We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Hotel, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Clean, comfortable, with great location blocks from the Plaza, but seemed more like a motel than a hotel. We were on the third floor and had to maneuver our bags past numerous men/ladders working on the property. The breakfast was very good, staff very nice and helpful, Had a later dinner in the hotel restaurant - edible, but wouldn't recommend - judging by the loud, inebriated customers, seems more like a party hangout. I'd give this property a 'good' rating if it was an option, but can't call it very good.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank LauraBSpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,625)
There are newer reviews for Inn of the Governors
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,021 - 1,025 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2012

Clean hotel with friendly staff. Room was clean with comfortable bed and nice decor, but no windows which made it dark. I think this section was a motel at one time and then attached to main building. Breakfast was good, as was the meal we ate in the patio our first night.
Front desk helpful in making dinner reservations at various restaurants and giving directions.
Parking convenient also.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room..some face the street and others the pool which might be noisy.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel has wonderful southwest decor and is close to the Plaza, so that you can walk around everywhere, although sometimes the altitude can make that an interesting experience. The hotel room was great, we had a comfortable king bed, a two seater lounge, a kiva fireplace and a very good bathroom. There was also reasonable amount of storage in the room, with a big wardrobe too. We had booked online so received a $25 credit that could be used in Del Charro for food or drinks. Del Charro do great margaritas and very good food which is reasonably priced, so it was a real bonus. The hotel also has an excellent buffet breakfast included in the price, and they also serve sherry and tea in the afternoon in the lobby which was well patronised. The hotel also includes free parking - and we had no trouble getting a park there at any time - there are plenty of parking spaces located around the hotel. It is a nice walk - about two blocks up to the Plaza with lots of shops and restaurants on the way there (and back). A trolley tour stops off to pick up people up at the hotel, and this is a good tour to give you an oversight of the history and various places to see including Canyon Road. All in all, a good place to stay in Santa Fe if you want to be close to the Plaza.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

overall the best hotel i have stayed in . i had called the hotel direct and was very clear what kind of room i wanted .check in came and it was not any where that i requested . i let them know how i felt ,a different room was given .it was suppose a free up grade , but still not a good location . went back down again explain my feelings and that i was going to let trip advisor know . next thing that happen ,we got the room ,i had ask for when making reservations . i was dissapointed that i had to use trip advisor to get what i want . ask for main building sec. floor away from the parking lot . the pool was really heated nice ,alot of place say heated and are not . overall excellent staff ,food, location ,. had a great free breakfast and was a very quite hotel ,would stay there agin.

Room Tip: call the hotel instead of going thur travel sites for a better room.its worth the few extra penneys...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blinders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Great hotel- location is perfect for access to all important sites in Santa Fe. Very extensive breakfast with fresh orange juice. Sherry reception at 4:00 p.m. Spacious rooms with great mattresses.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank accoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
593 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,354 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#20 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,812 reviews
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: ₹ 8,737 - ₹ 19,209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing