We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our favorites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Choza

La Choza
Ranked #21 of 556 Restaurants in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Spanish, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
80 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My husband and I have been traveling to Northern New Mexico--Santa Fe and Taos--for over 30 years. One of the challenges we have had is having enough meals in one trip to enjoy all the restaurants we love! Almost every trip, though, we visit La Choza. I find their red chile to be among the very best, and love the carne adovado. The prices are reasonable and the service has always been great. Dining in a charming old adobe house adds to the experience. If you love Northern New Mexican food like we do, don't miss La
Choza.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank YolandaGolightly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    287
    101
    31
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Try Maria's New Mexican Kitchen”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

My friend & I ate La Choza Restaurant when we couldn’t get into The Shed on a Saturday night. We wanted 1 hour to dine on the outside terrace. What a waste of time!! The food was awful & the margaritas were weak! Service was very slow & unprofessional. We would never recommend this restaurant to anyone. Check out their web site-it’s almost as bad as their food.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
13 Thank JoniColoradoSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rico, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“sooooo goooooood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

La Choza has great northern New Mexican food. I love the huevos and their red chili! The service is perfect. The owner was even there to great us.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lilyelgato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
148 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Great place for families”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

My family went here twice during our week in Santa Fe. My house salad with their vinegrette dressing was a best I had in Santa Fe, you can taste the difference local and organic makes. My very picky daughter had the crispy chicken tacos both times and loved it...highly recommend for children under 12! My husband tried the soups, nachos and fish tacos...all fab!
The ambience is actually great for families, not that its overly noisy, but your not worried that your child talking will disturb other customers. The service was very prompt and friendly. highly recommend.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindiana49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great fish taco's and margherita's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012 via mobile

The atmosphere is average to below average, but the food more than makes up for it. The fish tacos were outstanding. The margherita's were also very good.

Recommend!

Helpful?
Thank gbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Choza also viewed

 

Been to La Choza? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing