We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Friday Harbor House
Nearby Hotels
Discovery Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Earthbox Inn & Spa(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 224
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tucker House Inn(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Orca Inn(Friday Harbor)
US$ 77
US$ 75
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bird Rock Hotel(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 237
US$ 225
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Friday Harbor Suites(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 226
US$ 198
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lakedale Resort at Three Lakes(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 204
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Roche Harbor Resort(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Island Inn at 123 West(Friday Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$ 199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
351
126
36
24
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
126
36
24
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsharbor view roompartial viewgas fireplacecontinental breakfastjetted tubcorner roomfloor to ceiling windowsthird floorgranolawithin walking distancewhale museumwonderful hotelsmall balconywonderful roomflat screen tvrooms are largesan juan islands
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
369 - 374 of 540 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our room, #32 was so charming and comfortable. It overlooked the harbor and had a small balcony. I would recommend the Epicurean package, which includes a 5-course dinner. The dinner was the highlight of our stay. The chef is amazing. We sat down and didn't have to read a menu. The lovely waitress asked what we like (said fish and veggies) and WaLa we thoroughly enjoyed everything that was brought to us. So fresh and the presentation is beautiful. The waitress described the preparation of each dish as she presented them. The warm spinach and brussel sprout salad with grilled pears, homemade ricotta and pancetta was so tasty. Halibut on a vegetable tartaine followed by sliced tender meat on white beans were both exceptional. The sauces and flavors were delish! We both agreed this was one of the most memorable meals ever. Even if you don't stay at Friday Harbor House, go eat at the Bluff Restaurant. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We liked our room, #32, harbor view, roomy interior.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seton M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

I can't say enough about the service. I called three times to ask questions about the Inn, and each time Wendy was more than helpful, going out of her way to answer questions and never once seemed irritated with me.
Upon arriving, Cindy greeted us, and through out the weekend went out of her way to make sure our stay was perfect. She even took our bagged popcorn to the kitchen to pop it for us.
She went over and beyond to make our stay perfect.
Because of the service, I would most definitely return.
The room was pleasant, and the bathtub wonderful. We really enjoyed the view from our room too!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifer j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

What a lovely surprise to find this delightful 35 room hotel where we felt indulged, yet very comfortable. To our delight we were upgraded due to the fact the room we were originally assigned had too many stairs (something that needs to be mentioned when booking). In our third floor room accessed by the only elevator we enjoyed the view of the pretty little harbor and watching the ferries come and go. There were many little touches that made our stay more pleasant. The hotel information book was clean, worded in a friendly, helpful manner and included many things about the area. The room was comfortable with nice lighting; two chairs; good closet space; gas fire place; coffeemaker and water bottles in the fridge. The bed was comfortable but felt smaller than our queen at home. The linens and pillows were nice. The bathroom was large with a super jacuzzi that had a curtain so one could enjoy the view while relaxing in the tub and a large shower with clean tiling. There were nice bath products and lots of towels although the towels could do with upgrading. In the hallway was a small seating area with a table and a nice basket arrangement of games; the local and Seattle Times papers and a delight vase of fresh flowers. The onsite parking was a plus as most street parking is only from 5pm to 8am. The continental breakfast was beautifully displayed on the restaurant bar which led to an intimate and comfortable restaurant. The choices were lovely from homemade porridge and all the condiments displayed in lovely white china; to a delicious frittatta under a hot light; bagels with smoked salmon and capers; house made granola, again with condiments; muffins, banana bread and juices - all so beautifully displayed. This is also the main restaurant for this hotel where the hotel owner doubles as the chef. The restaurant is highly recommended but as we were on a tight schedule we will look forward to dinning there next time we visit. We have stayed at 5 other places on the island in the past and this is our favorite by a mile.
Also worth noting is that this hotel is not far from the ferry and although up hill for three blocks is well worth the walk from the ferry,if you do not have a car. Having said that a car is a nice plus for seeing all the sites that San Juan Island has to offer. There are many historical sites and Roche Harbor is worth a visit on it's own and is 30 minutes away by car - a pleasant drive where once can stop at an Alpaca Farm and see the animals as well as the lovely shop on site. Before arriving at Roche Harbor you will also pass the sculpture park and a Winery where Mona the camel resides just across the street.
I highly recommend this hotel especially for couples.

Room Tip: The room on the third floor was really lovely. One wall was floor to ceiling sliding glass doors with a beautiful view of the harbor. Our room did not have a balcony but one did not feel a need for this. Others have a small balcony but not as many windows. There was plenty of room for a roll-away to be put in the room for another person or child. The hotel and grounds are non-smoking which we enjoyed.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tessalyn_16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Friday Harbor House in April of 2012. Would recommend it to anyone visiting San Juan Island. Stayed in room 36, could not have a more spectacular view of the harbor! The staff is very welcoming and very efficient, from the innkeeper right on down the line. The room is extremely comfortable and clean, with a nice fireplace.. a good place to relax.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scbeach57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Friday Harbor House and Island Inn at 123 West - are both located next to eachother and right on the Harbor if coming by Kenmore Air or ferry. The location is central and has lovely views. The main issue with Friday Harbor House is that the rooms are dated, tired, and could do with a refurb.
There were all the promised features - the partial Harbor view from rm 29 was very good - but it also overlooked a large carpark, and the terrace (off the room) was damp and not cleaned. The outdoor chair had bird poop on it and the deck had no drainage so water pooled and turned green on it. Not sure how one uses this space without taking the grime in the room on the carpets. The fireplace created great warmth; the jacuzzi was a treat - though I typically will not use the jacuzzi in such places - after hiring bikes and riding some 30kms from Friday Harbor to Lime Kiln National Park and back, we both found ourselves enjoying the steamy jacuzzi before freshening up for dinner.

The ABSOLUTE HIGHLIGHT was indulging in the sublime meal at The Bluff restaurant - the main dining room at Friday Harbor House. We did the Epicurean Package (available til May 2012)- which included a 5 course meal selected by the chef. We are not much into surprises so wanted to know what this entailed before embarking on the degustation menu - but it was utterly superb from the point of view of serve sizes, presentation, care and detail in every dish and the fabulous falvours. We had an asparagus soup; followed by a lovely salad; beautiful crab cakes; sirloin steak - and the desserts were of our choosing. Every course was creative, tasty and beautifully presented.

For dessert, I chose the apple tart - with rosemary - and coffee icecream - I would travel the distance to savour this dessert again and again....it was absolutely superb - we both vote for this and recommend you try it. My husband chose the chocolate tart - it is the dessert the waitress recommended. This dessert is very, very rich dark chocolate and while it was enjoyable - I would recommend it for extreme lovers of chocolate only. They also had a spruce pine brulee - I suggest this would have made a better second choice- if anything like the unusual romesary infused tart - I suggest trying this - such creative flavour.

Dinner is something you should definitely indulge in here. The chef is extraordinarily good. He popped out for a brief chat at the end of the evening and we praised his skill. It is lovely to be able to let the chef know how wonderful the dining experience was. He brings extraordinary flair to what is a sleepy island otherwise....don't pass up The Bluff or you will regret it. I hazard a guess that this is the ultimate dining experience in town.

We chose a rather late dinner sitting at 8pm but we had impeccable service; we were not rushed, and we enjoyed the fading light over the harbor.

My alternative suggestion for accommodation is: located next door...
...it looks much more modern, if you like clean minimalist and want a good central location.

There is no real issue with the room at Friday Harbor - just dated. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom clean, towels clean but again were on the old side. They did have some nice toiletries - shampoo, conditioner and soaps.

The San Juan Islands offer a unique experience - the town has a number of great gift stores, art galleries, bookstores, diners, and much to see and do in terms of cycling, and nature. An enjoyable overnight experience made possible by the convenience of the seaplane connections.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moment-of-truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews