We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Dining Experience”
Review of Amaya Restaurant

Amaya Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Amaya Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #31 of 590 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 30 - US$ 30
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 9 March 2018

The food is great, with hidden surprises of flavor in every bite. It's a great place to go with friends and family. You can actually hear each other talk without the clamour of chaos in the background. The staff is excellent and makes you feel like the table service is a personal experience between them and you. Warm smiles and relaxing atmosphere make the incredible dining room and eating experience truly enjoyable. The manager Sophie, gives you that warm, you're home experience with a French flair. Lawrence is ready to delight you with tales of Santa Fe. In the summer kids from the Picuris Pueblo share their culture and dance. Don't miss this one of a kind experience (not to mention guests of Hotel Santa Fe get shuttled around town in purple British cabs) at this truly boutique hotel.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2018

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to write with your detailed and kind review and we have passed on your kind words to Lawrence and Sophie!

kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (254)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 254 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2018

The atmosphere is excellent in this Native American owned hotel. You could even have your meal in the tepee in warm weather. (I wouldn't!) Some of the selections are Native American inspired and all are excellent. My last visit was during Santa Fe restaurant week and the selections were inspired. This is a place I will return to time and again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
7  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you so much for continuing to dine with us. See you soon!

kii thu wia‘‘ kanna thu wia - Our House is Your House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2018

I was invited for a new event at Amaya "Magical Soiree"! A magician, while you are dining come to your table and do some tricks. He was fantastic!
The food and service was great and the restaurant was beautiful.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank 396christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review!

thu xonn chiimen iy a whachii wye wye - May Your Travels Bring You Back Soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Had breakfast here last week. The service,selection and food quality is great and prices are reasonable. Good variety on the menu and prepared to perfection.

6  Thank J T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words. kowaen mina so thuu puchi - Have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018

Our visit was a New Year's Eve celebration. My husband and I had gone prior to our visit to speak with the staff and have a couple of cocktails. We were assured that the bar would be open until twelve midnight and that we were very welcomed. On the night of our visit there were eleven of us and our waitress argued with one of our guests because she had celiac disease. The waitress would not allow her to order vegetables and "told" her that she had to order a salad. It took over an hour and a half after we ordered to get our food and when we did they brought out the wrong plates. A couple of our guests didn't receive their side orders. I complained to management and after I did so the experience was so much worse. In the end, management also argued that they did something for us by picking up our drinks (which out of all we only order 6 cocktails). The guests who drank iced tea did not receive refills and when we asked it took them about 15 minutes before they did get their refills.
The evening was the worst we have ever experienced.
We did however feel very bad for the chef because the food was amazing. We would not recommend this restaurant to the locals and to large parties.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PaulMargetson, Owner at Amaya Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

There were indeed a number of extenuating circumstances surrounding this event and i am truly sorry you felt you were treated poorly!

I don't believe there is any point in discussing the issues involved and I apologize for the inconvenience you were caused!

Wishing you well in the New Year and accepting that you will not be back! All the best to you and your friends/family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Amaya Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Amaya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing