We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay; Great Food at Friday Harbor House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Friday Harbor House
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay; Great Food at Friday Harbor House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Last weekend we stayed for the first time at Friday Harbor House, and it won't be the last. It was terrific. All the people are wonderful and were great at solving any momentary problems that cropped up. The room was large and comfortable, with great views. And, for us most importantly, the food was fantastic. We ate a meal at The Bluff on Friday and had happy our on Sunday. Each time we were blown away by how well the food was prepared. In addition, the wine list is pretty extensive. Thanks to Kyle and his wonderful staff. Great. Great. Great! Stay there.

Room Tip: We had a dog with us and Room 11 was terrific.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsbmpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    302
    117
    34
    22
    3
See reviews for
60
334
9
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anaheim, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our room, #32 was so charming and comfortable. It overlooked the harbor and had a small balcony. I would recommend the Epicurean package, which includes a 5-course dinner. The dinner was the highlight of our stay. The chef is amazing. We sat down and didn't have to read a menu. The lovely waitress asked what we like (said fish and veggies) and WaLa we thoroughly enjoyed everything that was brought to us. So fresh and the presentation is beautiful. The waitress described the preparation of each dish as she presented them. The warm spinach and brussel sprout salad with grilled pears, homemade ricotta and pancetta was so tasty. Halibut on a vegetable tartaine followed by sliced tender meat on white beans were both exceptional. The sauces and flavors were delish! We both agreed this was one of the most memorable meals ever. Even if you don't stay at Friday Harbor House, go eat at the Bluff Restaurant. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked our room, #32, harbor view, roomy interior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I can't say enough about the service. I called three times to ask questions about the Inn, and each time Wendy was more than helpful, going out of her way to answer questions and never once seemed irritated with me.
Upon arriving, Cindy greeted us, and through out the weekend went out of her way to make sure our stay was perfect. She even took our bagged popcorn to the kitchen to pop it for us.
She went over and beyond to make our stay perfect.
Because of the service, I would most definitely return.
The room was pleasant, and the bathtub wonderful. We really enjoyed the view from our room too!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a lovely surprise to find this delightful 35 room hotel where we felt indulged, yet very comfortable. To our delight we were upgraded due to the fact the room we were originally assigned had too many stairs (something that needs to be mentioned when booking). In our third floor room accessed by the only elevator we enjoyed the view of the pretty little harbor and watching the ferries come and go. There were many little touches that made our stay more pleasant. The hotel information book was clean, worded in a friendly, helpful manner and included many things about the area. The room was comfortable with nice lighting; two chairs; good closet space; gas fire place; coffeemaker and water bottles in the fridge. The bed was comfortable but felt smaller than our queen at home. The linens and pillows were nice. The bathroom was large with a super jacuzzi that had a curtain so one could enjoy the view while relaxing in the tub and a large shower with clean tiling. There were nice bath products and lots of towels although the towels could do with upgrading. In the hallway was a small seating area with a table and a nice basket arrangement of games; the local and Seattle Times papers and a delight vase of fresh flowers. The onsite parking was a plus as most street parking is only from 5pm to 8am. The continental breakfast was beautifully displayed on the restaurant bar which led to an intimate and comfortable restaurant. The choices were lovely from homemade porridge and all the condiments displayed in lovely white china; to a delicious frittatta under a hot light; bagels with smoked salmon and capers; house made granola, again with condiments; muffins, banana bread and juices - all so beautifully displayed. This is also the main restaurant for this hotel where the hotel owner doubles as the chef. The restaurant is highly recommended but as we were on a tight schedule we will look forward to dinning there next time we visit. We have stayed at 5 other places on the island in the past and this is our favorite by a mile.
Also worth noting is that this hotel is not far from the ferry and although up hill for three blocks is well worth the walk from the ferry,if you do not have a car. Having said that a car is a nice plus for seeing all the sites that San Juan Island has to offer. There are many historical sites and Roche Harbor is worth a visit on it's own and is 30 minutes away by car - a pleasant drive where once can stop at an Alpaca Farm and see the animals as well as the lovely shop on site. Before arriving at Roche Harbor you will also pass the sculpture park and a Winery where Mona the camel resides just across the street.
I highly recommend this hotel especially for couples.

Room Tip: The room on the third floor was really lovely. One wall was floor to ceiling sliding glass doors w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tessalyn_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Friday Harbor House in April of 2012. Would recommend it to anyone visiting San Juan Island. Stayed in room 36, could not have a more spectacular view of the harbor! The staff is very welcoming and very efficient, from the innkeeper right on down the line. The room is extremely comfortable and clean, with a nice fireplace.. a good place to relax.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scbeach57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
0.7 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.1 km away
Bird Rock Hotel
Bird Rock Hotel
#8 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.8 km away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friday Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friday Harbor House

Property: Friday Harbor House
Address: 130 West St, PO Box 1385, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-8335
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,235 - ₹ 27,241
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Friday Harbor House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friday Harbor House perfectly complements the charm and serenity of the San Juan Islands and delightful shops and restaurants of the town. Upon entering our lobby, a friendly smile greets you. Your room features a cozy and romantic, Zen-like atmosphere with a picture window, a fireplace and an oversized, jetted tub-for-two that is the perfect way to wind down at the end of your day. Enjoy locally-sourced cuisine inspired by the Islands at the Friday Harbor House restaurant, all while admiring panoramic views of the San Juan Channel, ferry landing and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Friday Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Friday Harbor House Hotel Friday Harbor
Friday Harbor Hotel
Friday Harbor House WA - San Juan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing