We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great, affordable, and friendly stay!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
Studio, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, San Juan Islands, Washington

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Swo89
Port Orchard, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Weekend in Friday Harbor”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Good home base if you are touring the San Juans. I would not recommend for a long stay, nor for a vacation with my wife, but it was perfect for a weekend of kayaking and zip lining with my son. Simple accommodations, functional kitchenette, and satisfactory bed made this a good place to crash after a day of adventures.
Need to be sure to get a good contact number for the manager as there is no office and we will need to arrange to meet him to get into your room.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Affordable rates
Liked least: Noisy refrigerator
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tajbas
Renton, Washington
1 review
“A great, affordable, and friendly stay!”
Reviewed 26 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A nice room with a cute kitchenette that was pet-friendly (Sandpiper 2 only) and close to the main town. Tim was very easygoing and friendly and willing to dispense local knowledge on what to check out, where to eat, etc. We will definitely be back for our next stay! It was a great weekend getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The host Tim was very friendly and the kitchenette was well stocked.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PBullock
New Paltz, New York
1 review
“Very helpful hosts, clean room”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Our room was simple, clean and tidy, with our hosts being very kind and helpful - happy to pass on local information regarding restaurants and places to see on the island. If you're looking for a fancy polished room, this is not that - but if you're looking for a simple place, walkable to town, with great hosts, then this is a great bargain.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts we're very personable.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracker_1...
Oakland, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Double Check the Fees”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is an older property under renovation by the current owners. It is located in a somewhat funky location, but not atypical of Friday Harbor or the Islands. The property is configured in the standard two-story "motel" layout such that there is a walkway in front of all entrance doors and people walk by all the time in front of your windows. There is no airconitioning, and it was quite warm when we where there. The only way to get reasonable air circulation is to open the "back" door, which has no screen and opens onto a questionable space. No internal, stand alone fans were provided, but in all fairness, the hot weather we experienced was not typical of the Island. There is no elevator, so guests must be able to take steps ok.

The owners were very pleasant and met us with the keys, which we arranged through texting after arrival on the island. They provided outstanding coffee (San Juan Coffee) for our use, but only one packet, instead of the usual two; and also had oatmeal and other things.

We booked through Trip Advisor and the $12 dollar booking fee was never really made clear by the owners. Consequently, we ended up with a bit of a disagreement over the amount owed, which we ultimately paid. Potential guests should be sure to confirm the amount before booking and clarify if the Trip Advisor fee is or is not included in the amount.

It is clear that the current owners intend to bring the property back to a proper hospitality quality, and that it is a work in progress. Anyone booking can expect friendly service in a somewhat funky environment, close to the ferry. An acceptable, dog-friendly place to spend a night in Friday Harbor before moving onto your other island destination, with sufficient parking for a camper or, as we had, a utility trailer.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
"Double check" is always good advice! It should not be difficult to do as TripAdvisor issues an invoice which lays out all costs, fees, and applicable taxes. I'd rather not have any guest surprised by the unexpected.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaOliv...
Victoria, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An uncomfortable one night stay in a poorly appointed apartment.”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We recently stayed one night in Sandpiper 2 and chose the apartment because it was the cheapest accommodation in town which was available at short notice. Although overall cleanliness was good, which one would expect when paying a cleaning fee of $33, the overall decor and furnishings were poor, the bed was uncomfortable, and the refrigerator noisy. The kitchen cupboards looked home-made, and had no knobs for easy opening. We did not use the stove, as we ate out.
There were no table and chairs, just two stools at the 'breakfast bar', and nowhere for a third person to sleep. Sandpiper 2 was advertised as sleeping three, so I can only assume that a sofa bed of sorts and another stool is brought in when needed.
The owners did provide two complimentary muesli bars, instant oat packets and coffee.
For a total price of $140 for the night, we were disappointed in this accommodation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: clean bathroom
Liked least: Poor decor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2014
The guest was mostly right--when requested, we set up a twin bed in the room to accommodate a third person (or second person, if the travelers are "not that close"). At this point, all of our studios have a small dining table and two chairs (besides the stools), which goes in the closet if the bed is brought in.
Since the work of cleaning and prepping for a new guest is the same for a one-night stay as it is for a one-week stay (we launder, scrub and disinfect EVERYTHING thoroughly), the cleaning fee of $30 per stay is what allows us to offer one-night stays--a rarity for vacation rentals on the island. Otherwise, the cost-to-benefit of one-night stays would be prohibitive.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing