We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy Tree House with Waterfront View” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Friday Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Tree House with Waterfront View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed in the tree house for a weekend in mid-October. We arrived later than anticipated, due to ferry delays, but we contacted the front desk and they were so kind to turn on the heat and leave the lights on for us. It was our first time in San Juan Island and definitely left a good first impression. The tree house was very spacious and cozy. It's fully furnished with a queen size bed, a pull out futon, a kitchenette with all the necessities, dining table, tv, a full bathroom with towels, basic toiletries and a Jacuzzi tub! And waking up to the view of beautiful Mitchell Bay was icing on the cake.

Snug Harbor Resort is approximately a 15 minute drive from Friday Harbor, where we spent most of our day. It rained most of the time we were there so we couldn't take advantage of outdoor activities, but that was expected. Snug Harbor would be perfect for a summer trip and a great alternative to pricey hotels/resorts in Friday Harbor!

Cons:
- There is no overhead shower, just the handheld attachment.
- Poor WiFi connection (but this shouldn't be a big deal in the summer where you can spend most of your time outdoors)
- Noises (only because I'm a light sleeper): The house creaks a lot and the heater makes noises, if you leave the heater on.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank naice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snugharbormanager, Owner at Snug Harbor Resort & Marina, responded to this review, 15 November 2011
Thank you for the nice review Naice, the Tree House is one of my favorites. We will look into the WiFi issue and add a clip for the handheld on the overhead bar. Thank you for helping us make Snug Harbor a better place to stay.

Erik Nelson, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    307
    52
    13
    6
    7
See reviews for
128
193
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

It was the last weekend in October. Saturday was BEAUTIFUL and Sunday wet. We Kayaked for 2 days and had a blast! Snug Harbor Resort was clean and quiet and we practically had the place to ourselves. I am told that the place has a new manager, "Kenny" and he is a super nice fellow as is the lady who runs the store. My girl friend and I had a great time tent camping and enjoying the evening looking out over the harbor. I highly recommend the place and recommend going in the off season for a different, reasonably priced experience.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stayed right on Mitchell Bay. Kayaking four days saw Orcas two days. Beautiful, peaceful comfortable what more can i say. I totally recomend this resort!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tree house and loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We stayed in the "tree house" - beautifully redecorated, tastefully redone, really nice place to stay away from the noise and commotion of Friday Harbor on the other side of the island. You will need a car to stay here - but worth it. Also free use of canoe, firewood facilities, store, etc. Very nice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smiller620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2011

A majestic get away. The dock and water at your foot steps. We kayaked south to see the Orcas the first day. Kayaked north the second only to see Orcas again. The outside grilling area could not have been better. Everything you need to have a five star meal with a five star view.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennys-food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
11.9 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
11.8 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
10.8 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
11.5 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
19.6 km away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Harbor Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Harbor Resort & Marina

Property: Snug Harbor Resort & Marina
Address: 1997 Mitchell Bay Rd, San Juan Island, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8507
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,442 - ₹ 23,495
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our 17 cabins and three suites are spacious with beautiful interiors, expansive glass, vaulted ceilings, full kitchens, and uninterrupted, stunning views. Snug Harbor's incredible setting is unparalleled on San Juan Island. Arriving by boat is always an option, since we have our own private marina. We are perfectly located for adventures throughout the islands. Once you arrive and explore the resort, you will discover the unique features, comforts, and amenities provided to each of our guests. We strive to make each guest's visit amazing and memorable. We offer four paddle boards, two kayaks, canoes and bikes for the complimentary use by our guests. Our own Mitchell Bay Coffee is open daily offering an array of coffee beverages, local pastries, waffles, soups, and more. And if you are looking for somewhere to host an event, our new events room with seating for up to 50 is now available. When you come to Snug Harbor be ready to detach a little. This is an ideal place to unwind and relax (while we have free wi-fi throughout the property and great cell phone reception, there are no phones in the cabins). Allow the peace and serenity on Mitchell Bay overtake you. We believe our guests have said it best. One recent Trip Advisor review stated "This place is truly paradise" and our favorite Facebook post simply stated "The cabins are epic". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Snug Harbor Marina Hotel Friday Harbor
Snug Harbor Resort & Marina Friday Harbor, WA - San Juan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing