We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid the Luxx Hotel on the Plaza”
Review of Luxx Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luxx Hotel
Ranked #18 of 37 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We booked our trip to Santa Fe using Expedia's hot deals, selecting a four star rating minimum. We were a little skeptical of this hotel when we saw the website, and certainly when we read some reviews here. But we went anyways keeping an open mind. Ugh. trust your instincts.
This hotel is a glorified hostel/B&B. I'm all for contemporary art, but the combination of paintings, and Buddha statues and animal prints and blech, everything else....hideous. That is not the worst of it.
The hotel's front doors were locked. We had to find a payphone to call and check in. I will say that the man who eventually checked us in was very nice, however he was also dressed like a disheveled high school student, complete with grubby tuque, and he was apparently the only employee in the whole place. We didn't see a maid in sight, which should have been the first clue.
The carpets look as though they have never been cleaned. The communal kitchen (ugh) was unkempt, dark and creepy. The hot tub, don't even go there. The room had free Netflix and internet, I guess that's good. The linens were dirty and the room smelled. To boot, because we had trouble getting in, he claimed he had upgraded us. If that was the upgrade, I would hate to see the regular rooms. I don't want to be a jerk, I guess but I feel other traveler's should be warned before getting stuck paying for a room in a place like this like we did (no refund). We refused to stay and got a hotel room elsewhere. This place was NOT a four star, not even close. Buyer beware.

Room Tip: read reviews here before booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank TOhTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 256 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2012

The Luxx is a beautiful, comfortable, and convenient place to stay. Staff very helpful. Designer hotel has the latest technology. Great shower and towels. Beds beautiful and comfortable.

Room Tip: This hotel has single rooms or suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelerCamden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We stumbled on this little hotel by accident when we arrived in Santa Fe with no advance reservations and found it to be a great place to spend a couple of nights. We had no trouble checking in and found that the staff was very accommodating. It is in an excellent location near the plaza. We found it clean and quiet. A little bit quirky but in a good way. We enjoyed sitting in the outside lounge area during the day. We did have some trouble with getting the TV to work (as an older couple we are technically challenged) but the staff came and explained it all in record time.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 256Eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This property is missing its chance to be a great place to stay! The location is great and the concept/decor was probably a good idea when they opened. However, consistent maintenance and a LOT of customer service would make a big difference. Unfortunately they are NOT interested in either of those services. There is an overwhelming sense of disrepair and darkness in the rooms and common areas, and insincerity when dealing with the staff. When we were finally checked into our room, (one staff member had to leave for an appointment & the other went off to show another couple to their room, leaving us standing in the office for 20 minutes), we noticed the bed frame was broken. We immediately brought the staff to our room to see it & he promised to fix it the next day. The next day, the shower knob came off in my husband's hand when he went to turn it on. This was also reported to the same staff member. Neither of those issues were addressed during our 3 night stay. Apparently the housekeeping staff does not have a vacuum, since the carpets were dirty and stayed that way. I work for the health department and noticed the hot tub chemicals do not ever seem to be checked-as they should be daily- and the pink foam on the top is not a good sign! Enter at your own risk! We were told the "resort fee" covered Netflix, parking, gourmet coffee. The couple ahead of us was offered a "cash discount" on the resort fee. Netflix never worked, the coffee is better at 7-11, and the parking is a joke! At different times during our stay, our friends all received different explanations of the outrageous resort fee---none of them valid. Also, the lovely artwork was non-existant in our room---there was a nail in the wall, but nothing hanging on it! Upon our return home, we called the hotel to request the owner's contact information. We were given the run-around, and told they would call us back. Twenty-four hours later, we have not had a return call. The woman told our friend she was the manager. When we called, she told us someone else was the manager. Seems to be alot of finger pointing, smoke & mirrors when it comes to their lack of customer service. We are planning a Thanksgiving trip to Santa Fe with several friends this year. Guess which hotel WILL NOT be considered for that trip or any future trips. We will stick with a chain hotel with customer service and amenities that really are available.

Room Tip: Do not accept a room anwhere near the back door--very noisy and people try to use your keypad on you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank J S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Ths hotel was just as some of the others on this web site have said. The rooms are in disrepair (broken electrical covers with exposed wires, no handles on the closet doors, cracked and broken bathroom tile, paint on the carpet). The rooms are very dirty and the floor looks like it hadn;t been vaccumed in weeks. The walls are as thin as paper and you can hear every conversation, and movement of your neighbor. The hidden fees are absolutely true. They call it a "resort fee" and when asked what this covers, they say parking, gourmet coffee (from a plastic shrink wrap package that the motel 6 down the road carries as well), and netflix. Well the nextflix never works, parking is a disaster (if you can even enter the lot which is often full). Overall an excellent hotel location, but a not-so-excellent hotel. The price should be cut in half to reflect the issues this hotel has.

Room Tip: There are no good rooms in this hotel. My advice, book at the hilton a few blocks away. The price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,641 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,665 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
La Fonda on the Plaza
#6 of 60 in Santa Fe
645 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,416 reviews
Downtown
Hotel St. Francis
Hotel St. Francis
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luxx Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luxx Hotel

Address: 105 E Marcy St, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2083
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price Range: ₹ 8,533 - ₹ 17,000 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luxx Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A winner of Hotel Showdown, the LUXX Boutique Hotel is Located just steps from the historic Santa Fe Plaza and Convention Center. Housed within a historic building, the hotel features uniquely decorated rooms with original artwork, custom faux finishes and tile work, custom painted tables, work desk, organic bath products, robes, free wifi, onsite coffee house, and Sushi restaurant. Award winning restaurants, art galleries, museums and shopping are all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luxx Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxx Plaza Hotel + Casita Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing