919
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 blocks from the famous Historic Plaza, the Hilton is one of the best hotels in downtown Santa Fe. Not many hotels near Santa Fe, NM can compete with our excellent service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza Hotel Santa Fe
Hilton Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing