We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Most delightful museum in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Museum of International Folk Art

Museum of International Folk Art
Ranked #1 of 260 things to do in Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open 10am to 5pm Tuesdays through Sundays, closed on Mondays from November through April. Beginning in May and extending through October, open daily 10am to 5pm. Closed Christmas Day, New Year's Day, Easter & Thanksgiving holidays. Current exhibitions include Flamenco From Spain to New Mexico, No Idle Hands: The Myths and Meanings of Tramp Art, and Folk Art in Focus More than 120,000 objects are on display in the long term exhibition Multiple Visions, A Common Bond by architect and designer Alexander Girard. This international folk art collection includes miniature buildings, streets and village scenes from more than 100 different countries. There are no text panels in this exhibition, the cases are numbered. If you miss the Docent walk-in tour, pick up a multi-media tour at the front desk or a grab a printed gallery guide at either entrance. Kids 16 and under and Museum of New Mexico Foundation Members always free!
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
119 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Most delightful museum in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

One man collected and arranged the most delightful and silly museum chock full of folk art from all around the world.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeebzAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,516 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,140
    273
    83
    18
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northboro, MA
Level Contributor
109 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not so tourist friendly”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

So, we met our daughter and grand children there late one afternoon maybe 90 minutes before closing. Parking was easy and to say the plaza is spectacular is an understatement. Wonderful lay out, views, art. My disappointment came with the cost of admission. Ten bucks. No senior discount. Much cheaper for state residents. So, I stayed outside (folk art is not my passion) with my son in law and we enjoyed the plaza and a beer in the little restaurant. Other museums in Santa Fe seemed to be more accomodating to we out of towners and seniors and staff members were more friendly.

Santa Fe is a beautiful place and fun to visit in the off season. By and large one can find much to do and see and there is a wide variety of cafes and restaurants. But some oddities, like no public rest rooms near the main plaza, a sometimes frustrating parking system (take a deep breath before using it for the first time and hope there isn't someone from Kansas ahead of you).

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rkgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I've been going to this museum since my first trips to Santa Fe.It is the best museum. the size is just right. The collection is out standing. Do not miss this on your trip!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank archana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VENICE CA USA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Oh, this place is amazing, but give yourself some time--it's chock full to the ceiling with stuff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I liked everything, I love folk art and I've never seen a collection like this.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank KALKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
173 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A must see in Santa Fe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This museum has an incredible collection of toys and miniatures from around the world, donated by a major collector. There are also traveling exhibits. Located on Museum Hill, there are several other museums up there worth a visit!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank coolcarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Museum of International Folk Art also viewed

 

Been to Museum of International Folk Art? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing