We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My partner and I have just returned home after a 3-night stay in this hotel. We were looking for a hotel we could walk to from the Victoria Clipper's dock. This one turned out to be perfect. You can see it clearly from the boat as you arrive. (Incidentally, you don't need a car to see the island. The town can be visited on foot from the hotel, and there is a very convenient bus service to the main attractions on the island.) We found Friday Harbor House to be friendly, ideally located, with surprisingly tasteful decor and comfortably sized rooms. We would recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RBrownOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (530)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 355 of 531 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

We stayed 9 nights in a room on the third floor overlooking the harbor. Floor to ceiling windows across the width of the room presented us with a stunning view of the harbor. Really, stunning. You can gaze out across the water toward the other San Juan Islands, watching the boats come and go. Sliding glass doors that let the wonderfully cool air into the room. Gas fireplace, TV, jacuzzi (with view of harbor). Fabulous room, loved everything about it.

The staff was exceptional. Check in was efficient, the room was ready and clean. The bar and restaurant staff is a lot of fun, made us feel right at home and offered us great guidance on where else to go including a great whale watching choice. Happy hour starts at 4:00 and not only do they mix an excellent drink, this is where you can enjoy happy hour specials and experience dinner. Eat here, it is all truly excellent. The food comes with a great view of the harbor and the opportunity to sit out on the back lawn and really soak in the view/atmosphere.

Kyle, the chef is also the innkeeper and excels in both pursuits while staying calm and taking the time to talk to guests.

The location can't be beat. It is 2 blocks away from everything (the marina, ferries, shops, bars, restaurants, island transportation, etc.) and an easy walk to the ferry. If you are pulling a suitcase, go up Spring Street one block and take a right on First Street to avoid the stairs. it is next door to the whale museum.

We really loved our stay and are trying to figure out when we can come back and bring more of our family to enjoy this with us!

Notes: There is a keurig coffee maker in the room with several k-cup options. Breakfast also comes with the stay, and is wonderful. Everything is freshly made and like everything else, is top-notch.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Great hotel on all counts - location, large rooms with creative food and wonderful accommodating staff. Water-facing rooms worth the extra cost - especially when you can soak in Jacuzzi bathtub while overlooking the harbor! Wish I could be a permanent resident!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

You can't go wrong with Friday Harbor House. Excellence all around! Our room had a spectular view of the harbor. The fireplace and the jacuzzi were exceptional accents. Food at The Bluff was exquisite. Needless to say, our stay was phenomenal! Walking distance to all the shops. My wife and I drove to Roche Harbor on the other side of the island. Stopped off at an oyster farm on Westcott Bay and bought 2 dozen smalls. Went back to Friday Harbor, bought a couple deli sanwiches, homemade soup, and drinks at the local market. Had lunch on a private park bench over looking the harbor while watching the ferries come and go. Oysters were plump and perfect! Next time, we're doing the island hopping dealio... Plan your next vacation to this place soon!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eric M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
friday1946, Manager at Friday Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hi Eric,
So glad you had an exceptional experience with us recently and were able to take advantage of our amenities including our pride and joy, the Bluff restaurant. Hope to have you again.

Kyle Nicholson
Chef/Inn Keeper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

If you are planning a trip to Friday Harbor this is the best place to stay on the island. Not the Bird Rock, not the Best Western Suites and certainly under no circumstances the Orca Inn. Ask for a third floor harbor view, the best room is 36 and write the check. It is worth the price and our room was very, very reasonable. My wife and I travel out of state at least four times a year and are always looking for great places to eat. Eating & drinking is the reason for travel however from late afternoon until morning we never left our room with the view. We spent $50 in two days next door at the grocery store purchasing beer, wine and deli food and had so much fun watching the seaplanes and ferrys make their landings. The weather was great, almost as great as Wendy Meyers and her husband. They are an asset to the hotel and made our vacation very special. It was nice to find Texas hospitality near Canada. The breakfast was also a very nice touch.

Ok, one more time, the thrid floor of this hotel is the only place to stay!!!!!

Room Tip: Third floor harbor view!! Ask for room 36!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nfljj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Friday Harbor
0 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 11 in Friday Harbor
362 reviews
0.3 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 11 in Friday Harbor
525 reviews
1.1 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 11 in Friday Harbor
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#10 of 11 in Friday Harbor
164 reviews
0.1 km away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#9 of 11 in Friday Harbor
365 reviews
7.8 km away
Edenwild Boutique Inn
Edenwild Boutique Inn
#1 of 2 in Lopez Island
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price Range: ₹ 16,197 - ₹ 22,496 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House WA - San Juan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing