We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn in excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn of the Governors
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 February 2012

While we spent more than we sometimes do on motels to stay here, I thought the splurge was worthwhile. We had a lovely room with southwestern furniture and decor. I loved the toiletries and just thought the room was very special.

That said, we had a room right off the main parking lot, so I think I would have preferred a room further back on the property with a better view. We also did not have an in-room fireplace.

The lobby area is very nice for relaxing, and we enjoyed the sherry and cookies in the afternoon. The breakfast was a great way to start the day -- loads of well cooked tasty entrees and sides in a lovely room.

We found the inn very convenient to all the Santa Fe plaza sites and restaurants and felt comfortable walking back and forth in the late evening.

I would definitely recommend this inn!

Room Tip: reserve a room early to get a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexandrian1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,644)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,102 - 1,106 of 1,644 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2012

Great reservation service, terrific buffet breakfast, love the free parking, very close to town.

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a room in the main building versus the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dcallenwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

The hospitality and service was awesome. The rooms had a truly Southwest decor and the central location was unbeatable. The copper patina wind driven mobiles around the property are really pretty. Everything in beautiful central Santa Fe was within easy walking distance. the Railrunner Santa Fe service from ABQ is nearby, so a rentacar is not necessary for a short stay. The room includes a bountiful and tasty breakfast buffet as well as an afternoon tea and sherry social. Housekeeping was immaculate and Ken and Armando at the front desk recommended an excellent and relatively low priced nearby local New Mexican fare restaurant , Casa Chimayo; which had music, flamenco and decent food. I spoke for a moment with the GM, Sam, whose friendliness and customer service attitude appears to pervade the entire staff. My wife and I enjoyed our too brief 3 night midwinter stay completely.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slaterock1704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

We did not have one of the rooms with a fireplace, but this was a great hotel in a great location to shops, restaurants, and the historic plaza. We enjoyed the morning hearty breakfast and the delightful afternoon tea. Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tacopete5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

This has a perfect location within walking distance of most attractions in Santa Fe. They had a special that if you book directly from the hotel website they give you $25 dining and bar credit a day. This was on top of the cooked breakfast each morning.
Getting a room with a fireplace was a great plus. They set up the logs each day for you and made starting a fire a snap. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pchrisop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
621 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,402 reviews
Old Santa Fe Inn
#8 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Downtown
Rosewood Inn of the Anasazi
Hotel Santa Fe
#13 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn of the Governors? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn of the Governors

Address: 101 West Alameda, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2117
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#10 Family Hotel in Santa Fe
#18 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: ₹ 8,780 - ₹ 17,886 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn of the Governors 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn of the Governors is a leader in hospitality among Santa Fe Hotels. We provide world-class service, a beautiful downtown location, complimentary Mountain Sunrise full breakfast, free parking and complimentary Tea and Sherry served daily in our lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with JackRabbit Systems, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn of the Governors reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Of The Governors Hotel Santa Fe
Hotel Of The Governors
Of The Governors Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing