We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Hands down, Santa Fe's best hostel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Fe International Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Fe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Santa Fe International Hostel
Albany, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hands down, Santa Fe's best hostel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2010

This hostel is truly a welcoming place that treats all visitors with dignity and consideration. Yes, we each "chip in" and perform some small daily task in exchange for our stay (taking, tops, 10 minutes)-- but that balances the extremely modest rates for this hostel. The rooms are small but clean, with extra blankets/pillows, good lighting and either a bathroom in the room or close at hand. No long lines, an air of courtesy and friendliness among guests and staff, AND an amazing kitchen where you can help yourself to community food (with a large array of organic foods -- cheeses, yogurt, bread, jellies)--and lots of staples on shelves around the kitchen for those who actually like to cook. While I was there, the owner prepared a huge pot of delicious chili. Not only was it tasty, it brought people together for laughter and conversation, as good food always does. If you're looking for a friendly chat at breakfast, there's always someone in the common eating area to converse with. People here are very, very friendly. As a senior traveler, I do recommend paying slightly more for a private room. Also, ask to avoid a room that fronts on the highway -- if you're a light sleeper, the traffic noises can keep you awake. Without reservation, there's no place in Santa Fe I'd rather stay. Remember: you're less than 10 minutes from wonderful downtown Santa Fe!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmc1543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    9
    6
    10
    9
See reviews for
4
8
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ledoux NM
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

I am an older woman who has stayed at this hostel 5 times. I intend to do so many more. Rooms are clean and simple; some have a half bath. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. There is abundant free food in the large kitchen including fresh berries, gourmet cheeses, artisan breads. There's a library and a social/living room. Two fine computers are available for a couple bucks. The location is on the main drag, accessible to bus, restaurants etc. No safety worries. People of all ages from many countries are the guests. The cheapest motel in this over-priced tourist town is $15 more; its rooms are about the same and there's no food and the owner is surly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank djdonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Arkansas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

I stayed here for about a week in late May 2010. I stayed in two different private rooms, both were clean and simple. The employees were friendly and polite, very understanding when I checked out and then had to come back due to my travel plans getting screwed up. Lots of free food in the kitchen. Plenty of other hostlers to talk to when I wanted or I could hang out in my room for privacy. When I left, they gave me recommendations/addresses/phone numbers for other hostels along the route I would be travelling. A Santa Fe bus stop is located right outside and makes getting around the city very simple.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smgriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2010

My first overnight at the hostel was great; second time around the staffperson was rude and radiating passive aggressive vibes. The good news is that the kitchen is huge and the fridges stuffed with dumpstered delicacies (goat cheese quesadilla with coconut water for breakfast- thanks to freeganisn). The chore system and crypto-communal atmosphere were pleasant in a dysfunctional family kind of way. Some nice guests and i got a good nights sleep. Overall if you are used to budget travel and saving $20 is worth crashing in the display room of the Goodwill Store, recommended. Just cross your fingers and hope the person behind the desk doesn't handle you like expired food.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wiltonhall66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Baden
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2010

First of all the Pros: Check-in lady was very friendly and professional. The kitchen is big and if you like to cook this is a plus.
The cons:
You have to clean up your room and clean up one of the public areas (bathroom, shower etc). The idea of having people clean up their room is good but it should be reflected in the price.
The beds and rooms are very minimalistic with very hard beds (basically you sleep on wood).We sorted this out by getting the upper beds and added them on ours.
There is a 20$ Key Deposit for the Double Rooms and if you need to check out at early hours the only way to get it back is wait until staff is there. (since this place is run cash-only)
The rooms need to be renovated and I would suggest professional cleaning should be a standard as well.
I don't know if the place ever gets properly cleaned or not.

Value for money is very low so I would suggest not to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manuelrauch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Santa Fe hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Fe hotels
Santa Fe Sage Inn
#28 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
El Rey Inn
#19 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel in Santa Fe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Comfort Suites
#15 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Downtown
Inn of the Governors
Inn of the Governors
#12 of 60 in Santa Fe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,456 reviews
The Santa Fe Suites
#46 of 60 in Santa Fe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Fe International Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Fe International Hostel

Property: Santa Fe International Hostel
Address: 1416 Cerrillos Rd., Santa Fe, NM 87505
Region: United States > New Mexico > Santa Fe
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Santa Fe
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Santa Fe International Hotel Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing