We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sparking Clean, Fantastic Location, Wonderful Hospitality”
Review of The Guadalupe Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Guadalupe Inn
Ranked #17 of 36 Santa Fe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Marin County, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sparking Clean, Fantastic Location, Wonderful Hospitality”
Reviewed 28 November 2009

A feeling of old Santa Fe, conveniently located, quiet, clean, good beds, spacious rooms, large open breakfast room; guests are made to feel at home.Excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MavenJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    48
    11
    7
    6
See reviews for
23
95
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
VENICE CA USA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

This place is kind of off the beaten track, but only about a 15 minute walk from the plaza. So quiet at night, and I had my own little balcony with a view of the Sangre De Cristo mountains ( and the innkeeper's apartment, so it felt safe to be there alone too). There was a jacuzzi in my room and a small fireplace next to the bed. The furnishings were beautiful and there were special touches like a hand worked tin lighting fixture. Very, very clean! The owners are very kind and thoughtful and they make your breakfast to order in the morning and it is wonderful. I highly recommend the Guadalupe Inn, and especially for solo female travelers.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KALKAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 March 2009

My fiance and I stayed in Santa Fe for the Valentine's weekend. The Guadalupe Inn was just what we were hoping for. It was within walking distance of sevearl shops and restaurants, as well as the train station. Breakfast was generous and served to order. The staff was friendly, knowledgable, and quite helpful. The covered parking in the winter months was a wonderful bonus! We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PankyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

The Guadalupe Inn in Santa Fe is by no means a straightforward, all-great-or-all-bad, proposition. My friend and I just spent a wonderful week in New Mexico, and on balance, our five nights at Guadalupe Inn were very much a part of the good times. I wouldn’t hesitate to stay there again, but there’s room for improvement.

First, the location and setting are excellent. The Inn is nestled in a quiet residential neighborhood full of neat adobe houses with flowering gardens, on an alley that is in fact perpendicular to Agua Fria Street and therefore insulated from all traffic noise. It is near the Plaza, the Palace of the Governors, the performing arts center, restaurants (try Ristra, right next door, for a truly first class dinner, or the less expensive Zia Diner, a few blocks farther away), and other niceties, like a pack-n-ship for those, ahem, larger purchases that won’t go in your suitcase.

As to finding the Inn: if you are driving along Agua Fria Street from the west/southwest, as you would from the Turquoise Trail or I-25, the sign for the landmark cross street, Clossen, cannot be seen. Even if the street sign had not somehow been skewed so that it almost parallels Agua Fria, it is completely obscured by a tree. Clossen, on the left side as you head towards town, doesn’t cross Agua Fria; to the right, where Inn resides, is only a tiny alley (see map). The alley is not even shown on Google Maps. The signs for the Inn on Agua Fria at the entrance to the alley are too subtle: they’re invisible in the dark or if you blink. Bright paint and trimming the bushes would help.

The Inn, once you find it, is so attractive, and there’s shaded parking under the main wing (be careful backing out, it’s cramped!). It was peaceful and we felt safe and secure day and night. The owners Henrietta (Henner) and Dolores (Dee) Quintana are wonderful ladies, sisters with very distinct personalities, both charming and helpful as can be. Their assistant, Gail, is also lovely. We found the breakfasts to be fresh and more than ample: each day there were delicious home-baked zucchini pineapple and banana nut bread, cut up fresh fruit, a choice of dry cereals, juice, and made-to-order courses like huevos rancheros, burritos, omelets (you choose your filling), or pancakes. The coffee is very good. We also greatly enjoyed morning conversations with the other guests, all of them nice, smart, very cool people.

We had a 2-bedroom room (a queen bed apiece) that suited two girls traveling together. The “inner” bedroom, surprisingly, had no window and the provided fan is absolutely required to keep air circulating. The “outer” bedroom was better ventilated because our room was at the end of the row, and we could safely open side windows too high for someone to crawl in. The room also had a sitting area, TV with satellite, telephone, gas fireplace, and a lovely balcony with white plastic chairs that badly needed cleaning (sorry to admit, we used spare bath towels to keep from dirtying up our backsides, it was much too nice to forgo sitting outdoors). There was an air conditioner, though we didn’t need it, even in July. The walls were decorated here and there with cheerful petroglyph designs. Oddly, however, there was no clock by either bed. I got a loaner from Dolores.

The magnificent part was our updated, gorgeously tiled bathroom with a spa tub, walk-in shower, big vanity with A+ storage, and a single giant basin that was in fact big enough for two people to use at the same time. The bad news was the lighting and mirrors. Although there was a big skylight, it was only helpful in broad daylight. Otherwise there was one single pendant light with a low wattage bulb, who knows what our make-up looked like, we sure couldn’t tell! This was especially odd as the lighting in the outer room was exceptional, with table-top lamps and track lights and pendant lights and a torchiere. Hotel-type bar soap, mini-shampoos, plastic cups and tissue are provided, but not a hair dryer.

The only full-length mirror was on inside of the bathroom door. Watching myself sitting on the toilet is not my idea of fun, and not being able to check if my clothes were on straight if my traveling companion was using the bathroom was an inconvenience. The mirror over the vanity was mounted at least 4 inches too high. My friend and are both tall and we could see ourselves from about collar bones up. Anyone less than 5’4” would have to stand on a chair to get a full face view. This is such an easy fix, I hope they will attend to it.

Unfortunately, the carpet was past its prime, and the beds were also obviously old. My whole bed, box spring + mattress, came only to my knees–extra-thick mattresses became the rage years ago, didn’t they? When I sat down the mattress compressed nearly completely. The bed covers had been laundered too many times, and though clean, looked pretty tired. Space to hang up clothing was simply not satisfactory. No room for another hanger bar? A few nice wall hooks would help a lot! There was no closet–just a TV cabinet with no TV–in the inner bedroom; in the outer room there was one small rod with awful wire hangers, hard on good clothing, impossible for coats. Fortunately, there were a couple of other small chests where we could stash some things.

If stairs are an issue I would encourage mobility-impaired travelers to inquire, as we didn’t see all wings and there may be ramps to some rooms. However, the rooms in the main wing are accessible only by stairs.

The little inconveniences and the fusty bedding, etc., by no means outweighed the pleasures of staying at the Guadalupe Inn; guests will be very happy, as we were, if they are prepared to live with the assorted little negatives. It seems like it would take so little to resolve the annoyances–re-position the mirrors, put a brighter light fixture in the bathroom (!), replace the mattresses (!), rejuvenate the bedding, get plastic hangers at Wal-mart, and, if possible, replace the floor covering–to make the Guadalupe Inn the first class establishment it really is at heart.

  • Liked — Lovely hostesses, location, peacefullness, overall atmosphere, and good breakfast!
  • Disliked — Several needless inconveniences and outdated bed & bedding
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YellowstoneGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2008

Our room was really a closet posing as a room. Breakfast was served in very odd room and had to be "ordered" and when it was arrived was no better than a Dennys.

Way too much money for what actually is.

Don't try and get ice - they give you a few dozen pieces at a time from the ice box in the refrigerator. Yikes!!

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhc69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Old Santa Fe Inn
#7 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,573 reviews
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#29 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,301 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Inn on the Alameda
Inn on the Alameda
#2 of 60 in Santa Fe
2,268 reviews
Downtown
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
El Dorado Hotel & Spa
#18 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,345 reviews
Downtown
Inn and Spa at Loretto
Inn and Spa at Loretto
#22 of 60 in Santa Fe
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guadalupe Inn? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guadalupe Inn

Property: The Guadalupe Inn
Address: 604 Agua Fria Street, Santa Fe, NM 87501-2577
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe > Historic District
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Fe
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,463 - ₹ 11,522
Hotel Class:2 star — The Guadalupe Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Guadalupe Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing