We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice if you're on a budget”
Review of Santa Fe Sage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Santa Fe Sage Inn
Ranked #29 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Michigan
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good choice if you're on a budget”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

The room was nicely furnished with a king bed, TV, wi-fi, etc.--no obvious signs of wear to our room or furnishings. Not far from downtown and Canyon Rd. art galleries--and as a bonus, the Sage Inn offers a free hourly shuttle to the downtown Plaza for those who want to avoid the hassle of driving and parking while visiting shops and art galleries downtown. Whole Foods Market is right next door to the Sage Inn so you can walk over to get breakfast, lunch or dinner. There is also a free breakfast provided. The pool is small, but you could cool off if you are so inclined. Not bad for a hundred bucks in what can be an expensive town.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    535
    227
    89
    40
See reviews for
274
499
123
98
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights February 2012. Had read reviews on TA so we knew what to expect. This place exceeded our expectations in terms of price and location. When we called for reservations, price was approximately $75. I had checked the website and found a special for approximately $45! (Important lesson I learned-always check the website for specials in case the reservation agents does not mention it). Incredible price for 4 nights and free breakfast.
The location was great. Whole Foods was next door (and opens early in the morning); There's a park across the street; walking distance to Railroad District and Downtown. Never took the shuttle as we like to walk.
Room was basic and clean. Was surprised by thickness of towels.
Desk Staff was helpful when we were unsure where to spend a day hiking (without running into snow since we had little experience driving in snow and it was February!). He suggested Bandelier National Monument in Los Alamos and it was the best part of our trip.
One negative-TV in the room had poor reception. TV in Breakfast room had better reception.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babalam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here in June 2012 and I recommend it as a good budget hotel - it's got a the basics that you need, simple rooms, good location, and friendly staff. Rooms are basic, that means nothing fancy, but clean and quiet. Breakfast is ample, and there's a Whole Foods right next door. It was nice coming back to the hotel, waling over to WF, picking up exactly what we wanted to eat, and eating a good meal without spending a fortune. Location is very convenient to downtown. We didn't take the shuttle, but they have one that runs quite often. We stayed here last year too, I recommended it last year and I still recommend it this year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToucanSam787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Bay, CA
Level Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Context: we had two rooms, one king and one with two queens for two nights, a Monday and Tuesday. 
Location: motel is located at the intersection of Guadalupe and Cerritos st, two busy streets, but most of the hotel is back away from the street traffic. We had no street noise in the back corner. Whole foods is right next door, but no fast food except for hot dogs a couple of blocks away. Across cerillos is a wonderful parks tha spans several blocks and gives access to a trail that heads south towards downtown and lets you avoid the busier streets as you make your way downtown. The plaza is a bit less than a mile walk.
Amenities: despite it's price point and it's lack of luxury, the motel has many amenities. There is a free shuttle taking visitors downtown on the hour until 7pm. There is a small pool, heated, and a laundromat on site. Wifi is available, but only in the lobby for iPads and iPhones. Continental  breakfast is all self serve with lots of variety. There are four kinds of cereal, three types of muffins, frozen waffles, english muffins and bagels, juices and Lipton tea. There is a small, comfortable lobby and a few outside table set in a little garden. The lobby also sells a small selection of snacks and drinks.
Service: the desk staff are very friendly and helpful. If you have a problem ask them for help. They were very responsive. Breakfast staff was also helpful. Clearly customer satisfaction is a major priority to the extent that is possible.
Lodging: this is a budget lodging and as such it delivers. I will list some of its shortcomings but for the most part at this price point these shortcomings were not a problem.  Sheets seemed a bit tired and worn. All towels were dirty, I just hoped they were stains and not unclean. They smelled clean. There are some places that paint is peeling and while the counter tops are new, the cabinets underneath are quite dated. Bathrooms are tiny, tiny with outside sinks. Old  tvs. Tub drained slowly.
Now for the good things about the rooms: mattresses were comfortable and firm, pillows seemed relatively fresh, shower curtain was on one of those half circle rods so it never brushes against you when you shower. Rooms are decorated differently with lively colors. Air condition was great, cold and consistent without those periods of freezing followed by too warm. Curtains are lined for darkness but weren't terrific at closing fully so some light gets in.

Room Tip: The back corner has no street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luluEastBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NM
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

It is time! This property needs to start spending some dinero. Needs new carpet, linens, tvs and mattresses. Very accommodating staff and great rates.... but. Don't let the free breakfast sway you. I would like it if they would stop serving breakfast and put the money into room renovation. Santa Fe is a foodie town and searching out the perfect SF breakfast is what it is all about.

Room Tip: There is a great park for dogs on the south side of the property. Please clean up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank altitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danielle211, Director of Guest Services at Santa Fe Sage Inn, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We really appreciate your valuable input. I would like to let you know that we have started to make necessary improvements to the hotel as a whole and that we should have new TV's in the rooms in the coming year. We hope that you will return to the Santa Fe Sage Inn and allow us to make up for any inconvenience during your most recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
2.8 km away
El Rey Inn
El Rey Inn
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
763 reviews
0.9 km away
Old Santa Fe Inn
Old Santa Fe Inn
#10 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,559 reviews
6.5 km away
Best Western Plus Inn of Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#14 of 60 in Santa Fe
832 reviews
10.6 km away
Inn At Santa Fe
Inn At Santa Fe
#32 of 60 in Santa Fe
598 reviews
3.9 km away
The Santa Fe Suites
The Santa Fe Suites
#48 of 60 in Santa Fe
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe Sage Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe Sage Inn

Property: Santa Fe Sage Inn
Address: 725 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,534 - ₹ 10,545
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Fe Sage Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Santa Fe Sage Inn is an excellent choice for affordable lodging in downtown Santa Fe. The hotel offers 145 attractive, comfortable rooms with free amenities including a "Healthy Start" breakfast, exercise facility, guest laundry, wireless high-speed internet and downtown shuttle services. The Santa Fe Sage Inn is located only six blocks from the historic plaza and across the street from the Railyard Park dining and shopping district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Santa Fe Sage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Fe Sage Hotel Santa Fe
Sage Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing