We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better days...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The rooms have a rustic charm and furniture was in good condition however the bathrooms really need updating. There are two heating controls in the bathroom, which back in the '70's were probably the height of luxury but they are now just old and strange.

TV is placed such that you can only view from awkward angle from the bed.

Heat/fan is extremely loud and noisy. Beds were actually pretty comfortable. The pull-out sofa was pretty "springy" but hey, it's a pull-out. It could have used a mattress pad for sure.

Room seemed pretty clean but then, earthtones and dim lighting hide a multitide of sins. We found several bugs in the room and unfortunately one of them (that I know of) even made it home with us in a backpack. Ew!

Beware of the $10/day housekeeping that is tacked on to your bill - we asked to have this removed for two reasons: First, I don't think I should have to pay $10 for the night I checked in, as no housekeeping services were rendered (they certainly didn't clean after I checked in at 5pm and there was no turn down service!) Second, when I did make a housekeeping request, for extra towels, they never came. I still left a small gratuity for what little housekeeping I received but the front desk removed the daily fees.

There was also a "portage" fee added to our bill. We never had any items delivered or bags carried to our room so I don't know what this was. The front desk offered no explanation but they did remove the charge.

The daily $29 resort fee is another fee required whether you use the amenities or not.

Secure your valuables, as someone in our group had items stolen from their room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank WestchesterMomof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (638)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 330 of 638 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Checked into The Lodge (reserved through Hotels.com) and asked clerk if room had been renovated. His reply was this is one of the nicer rooms & it has been recently renovated.
In a word carpet dirty, mattress lumpy, linens terrible, towels thin and almost thread bare. There was a gas Kiva fireplace which smelled like gas and exhaust when turned on.
Went to the Lodge for a drink that night & it took over 30 minutes to get served.In addition, there is a $14.50 Resort Fee per person per day.
I would never go back to Bishops and I would try to dissuade any of my friends from going.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank austinbillgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

From the website, we expected an elegant, historic lodge. Instead this is a quirky compound that might be fun in the summer but is inadvisable in the winter. Upsides: the staff is extremely friendly, from the front desk to the waitpersons in the restaurant to the folks who cheerfully light your fireplace, and the ancient chapel is charming. Downsides: no attempt is made to deal with the sheet ice that covers the steep pathways to the rooms, the parking lots or the roads; the rooms are clean but not maintained, in our room we had to wedge newspaper into the cabinet to keep the doors closed, the blinds on the windows were broken and the construction is flimsy so we were cold. We moved to a different hotel after the first night.

Room Tip: If you go in the winter, be sure to ask about ice conditions or you risk injury. Pathways to the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank checkpointcheryl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights. First off they did not have one of our rooms in the system (via expedia) so we had to sleep in a different building than our 2 sons. They promised a direct path but it was a steep ice covered path. Our sons room was very old (piñon lodge) and smelled like smoke. Our room was nicer (lamy lodge) but the fence had fallen over. Every day one or another key failed to work as they were programmed incorrectly. No views from rooms. Showers were terrible. Hot tub was not worth going in. Health club was mediocre at best.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gingerstravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

We stay there for 3 days visiting the area. It is a great location near santa fe, Taos and Kasha-Katuwe Tent Rocks National Monument. Nice bedroom with fire place. Just ask the reception for wood delivery at your door. The restaurant is good and the resort has a real bar with great choice of cocktails. we appreciated the ranch and we had a very pleasant horse back riding. We recommend this resort 100%.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ErnestTito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Inn at Vanessie
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
449 reviews
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#24 of 60 in Santa Fe
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Casas de Guadalupe
#9 of 24 in Santa Fe
23 reviews
Casa Cuma Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 37 in Santa Fe
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa

Address: 1297 Bishops Lodge Rd, PO Box 2367, Santa Fe, NM 87506-6900
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Santa Fe
#11 Spa Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: ₹ 8,406 - ₹ 23,392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In August of 1851, a Frenchman, Jean Baptiste Lamy, arrived in the NM Territory as the first Bishop of Santa Fe. Here he built a private retreat; his chapel still stands today, now on the national register of historic places. After Lamy's Death, the land was acquired by the Pulitzer publishing family as a private vacation retreat. In 1917, the Thorpe family from Denver fell in love with these pristine acres, bought the property and developed the first resort in the state. Today Bishop's Lodge comprises 15 lodges for a total of 110 rooms ranging in sizes from 250 sq feet to 450, not to mention a 2000 sq foot Presidential Suite. Many of our rooms feature fireplaces and the majority all have outdoor access to patios, lawns or balconies. Our ShaNah Spa and Wellness Center which opened up in June of 2002 is a sanctuary where one can take time out to be nurtured by Mother Nature, guided by ancient wisdon and touched by angels. The experience may change your life. Other activities are abundant such as: trap/skeet shooting (offered to groups of 10 or monmre roomnights), horseback, pony trail rides, hiking, mountain biking, fitness center, excercise studio, outdoor pool, whirlpool and tennis to mention a few. Bishop's Lodge is located just 3 miles from the Historic Santa Fe Plaza. Complimentary shuttle service is provided by the lodge at scheduled times daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Bishop's Lodge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop`s Lodge Resort And Spa
Bishop`s Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Hotel Santa Fe
Bishops Resort Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing