We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Research didn't prepare me for this experience”
Review of Hotel St. Francis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel St. Francis
Ranked #28 of 60 Hotels in Santa Fe
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Lovely building, but electric lights instead of candlelight in the lobby, no fire in the evening, no informational material of any kind in the guest room...guide to monthly gallery exhibits? No clues to current and ongoing cultural events. The stunning factor was the noise. I have never had a worse night's sleep. Our lovely large room fronted on the street, overlooking the "plaza" (actually a car park). The noise from midnight to 6:30 am on a weeknight was almost constant, between truck traffic, garbage trucks, restaurants closing and tossing glass bottles in metal trash bins, etc. The room curtains did not close completely so large lights from the car park filled the room with light. Absolutely terrible sleeping conditions. The front desk could not accommodate us with a different room and we checked out to locate another hotel for the rest of our stay in Santa Fe.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KatherineC117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

891 - 895 of 1,110 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2012

We ha a wonderful stay. Alder, a front desk attendant, and Mike, the Operations manager assisted in making our stay comfortable! I would recommend this hotel to everyone. It is quite charming, low key, close to everything, and not super expensive. I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank sfausz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

The hotel is truly beautiful. With a great rate from Sniqueaway we had a nice, small room, which was expected. Very clean room and comfortable bed. Didn't expect how cramped the bathroom was (they can't change the room set-up because of historical regulations). The sink was in the hallway as you enter the room. The fixtures and furniture were all nice and new. We, too, had quite a bit of early morning garbage truck noise. We also got billed twice for the room at the end of the stay, although upon check-in they had record of full payment. The restaurant is very nice and has excellent food. The bar has a good atmosphere and is pretty lively. Nice concierge desk. Lovely lobby and patio.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WoodrowFortWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

Beautifully renovated 19th century hotel, decorated with a Franciscan monastic theme. The rooms are very small with no place to sit other than the bed. Even so, our room was comfortable and clean. The lack of space in our room was more than compensated for by the incredible lobby, which is spacious, comfortable, and beautiful. We ended every evening by sitting in the lobby with a glass of good wine from the Secreto Bar which is located within the hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, and the price was more than reasonable. I had previously stayed at the La Fonda, but actually enjoyed the St. Francis more (and paid far less). The location is perfect...a very short walk to the plaza and well into the historic downtown section of the city, but just off of the foot traffic pattern so as to make it quiet without the crowded feeeling that you get elsewhere in that section of town.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

I liked everything about my stay except the 5 am wake up call from the trash truck outside room 106. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank elkboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Downtown
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
Hotel Chimayo de Santa Fe
#23 of 60 in Santa Fe
903 reviews
Downtown
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
Eldorado Hotel & Spa
#21 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,428 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Hilton Santa Fe Historic Plaza
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,652 reviews
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#3 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Francis? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Francis

Address: 210 Don Gaspar Ave, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2122
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Romantic Hotel in Santa Fe
#25 Business Hotel in Santa Fe
Price Range: ₹ 9,100 - ₹ 21,084 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel St. Francis 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Named for the patron saint of Santa Fe, New Mexico, the newly remodeled Hotel St. Francis pays respect to the origins of the city with its unique interior. With a palette of natural colors reflecting the days of Santa Fe and handcrafted wood furniture by local artisans, staying at the hotel is a cultural experience. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, its recent restoration and renovation expanded the amenities to entertain travelers from across the world. The hotel is located just steps away from the historic Santa Fe plaza. Whether you're planning a weekend escape, a business retreat, or a lavish wedding, the Hotel St. Francis is the ideal destination. "Hotels supporting cultural causes." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel St. Francis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St Francis
St Francis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing