We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great boutique hotel in Friday Harbor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird Rock Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bird Rock Hotel
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Friday Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great boutique hotel in Friday Harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the Bird Rock for 3 nights at the end of April 2012. Although it is located in a historic building the rooms and furnishings are all modern and top notch. Each room is different and I liked that they had the floor plans on their website so you could book a particular room. We went on a Bloomspot coupon which was a fantastic deal. The staff is very friendly and happy to recommend restaurants and activities. Although we didn't use the bicycles that were available, many of the other guest did. We also enjoyed sitting out on the upper patio in the afternoon sun and relaxing. Great location only one block from Spring Street so you don't need your vehicle to explore town. We stayed in the Whidbey suite which was roomy with a separate sitting area. You can use the pool and hot tub at their sister hotel the Earth Box, but we did not so can't comment on that.

Room Tip: Make sure you look at their website to look at the floor plans of the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kisbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    98
    24
    16
    6
See reviews for
57
210
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wenatchee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012

We were so involved in our hectic life that we almost missed our 29th anniversary celebration. We started looking for a quick getaway that offered beauty, tranquility, romance, and adventure and found this Bird Rock Inn that offered it all. We were surprised beyond our expectations upon our arrival to this historical building with zen like interior that is so comforting and soothing to the soul when you enter to register that you forget about your hectic life as soon as you enter. There are no crowds or hectic check-ins. With only 15 rooms that continue to carry the zen theme with simplicity and calmness it welcomes you when you return from your adventures. The staff is always there for you and offer the ins and outs of the places on the island. There is plenty to see and do in this quaint ocean town. When you retire for the evening you will love the soft sheets and plush mattress...there is nothing hard about it. You leave this little inn with the feeling that you spent your time in a spa because of the clean, calm, soothing atmosphere and the friendly, professionalism, and tranquility of the staff.
JUST A FERRY RIDE AWAY TO A LITTLE PARADISE THAT RENEWS YOUR SOUL AND GIVES YOU QUIET TO REFLECT ON THE BEAUTY OF THIS WORLD. I will return often.

Room Tip: For romance, choose the fireplace room. For privacy and romance the garden basement with an outdoor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Madeleine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EarthboxLaura, Manager at Bird Rock Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2012
Dear Madelaine,
Thank you so much for your lovely review. Way to make our day and put big smiles on our faces.
We can't wait to have you come visit again.
Sincerely,
Steffi Wehner
Customer Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was our first time on the island and staying at the Bird Rock definitely made it a wonderful one. The place is literally right by the harbor so getting around was painless without a car. We walked or rode one of the hotel's complimentary bikes for the most part but there are also moped rentals around town as well. As far as the hotel itself, it felt like a beautifully restored historic harborside home. The staff went above and beyond to make our stay a pleasant one. Preparing fresh flowers in the room, booking reservations, outlining bike routes...they basically did all the things we hate to do when we go on trips. The Orcas room we stayed in was adorable. Where most B&B's love to ovedose on floral and grandma, this room was tastefully decorated and had everything we needed. It's definitely a place we look forward to going back to again and again. We would highly recommend it to anyone visiting the San Juan Islands who enjoy the comfort and simplicity of a historic B&B but with the convenience and professionalism of a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

The hotel is very well located, although a bit hard to find since the sign is small and light-coloured, and does not face the main street. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the continental breakfast is well above average. We stayed in the Marrowstone suite. The hot tub is nice (although bring a bathing suit, since people on the balcony above you can look in). I thought the furnishings and fixtures in the room were a bit worn given the premium price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmc1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I would give 4 starts if not for the price which i thought was a little high. The staff was very friendly and suggested routes we could explore and restaurants to try out. The room itself was clean, comfortable and well kept. We had a bathroom for ourself and that helped a lot i think as we didnt have share bathrooms. The breakfast was good, nothing fancy, your basic cereal toast eggs and scones, but can keep you going for the day. We also took the bicycles that were available for free. Again not the high end ones but the very basic. they were also decent enough. we did go for a 14 mile ride and the bikes did not giv up on us so that was great. We didnt bring a car to the island, hence this was the best spot for us as it was in the middle of town and had everything we needed close by.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Friday Harbor hotels
0.1 km away
The Island Inn at 123 West
The Island Inn at 123 West
#3 of 10 in Friday Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.1 km away
Friday Harbor House
Friday Harbor House
#5 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.0 km away
Discovery Inn
Discovery Inn
#2 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Tucker House Inn
Tucker House Inn
#4 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.6 km away
Friday Harbor Suites
Friday Harbor Suites
#9 of 10 in Friday Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.7 km away
The Orca Inn
The Orca Inn
#10 of 10 in Friday Harbor
3.5 of 5 bubbles 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird Rock Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird Rock Hotel

Property: Bird Rock Hotel
Address: 35 1st St, Friday Harbor, San Juan Island, WA 98250-7973
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Washington > San Juan Islands > San Juan Island > Friday Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Friday Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Friday Harbor
#4 Green Hotel in Friday Harbor
Price range (per night): ₹ 12,205 - ₹ 16,773
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird Rock Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bird Rock Hotel of Friday Harbor is a refreshing combination of an historic external structure and clean, modern interiors. Bird Rock Hotel’s authentic, original, old San Juan Island hotel exterior opens to an exquisitely crafted, eco-intelligent collection of stylishly modern interiors ranging from deluxe, harbor-view, king-jacuzzi suites to simple european-style sleeping rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Bird Rock Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Rock Hotel Friday Harbor, WA - San Juan Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing